We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New SPA at the Berkeley!
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Kirkbride, Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy days!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just spent four very happy days at the Hotel. The apartment was first class, had a sea view and was ideally situated for our purposes, being near the Port. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The staff on Reception, namely Iva, Maria, and Kristina along with Mariyena in the breakfast room, could not have been more helpful. Thank you ladies for making our stay even better!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 22, which is a one bedroomed apartment with a put-u-up bed in the lounge. Very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    177
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
367
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at the Berkeley Hotel was great. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was very good and the hotel was close to a market and the bus stop. Our adapter broke and the staff was kind enough to lend us one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location close to bus stops and away from melling crowds of tourists. Enjoyable walk into old town 30 mins. Staff very friendly and helpful---special mention to Maria, Eva and front of house lady in breaklfast room. breakfast very good, good choice and cooked to order. Rooms with good space and bathrooms very well equiped Would definitely return

Room Tip: WE were on first floor with outside terrace---no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked the hotel primarily for its location, price, and its parking. It was close enough to walk to the old town part of Dubrovnik, though we took a bus there (reception sells tickets, and the bus lines are on the waterfront street just a short walk away). We walked back that evening, though the sidewalks were not continuous for the entire journey. It was much more convenient than being out on the Lapad Peninsula. There are some restaurants by the waterfront as well (we ate at one the second night after returning from Montenegro).

Very nice room. Ours faced the street, which meant our balcony had a view of the water and sunsets (even from just the second floor). With the doors and shutters closed, it was not noisy, even with scooters buzzing up and down the street. We walked to the nearby Konzum supermarket for some groceries, which we stored in the room's reasonably-sized refrigerator.

Breakfast (included with our room) was more than we expected. While they had the usual continental breakfast buffet, they also made eggs to order (fried, scrambled or omelets) at no extra charge.

We never attempted to use the hotel's pool. I did not realize parking was paid, but it was not expensive, and we were in a city, after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Berkeley is located well away from the old city, around a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute ride away, which suited us fine and we enjoyed our two night stay here.

We had a Studio Room which was huge and the room had a very modern feel to it, the view of the sea was a bonus. The hotel has a nice pool, although the water was pretty cold and it doesn't open until 10am!
Breakfast was very good, with a cooked option available.

The staff are friendly and were helpful when we needed taxis, directions etc.

The hotel has free wifi but they issue you a username and password, and you have to enter these every few minutes as the connection keeps dropping (it was the same on all 3 devices) which got pretty annoying after a while.

Overall we had a nice stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent a wonderful week at this hotel as a base for exploring Dubrovnik and surrounding area. The staff were excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our second-floor room was spacious and clean, with large balcony and great view over the harbour. Good breakfast - choice of continental or cooked to order (nicely cooked eggs and omelettes).
Good location convenient for buses (choice of services into town either to Pile gate or Ploce gate/cable car station). Also handy for Gruz ferry port and bus station for visiting islands and other areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in mid September. The staff were excellent; most helpful and informative. Breakfast was also excellent, not the normal 'continental' variety, but cooked on demand.
The medium sized pool was very welcome after a day spent in the Old City

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.