We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just got back from our visit to Croatia this hotel is outstanding the staff were very helpfull the rooms were very clean and we had a room on the 3rd floor with a fantastic view of the sea and all the Cruise Ships coming in the breakfast was great I can't praise this hotel would recommend it
It was a 2km walk into the Old Town but you could catch the bus which runs all the time and not very expensive the old town is great with an array of restaurants and the scenery is breathtaking

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd Floor which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    160
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
70
329
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived late but thankfully found the reviews of the hotel before arriving and were so grateful to find rooms. We stayed in rooms 111 and 115. Both rooms have immediate access to the lovely pool that our son enjoyed immensely. Special mention to Marija at the front desk with the beautiful eyes who went out of her way to assist us with any information and any need we may have had. We stayed 2 nights but could easily have stayed longer if we only had more time. Parking underground is free with even a place to wash your car for a small fee. The owners have really thought of all your needs when making use of every inch of space here. Rooms include a coffeemaker, hairdryer, fridge. The bathrooms were spacious and the room so very clean. Breakfast delicious..as we are not fans of seafood for breakfast we really enjoyed the scrambled eggs, ham, bacon, and the variety of cheeses and small rolls were delicious. We were spoiled just like little kids staying at grandma's place. Unlike some hotels on the main strip with lots of traffic this place sits one street over and is is quite peaceful. Guests are friendlier here than at most other places and I would venture that the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff have a great deal to do with this.This may only be a 3 star hotel, but we would rate it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Room 115 has no views to speak of but privacy with a very large balcony. Room 111 has a street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed in the apartment habour view room.
The rooms are modern are large, was nice to have a large balcony and lounge room.
Kitchen has a kettle, fridge and stove top. Although the kitten is lacking a few utensils to actually use the kitchen to cook meals. They are not available on request.
Though not a huge problem because all the restaurants we ate at were good and cheap.
Few things in need of repair but only very minor things.

Hotel is near the main bus stops that all go to old town.

Breakfast are good with a nice offering of hot and cold breakfast items, so cooked to order.
I enjoyed my stay and recommend this hotel if it suits your needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a week staying at this family owned Boutique Hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful (particularly in providing information about places to see), the breakfasts were first class and the swimming pool area, although small, provided a great place to relax and enjoy the spectacular views overlooking Gruz Harbour. Overall, it was a great place to start any exploration of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This has got to be one of the best 3 star hotels in Europe. It runs like clockwork and every aspect is efficient and organised. I would recommend the taxi transfer that the hotel can arrange for you which cost 55 Euros return and eliminates any hassle. The breakfast is cooked to order and had a variety of hot and cold options. Hot drinks included English breakfast tea and a first class Capachino. Free wifi so pack your IPad and pack swimwear as they have a nice but compact pool. Good walking shoes are advised as Dubrovnik and the Gruz area have their fair share of steps. I cannot praise the staff enough from the front desk to the dining room to the cleaners. They are all brilliant. Book and go but book early to ensure your reservation and first class stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bray
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Hotel near the port of Gruz in Dubrovnik is the perfect place to rest while taking in the sites of the historical town of Dubrovnik. Great modern small hotel run by a very nice family and staff and is excellent value for money. All recommendations from the staff were spot on and the reception has all the bus ticket and visitor passes you will need for your excursions etc. Breakfast is simple but very adequate. We were in room 25 and the sleep quality was superb. All the rooms have a balcony/patio which is a nice added feature. And what a wonderful bonus of the swimming pool on the 1st floor looking out over the Port from the hotels elevated site. You only need to walk 200 metres to the ferry terminal or the bus stop to take you into the old town. We stayed 3 nights and will be recommending to all our friends and colleagues who may be planning a visit to the Dalmation coast. P.S. do take up the offer of pick-up from the Airport for about €35, well worth it. Thank you Berkeley for getting our holiday off to a great start. Mark & Tracy.

Room Tip: Sea view is available but not essential for a great stay. The studios and larger rooms appear to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading the many positive reviews on the Berkeley,we weren't disappointed. Our check in late in the evening was smooth and we had pizzas ordered locally which were delivered within 30 minutes,a welcome after our journey over.
While we were there,all the Freeview-type boxes were upgraded,giving more channels for those that wanted to watch tv (we didn't use ours hardly)so I guess people will have better viewing experiences from now on.
Anything we asked about or requested was dealt with in the same friendly and polite manner,whoever we spoke to. The lovely Vicelic family are a credit to themselves,and certainly their welcoming service makes the hotel stay so relaxing.
Miryana and Marija are sisters who take care of the restaurant and kitchen responsibilities while Marija' s daughters Iva and Kate run the 'front' of the hotel impeccably,with the help of the lovely Christina and Marija( another girl of same name!)
Any travel advice or bus/excursion/taxi booking can be sorted out at the hotel,and bus tickets can be bought here as well.
We found the breakfasts to be more than enough: fresh,hot cooked breakfast,( 3 options; omelette,scrambled eggs or English)cereals/muesli and yoghurt/fruits plus toast,cheese,ham and as many hot drinks as you wanted,to start your day.
There are towels at your disposal for using round the pool,or you can pay a fee to take them to the beach as well. The pool is so lovely,a Jacuzzi seated area at one end,and a small eating area next to an honesty fridge with drinks at the other end,and plenty of sun loungers for everybody to use; perfect to cool off after a days sightseeing or just to laze around all day.
Our Sea view apartment with kitchenette,fridge and balcony was spotless and just what we needed to relax on the balcony in the evenings with a cold drink or a bite to eat. Only thing I would add is,bring a sharp knife if you want to do a couple of meals yourself,and be aware that the two pans supplied are too big to put onto the dual hob together at one time.. The towels are changed regularly and the sheets once a week,although ours were done twice, I think.
The bathrooms have a wall mounted hair dryer,shave point,powerful shower,and plenty of plug sockets around the room for other gadgets you need. Air con on warm nights was a godsend too.
The one thing we wanted to make sure of was the wi fi access ( sad I know, but very useful in this day and age) and this worked perfectly all week, you just needed to re log in if you were inactive for a few minutes but reception will supply you with your unique password/login upon arrival.
All in all,a great place to base yourselves at and you are guaranteed service with a smile!

Room Tip: Room 33/34 have great harbour views from the balcony-I guess 43/44 would be the same..?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something different in Dubrovnik? The family owned and operated Berkeley Hotel offers a combination of 24 rooms and apartments suitable for travellers on short visits to Dubrovnik or those spending extra time exploring the area. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. All of our staff do their best to make you feel at home and look forward to providing you with friendly advice and information to make your visit to Dubrovnik enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.