We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent base for exploring Dubrovnik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book your 2015 holiday!!
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excelent base for exploring Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked a four night stay at this hotel and were delighted with the facilities, the location and the friendliness of the staff.

We were collected from the airport in the hotel car (effortless transport and a special thanks to the driver for finding my wife's earring) and delivered smoothly to the hotel. Very simple check in and then up to our room - a spacious environment with great views over the Gruz harbour - we arrived late evening and the views across the water were lovely.

We spent the next three days exploring Dubrovnik and the Old City and found the hotel to be an ideal base. Easy access to bars & restaurants in the Gruz area and approx 2.5k from the actual walled city - slight warning, the walk to the Town is up a hill and down the other side, but the views beside the Adriatic are great.

There was a good breakfast each morning with plenty of cold and hot selection and we certainly experienced none of the issues mentioned in the more negative reviews elsewhere on this page.

All the staff were polite and helpful and really assisted in allowing us to get the most from our short holiday.

Overall, a terrific, family run hotel, just right for exploring this delightful part of the world!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    175
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
76
361
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice, family-run hotel near the main port. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the the breakfast good and the room big enough and very clean.
The only negative side is that the hotel is located is a bit far from the main attractions and the good restaurants (there is one very good one, Amfora, close-by). Fortunately the buses to the old town are frequent and the bus stops are close to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent a week here at the start of September. To begin, we both fell in love with Dubrovnik. I have recommended all my friends to visit this fabulous city, and also to stay at the Berkeley; it was equally as impressive.

The service was fantastic, you could tell it was family run just by their approach to dealing with us. We asked them for advice all the time about places to go, things to see and they always gave us great help. They were especially helpful with transport tips, including getting the best value on bus tickets.

The hotel itself was just lovely. Everything was modern and clean, a good elevator, great info leaflets. The pool was always very clean, fresh towels daily and there was a great honesty bar service if you wanted a cool drink in the hot sun by the pool. It was so close to the city centre too, a 5-10 minute bus ride or a half hour walk, and the buses went very regularly from a stop just 100 yards from the hotel. The breakfast was very tasty too, never left in the morning with an empty stomach!

I had no complaints either with our room. Always so clean, so many fresh towels and so spacious. Very modern, large double bed. Tea and coffee facilities, satellite TV and a fantastic information folder as well.

All in all, we loved our stay in Dubrovnik and at The Berkeley hotel, it is perfect for couples or even families. I can guarantee I will be back very soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is facing onto the road, it will give you a stunning view of the Gruz harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Close to the main bus station. We arrived late by bus from Split. Since it's only 5 to 10-min walk from the main bus station, we could rest earlier after a tiring bus journey (which was supposed to be 4.5 hrs but we ended up spending more than 6 hrs on the bus!!!!!). We were happy that we didn't have to find another local bus to go to the hotels.
Friendly staff. We stayed at the studio room which was very clean and comfortable with a small kitchen area. Meanwhile, we had only one complaint. The beds are too soft.
Anyway, if you are looking for a budget stay at Dubrovnik (relatively speaking), it's a good choice for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice modern hotel in a good location close to the main port and only a short bus ride or 30 minute walk into the old town.
The two receptionists were extremely friendly & helpful, made you feel at home and recommended some very good restaurants. Breakfast was extremely good too.
Good spacious clean & tidy rooms
Excellent value compared to prices of other Hotels we looked at before deciding to book here which was really due to the many good reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed.
If I was to have any criticism of this hotel, it would be that they need to keep on top of the maintenance, our room on entering smelt a little bit damp and there were signs of this on the walls by the doors to the balconys. It would be a shame if they let the hotel deteriorate any further as it is a very good hotel, in a beautiful Country and i wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny cleethorpes
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If your looking for a hotel in the port area of Dubrovnik then look no further.
Nice big clean rooms with large double bed, great breakfast cooked to order,and very friendly staff.
There is a nice small pool on the side terrace.
It's about a 25min walk to the old town, but the bus station is quite near and buses are very frequent
We stayed here the night before we caught the ferry to Lopud, so it was very handy for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked the Berkeley based on the great reviews from Tripadvisor and were very glad we did, location is superb, near enough to catch a bus to the Old Town, yet at the same time you could escape the hustle and bustle for a more relaxed experience. The welcome we received at the Berkeley was warm and this warmth and friendliness was a constant for our entire stay. The rooms were well equipped, comfortable and spotless and the view from our balcony (room 42) was amazing giving us a great view of the harbour and the daily cruise ships. The breakfast was tasty and filling and set us up for long days of sight seeing. Visit Dubrovnik and the Berkeley you wont be disappointed on either count!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something different in Dubrovnik? The family owned and operated Berkeley Hotel offers a combination of 24 rooms and apartments suitable for travellers on short visits to Dubrovnik or those spending extra time exploring the area. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. All of our staff do their best to make you feel at home and look forward to providing you with friendly advice and information to make your visit to Dubrovnik enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.