We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel More

Save Saved
You added Hotel More to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel More
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the suites for four nights and couldn't have asked for a better location. The service was superb, and the views from our terrace were wonderful. Travel to Old Town was simple. Hotel More is about a 15 minute bus ride from Old Town. There is a 12 minute walk to the bus stop, but walking the promenade on the Adriatic made it quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    82
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
244
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylsham,Norfolk,England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from staying a week at the More Hotel and can only repeat what the vast majority of fellow reviewers have already said.
The Hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly and enormously helpful. Any request is met with a willingness to help and always a smile.
Lots of options at Breakfast (including sparkling wine!).
Plenty of different areas to relax and enjoy the sun and a drink at any time.
It combines luxury whilst still providing a very personal level of service, something many high standard larger hotels fail to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Blimey where do I start with this review?

Well a year ago we decide to book this hotel but it was fully booked so we stayed instead at the Hotel Mediteran near Porec - see my existing review of this surprising and great hotel! Thus we booked 11 months in advance to stay this June (2013) at the Hotel More, and we read the reviews and so booked a superior room with sea view and balcony.

We booked through Completely Croatia and it has to be said that Alison and her team have been first class from start to finish - if we return again to Croatia we will certainly use them again.

Excited we arrived at the hotel on the 4th June:-

On arrival (we were early) we were told that we could check in at 2pm - fine this is normal and was what we expected. Just before we went off to have lunch I asked if the room we booked was the one we would be getting "um er we are trying to work something out" was the reply - alarm bells were ringing!

At 2:30pm on being led to our room we discovered we had a side room with almost no sea view, mainly just concrete and a huge exhaust vent from the kitchen. We went straight back to reception and after initially being told this was a "sea view" they said they would move us to the type of room we had booked and paid for in the next afternoon. Thus a day was spent living out of our suitcases - not a good start to our dream holiday. We contacted Completely Croatia with pictures and our room and pathetic view and they very superb in immediately contacting the hotel management and applying pressure to get us moved - with this I'm not sure we would have been moved at all! We did get a bottle of wine and free massages by way of an apology but the hotel manager basically did not want to speak with us about the incident.

Ah well, we decided it was a one off and put it down to bad luck- time to enjoy our holiday. However during the week we bumped into 5 other coupe who had all suffered the same fate that week - and these had been booked through 3 different agencies - those without the support of the agency were never moved. It seems like the hotel is a victim of its own success and are taking too many bookings - all for sea view! Otherwise there is a critical breakdown in communication going on between the hotel and the booking agents?

Food - the food is top quality and simply superb, we had some of the best meals ever at this hotel and the prices are around the same as the good restaurants in town which is very unusual at a hotel. The menu is varied and there is something for everyone, sea food, meat dishes etc. The puddings are slightly more restricted but the Flambe Pears are to die for! Breakfast is great with choices for most tastes and omelette's etc cooked to order.

We did have a problem booking a table for dinner, we booked at 9:00am at reception to be told we could have a sea view without any problems - when we tune up nearly 12 hours later no table with sea-view. Seems again there is a communication problem - this time between reception and the restaurant manager ( a very nice chap by the way).

Spa - the facilities are clean and nice and one can't complain here

Pool - small but makes for a refreshing dip - limited area around the pool for loungers etc but this is made clear on the web-site so you should know what to expect long before you arrive.

Rooms - see above but once in the correct room it was clean and modern with great facilities and a super bathroom, Double beds are generally two singles pushed together but with a double headboard so ok.

Staff - they are very helpful and friendly with a professional manner, they do at times seem to be left alone in the firing line by the management though when problems pop up.

Sea-front - no beach as expected so there is a concrete platform to sunbath and steps and a ladder into the sea. There is a roped off area to provide safe swimming away from jet-ski's etc. The sea is clean and not too cold :)

Cave Bar - see me separate review but it is superb and the hotels little gem! The place is amazing and staff just the best :)

Pick up and drop off - all went according to plan , the hotel car and driver were great :)

To sum up, a great hotel that could be perfect if they sort out the booking problems, well worth a visit, not many better in this area for sure.

