We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New SPA at the Berkeley!
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Newcaslte Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After reading numerous good reviews on Tripadvisor I booked a 4 night stay here for my wedding anniversary. We were greeted by receptionist Maria who we had most of our dealings with and truly is an asset to this hotel - very polite, excellent English and a lovely smile. Our room was clean, the bed is extremely comfortable and there is a good shower. As others have stated the breakfast is cooked to order, a good start to the day. Location is excellent, 2 minute walk to the beautiful harbour which is lovely to walk beside on an evening. The bus stop to the old town is also here (10 min bus journey). Also there are some fantastic nearby Meditteranean restaurants only a few minutes walk away. Overall we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    177
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
366
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Berkeley Hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the 'old town' which is perhaps a little too far when the weather is baking hot. However, there is a frequent bus service from almost outside the hotel. We chose to take the car but, whilst convenient, it proved to be an expensive option as even though we arrived at 9am there was nowhere to park in the public car parks and the only option was a private car park which cost 35 kuna per hour. Whilst some distance from the old town the hotel is situated near the cruise ship port and there is a very pleasant walk alongside the harbour just a minute or so from the hotel where it was most pleasant to wander during the cooler evening.

The hotel is pleasant enough and a good choice for a stay in Dubrovnik. Our room was very spacious and clean with a comfy bed and excellent shower. We had a balcony with a sea view although the view is somewhat blocked by another hotel directly in front of the Berkeley and the balcony is surrounded by a wall rather than glass so from a sitting position you could see precisely nothing at all which was a shame and rather negated the pleasure of sitting out there.

We found the staff to be helpful and accommodating and the pool, whilst not massive, was large enough to enjoy, with pressured water at one end to give a 'hot-tub' experience. Car parking is in an underground car park adjacent to the hotel but there is a 35 kuna per day charge.

Breakfast was excellent and the best we experienced whilst touring Croatia. As well as the usual buffet selection, the difference with this hotel is that the staff ask you what hot food you want and then cook it to order so you finish up with hot, fresh food rather than an egg that's been sitting on a hot plate for two hours !

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Berkeley and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week in may. It is a family run hotel and you can tell, as they do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are spacious and clean and I had a view overlooking the pool and gruz harbour where the cruise ships arrive. The breakfast is good with food freshly cooked to your order. The staff were friendly and helpful and could not have done more. There is a small bar in the hotel but you would be sitting in the dining room to utilise it, so never actually saw anyone use it. This was the only negative I found about our time there.

Room Tip: I booked a junior suite which was the same cost as a double room but had more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When my partner asked if I wanted to come here for a friend's wedding I was very dubious when I heard Croatia. What can I say though, this was an unbelievable place with great views everywhere you look.

The old town is half an hour walk away or 5 mins in a taxi which is a must see day and night. Lapad again is not far away (25mins) walk which has great bar's and places to eat.

The port of Dubrovnik is a beautiful place and would recommend this hotel and city to everyone. Staff were pleasant and helpful an it was clean. This place is a hidden gem. I'm 32 and still like a lively place but this ticked all boxes. Would love to come again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A well placed hotel with easy bus route into the Old City. Clean and comfortable rooms, good breakfast and very helpful staff. The swimming pool, although small, was never crowded and was a great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. This was a quiet and well run hotel - good value for a 3* hotel.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room with a view of the port.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Such friendly and helpful staff. We also had our room upgraded which was nice. Good service with an ok breakfast. The hotel is out of town but only a 7 minute bus ride and buses come every ten minute until 2am so this was not an issue. The pool is very small so don't go there if the pool is a big thing for you. A good basic sweet hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is not bad... rooms are not wonderful but very clean and comfortable. We didn't see the ones with sea view (maybe are better). The reception was extremely nice, polite and welcoming... Breakfast is good. Location is not very close to city center but there are always bus going to the center and coming back also during the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.