We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at the Berkeley Hotel was great. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was very good and the hotel was close to a market and the bus stop. Our adapter broke and the staff was kind enough to lend us one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    153
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
317
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location close to bus stops and away from melling crowds of tourists. Enjoyable walk into old town 30 mins. Staff very friendly and helpful---special mention to Maria, Eva and front of house lady in breaklfast room. breakfast very good, good choice and cooked to order. Rooms with good space and bathrooms very well equiped Would definitely return

Room Tip: WE were on first floor with outside terrace---no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked the hotel primarily for its location, price, and its parking. It was close enough to walk to the old town part of Dubrovnik, though we took a bus there (reception sells tickets, and the bus lines are on the waterfront street just a short walk away). We walked back that evening, though the sidewalks were not continuous for the entire journey. It was much more convenient than being out on the Lapad Peninsula. There are some restaurants by the waterfront as well (we ate at one the second night after returning from Montenegro).

Very nice room. Ours faced the street, which meant our balcony had a view of the water and sunsets (even from just the second floor). With the doors and shutters closed, it was not noisy, even with scooters buzzing up and down the street. We walked to the nearby Konzum supermarket for some groceries, which we stored in the room's reasonably-sized refrigerator.

Breakfast (included with our room) was more than we expected. While they had the usual continental breakfast buffet, they also made eggs to order (fried, scrambled or omelets) at no extra charge.

We never attempted to use the hotel's pool. I did not realize parking was paid, but it was not expensive, and we were in a city, after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Berkeley is located well away from the old city, around a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute ride away, which suited us fine and we enjoyed our two night stay here.

We had a Studio Room which was huge and the room had a very modern feel to it, the view of the sea was a bonus. The hotel has a nice pool, although the water was pretty cold and it doesn't open until 10am!
Breakfast was very good, with a cooked option available.

The staff are friendly and were helpful when we needed taxis, directions etc.

The hotel has free wifi but they issue you a username and password, and you have to enter these every few minutes as the connection keeps dropping (it was the same on all 3 devices) which got pretty annoying after a while.

Overall we had a nice stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent a wonderful week at this hotel as a base for exploring Dubrovnik and surrounding area. The staff were excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our second-floor room was spacious and clean, with large balcony and great view over the harbour. Good breakfast - choice of continental or cooked to order (nicely cooked eggs and omelettes).
Good location convenient for buses (choice of services into town either to Pile gate or Ploce gate/cable car station). Also handy for Gruz ferry port and bus station for visiting islands and other areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in mid September. The staff were excellent; most helpful and informative. Breakfast was also excellent, not the normal 'continental' variety, but cooked on demand.
The medium sized pool was very welcome after a day spent in the Old City

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent 4 nights here. Good location near the harbour but quiet. Room clean, spacey bathroom. Friendly welcoming staff. We were mainly greeted by Kristina who was funny and helpful.

30 mins walk to the Old City otherwise good bus service. If you choose to walk, avoid the main road which the buses take as this is quite steep. The one through the neighbourhood is much easier as it is flatter and quieter. Near restaurants including Amforo and Ottos - both delicious.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something different in Dubrovnik? The family owned and operated Berkeley Hotel offers a combination of 24 rooms and apartments suitable for travellers on short visits to Dubrovnik or those spending extra time exploring the area. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. All of our staff do their best to make you feel at home and look forward to providing you with friendly advice and information to make your visit to Dubrovnik enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.