Room Tip: You simply MUST book and ensure you get a proper Sea View room with balcony - it makes the whole hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the first time I have ever written a Trip Advisor review, but following our fantastic experience last week, felt I needed to write one. This is an excellent hotel and the staff went out of their way to make our one week holiday special. Our room was fantastic with lovely views of the sea. Breakfast was lovely with lots of fresh local produce and plenty of choice, and even free sparkling wine, which was a nice touch. We had dinner in the restaurant on 3 occasions and each time the food was fabulous and the service impeccable. It is worth booking in advance to try and get a table with sea views. We made use of the cave bar in the evenings to sit by the sea and sample the cocktails. All the staff were very friendly and helpful when we were trying to organise days out etc. We booked a car through the hotel for 3 days and so were able to get out and about and see the stunning surrounding scenery and visit some more out of the way places. The hotel is in a quiet area but with very easy access to Dubrovnik. We bought a Dubrovnik 1 day tourist card from the hotel reception which gave us free access into lots of museums etc in Dubrovnik (although best not to do this on a Monday, because we found some places weren't open!). All in all Hotel More is a truly wonderful hotel and we will definitely return as soon as we can !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent location near the beach areas, 10 minutes drive to the Old Town. Spacious rooms with modern designed furniture. Perfectly trained, friendly, and very helpful staff. Great restaurant with menu's changing daily, introducing best of Croatian cuisine. Champagne breakfasts on the terrace are very memorable. Awesome grotto bar overlooking Adriatic. The price is very reasonable for what you are getting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay (sort of) at the Hotel More in Lapud Bay and had to get this review uploaded before we forgot any of the details.

First of all I have to say that the 'standard' photo of this hotel just doesn't do it justice and in some peoples eyes may make it look like the many other 'concrete jungle' style hotels you may have stayed at. In fact you couldn't be more wrong. Unfortunately (details to follow) we were not able to get to take any better pictures, but I'm sure that this will be rectified on our return.
All I can say is that the Hotel, including the very unusual 'Cave Bar', are all kept in a superb clean condition, with helpful staff, quality food and to top it all it is located in a lovely part of Croatia.
The sea view rooms are definitely worth upgrading to. We were fortunate to have one with a sea view balcony and this gave a superb view out over the bay. Here at night you can just chill out with a decent glass of wine and watch the world pass you by ........ bliss.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the Hotel is only a 10 to 15 mins bus ride (Number 4 is the less busy route to use) from the Old Town and if you remember it is best to only go there after 4pm (the Cruise Liner excursions have mainly dissipated by this time) you can really appreciate the beauty of the Old Town itself.

If you don't eat in town or you don't fancy eating at the hotel each night, the hotel itself is only 10 minutes walk along a safe, pedestrian promenade to a variety of alternative eating/drinking establishments.

The food and service at the Hotel were very good, especially the staff.
As mentioned earlier, we were not able to take photographs of the Hotel due to the fact that on the 3rd day of our holiday I was taken into hospital for emergency surgery.
Here is where the staff review comes in as a separate note.

With my wife now left to defend for herself, ALL the hotel staff showed genuine concern and offered a huge amount of personnel assistance including daily ferrying (even when they weren't on duty) to and from the hospital etc.
So a huge personal thanks goes out to them all.

With our holiday curtailed for various reasons the answer to the question of whether or not we would return to the Hotel More, is a definate YES.

Room Tip: Go for sea view with balcony where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

As we planed our vacation on Croatia coast we looked at tripadvisor and saw hotel More with great recomendations. They were all true. On the perfect place, very quiet hotel best to injoy your vacation.
Wonderfull restorant with great terrace, and unique cave bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.