We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel More

Save Saved
You added Hotel More to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel More
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, but room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Despite a poor start, we enjoyed our 12 day stay at the Hotel More. Unfortunately, our first night was not spent in the seaview room we had booked due to a double booking. I had been in touch with the hotel a few weeks before our arrival to book an airport transfer and mentioned we had a seaview room; strange they didn't mention the double-booking then. We had booked through a website and paid upfront, so for compensation we had a free panoramic tour and the offer of a couple of spa treatments. The rooms without a seaview do not have view of anything, so it's worth paying the extra. The hotel looks out across the Lapad beach bay, a beautiful view with a great sunset. Location is great, as you can walk to many restaurants in just a few minutes. Rooms are well appointed (all seem to have a whirlpool bath), but are not large. There's a good choice at breakfast (usual meats and cheeses, cooked items, cereals, fresh fruit etc) and the cave bar is well worth a visit. We reviewed the restaurant separately. Service at breakfast and in the bars could be better - a bit slow at times, which seems a common thing in Dubrovnik. We also found that sometimes the housekeeping in the room could have been better, if we went out a bit later than normal in the evening the turndown service became a delivery of the 2 chocolates - a 5 star hotel should do better (and we could have done with the slippers and robes changed). It does have a gym, but it's tiny with one treadmill, one cycle, and one cross-trainer and I'm not sure the small pool is worth the effort (although others clearly did). One real positive is that wifi access is free and incredibly simple with no need for login details – many hotels could learn from this! Staff are generally helpful, and the driver for the panoramic tour and airport transfers was excellent. Overall, this is a very good hotel and we'd certainly go back but only for a seaview room! Dubrovnik is lovely (especially the old town at night) and makes a great holiday, unless you want a beach.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    99
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
299
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spent a week in a deluxe suite. The standard rooms were all full when I booked but a deluxe suite was available so we decided to blow the budget and go for it. I am so glad we did, it was amazing there was so much space.It will be difficult to go back to a standard room in the future. We had a good sized bedroom with the most comfortable bed,we both slept so well.There was a large bathroom ensuite with a jacuzzi bath. There was then a large room which was split in two with sliding doors into a seating and dining room. There was also another shower room. Large sliding doors opened onto a large terrace which faced south with amazing views over the bay. This had two very comfortable sunloungers and two nice chairs and coffee tables. The special treat was your own private tub a real touch of decadence. This was a very private space to enjoy the sun which we loved.Another small balcony off the dining room faced west and was the perfect place to sit and watch the wonderful sunsets. The quality of all the fixtures and fittings were top class and well maintained.
The staff at the hotel were without exception friendly polite and efficient making for a very nice atmosphere. We arrived at reception at 11a.m on our first morning expecting to drop off our luggage and to go back later to check in but we were asked if we would like to wait on the balcony and have a drink while they prepared our room. It was ready in half an hour which was great service and greatly appreciated.
The whole hotel was absolutely spotless everything sparkled.
We only ate in the restaurant one evening and found the food to be good but it lacked alittle atmosphere as it was quite quiet. Breakfasts were good with a reasonable choice laid out in buffet style.
The cave bar was a real novelty and worth a trip to see. The architect has used real imagination and skill to produce an amazing space which really works.
The position of the hotel is ideal. A lovely 10 min walk along a well lit coastal path takes you to an area with plenty of restaurants bars and shops. From there you can also catch the no 6 bus into the beautiful old town of Dubrovonik. This is a very efficient service which cost about £1.50 and departs every 10 min.
We had an amazing holiday and I can definately recommend Hotel More.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and want something special a deluxe suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Whilst holidaying in Lapad, Dubrovnik we were lucky enough to come across Hotel More. Underneath the hotel there is a wonderful bar called "Cave bar More". We were informed that during the construction of hotel More a cave was found. With a lot of effort it has been transformed to create the Cave bar More, it is very special with its stalagmites and stalactites. This bar is most definitively worth a visit to see this stunning bar.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel More was our first place in Croatia and we could not have been happier. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, answering all of our questions. Views were great, easy promenade walk to #6 bus to old town, easy walk to pier for Elephite island day trips. Room was a little small but we barley spent any time in it anyways.

Room Tip: Lower room number is worse views. All seemed fine though, Soba' s appeared to be the highest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at hotel more. The cave bar below the hotel is a fantastic feature beautifully designed & a huge asset for the hotel. There is a great swimming area out the front of the cave bar. The scenery is stunning. The breakfast buffet was very good - fruits, eggs, bacon, cereals etc. the open air sauna is also worth a go. Very relaxing. The staff were friendly & helpful. My only disappointment was the room as I had booked a sea view room but did not get it. This could've been the fault of the agency so be careful when you book. The room was more four star than 5. I was not impressed looking out at a rock instead of the sea as hoped. However, that said, the room was clean & comfortable although a little small. Lapad is a nice area with good restaurants & about a 15 min bus journey to the old town. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a weeks holiday here in August. The hotel is small but has every facility you could wish for. Beautifully appointed in and out with an excellent restaurant. Staff were attentive and helpful at all times especially when returning my keys to me at the airport when I had left them in the room safe! Situated on the steep cliff side the views were spectacular and the local restaurants were accessible on foot too. All in all, a wonderful holiday. I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a delightful hotel in a great location with exceptional staff and service. We had room 402 ( balcony and sea view)which for a 5 star rated hotel was small as was the balcony. However the view was great and the room immaculately clean, The staff go out of their way to please,, advise and serve. Credit to their training and standards. The restaurant had a lovely terrace overlooking the sea and the service was impeccable, however the food was a little variable in standard. We ate in each of the 4 nights and the menu remained the same which was a pity unless like me you had fallen in love with the octopus salad! Breakfast was buffet style with hot and cold choices... not vast but covering most tastes. The cave bar is fascinating with adjoining sea level bathing area and the pool well maintained albeit small. I would return to this hotel for the location and the service alone and hope to do so in the near future as there is much to explore in Dubrovnik

Room Tip: book a room with balcony and sea view. levels 4 to 6 have small balconies but those below with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.