We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New SPA at the Berkeley!
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a week staying at this family owned Boutique Hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful (particularly in providing information about places to see), the breakfasts were first class and the swimming pool area, although small, provided a great place to relax and enjoy the spectacular views overlooking Gruz Harbour. Overall, it was a great place to start any exploration of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    177
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
366
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This has got to be one of the best 3 star hotels in Europe. It runs like clockwork and every aspect is efficient and organised. I would recommend the taxi transfer that the hotel can arrange for you which cost 55 Euros return and eliminates any hassle. The breakfast is cooked to order and had a variety of hot and cold options. Hot drinks included English breakfast tea and a first class Capachino. Free wifi so pack your IPad and pack swimwear as they have a nice but compact pool. Good walking shoes are advised as Dubrovnik and the Gruz area have their fair share of steps. I cannot praise the staff enough from the front desk to the dining room to the cleaners. They are all brilliant. Book and go but book early to ensure your reservation and first class stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bray
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This Hotel near the port of Gruz in Dubrovnik is the perfect place to rest while taking in the sites of the historical town of Dubrovnik. Great modern small hotel run by a very nice family and staff and is excellent value for money. All recommendations from the staff were spot on and the reception has all the bus ticket and visitor passes you will need for your excursions etc. Breakfast is simple but very adequate. We were in room 25 and the sleep quality was superb. All the rooms have a balcony/patio which is a nice added feature. And what a wonderful bonus of the swimming pool on the 1st floor looking out over the Port from the hotels elevated site. You only need to walk 200 metres to the ferry terminal or the bus stop to take you into the old town. We stayed 3 nights and will be recommending to all our friends and colleagues who may be planning a visit to the Dalmation coast. P.S. do take up the offer of pick-up from the Airport for about €35, well worth it. Thank you Berkeley for getting our holiday off to a great start. Mark & Tracy.

Room Tip: Sea view is available but not essential for a great stay. The studios and larger rooms appear to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading the many positive reviews on the Berkeley,we weren't disappointed. Our check in late in the evening was smooth and we had pizzas ordered locally which were delivered within 30 minutes,a welcome after our journey over.
While we were there,all the Freeview-type boxes were upgraded,giving more channels for those that wanted to watch tv (we didn't use ours hardly)so I guess people will have better viewing experiences from now on.
Anything we asked about or requested was dealt with in the same friendly and polite manner,whoever we spoke to. The lovely Vicelic family are a credit to themselves,and certainly their welcoming service makes the hotel stay so relaxing.
Miryana and Marija are sisters who take care of the restaurant and kitchen responsibilities while Marija' s daughters Iva and Kate run the 'front' of the hotel impeccably,with the help of the lovely Christina and Marija( another girl of same name!)
Any travel advice or bus/excursion/taxi booking can be sorted out at the hotel,and bus tickets can be bought here as well.
We found the breakfasts to be more than enough: fresh,hot cooked breakfast,( 3 options; omelette,scrambled eggs or English)cereals/muesli and yoghurt/fruits plus toast,cheese,ham and as many hot drinks as you wanted,to start your day.
There are towels at your disposal for using round the pool,or you can pay a fee to take them to the beach as well. The pool is so lovely,a Jacuzzi seated area at one end,and a small eating area next to an honesty fridge with drinks at the other end,and plenty of sun loungers for everybody to use; perfect to cool off after a days sightseeing or just to laze around all day.
Our Sea view apartment with kitchenette,fridge and balcony was spotless and just what we needed to relax on the balcony in the evenings with a cold drink or a bite to eat. Only thing I would add is,bring a sharp knife if you want to do a couple of meals yourself,and be aware that the two pans supplied are too big to put onto the dual hob together at one time.. The towels are changed regularly and the sheets once a week,although ours were done twice, I think.
The bathrooms have a wall mounted hair dryer,shave point,powerful shower,and plenty of plug sockets around the room for other gadgets you need. Air con on warm nights was a godsend too.
The one thing we wanted to make sure of was the wi fi access ( sad I know, but very useful in this day and age) and this worked perfectly all week, you just needed to re log in if you were inactive for a few minutes but reception will supply you with your unique password/login upon arrival.
All in all,a great place to base yourselves at and you are guaranteed service with a smile!

Room Tip: Room 33/34 have great harbour views from the balcony-I guess 43/44 would be the same..?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It truly is an excellent family run hotel with a very friendly service. Special mention must go to Christina! Very cheerful person and happy to answer any questions we had. While the location of the hotel is slightly out of the way, it is accessible to the Old Town by the bus stop nearby, the No8 bus or from the harbour, a few mins walk away. Breakfast was fine, the usual fare. Dining room is a bit gloomy and as it overlooks a busy road, the curtains were closed.
Thanks for a great relaxing week and having a pool was an added bonus!

Room Tip: Rooms on third and fourth floor are best for harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Can't fault this hotel. Great location and very attentive and helpful front of house service - answered all our questions and gave great recommendations for travel into the old town and restaurants. Our apartment on the third floor was enormous and very well-equipped, with a super power shower and excellent wi-fi connection. Breakfast was ok and adequate to fill up on for the day. Definitely worth staying here and excellent value compared to the old town accommodation options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As always, we chose this hotel on the basis of consistently good TA reviews. It is always a delight to confirm other people's impressions and to make solid recommendations. This is a great hotel. There is no need to repeat all the info that can be found in other reviews, we are just happy to confirm their opinions.
We were a group of 7 staying for a week which gave us ample opportunity to winess the friendly and very helpful attitude of ALL the staff. This really is the strength of this hotel. Unfortunately, it was necessary to make a visit to the local hospital and the advice and practical help we were given at a difficult time was excellent.
Why only 4 stars? the location is a little strange without being a great problem. The hotel is the only one on a fairly busy road amid housing. It is only a few minutes walk down to Gruz harbour where there are regular buses to the Old town. It didn't bother us but some people might be looking for a grand entrance opening on to the promenade--not so!
The number 8 bus does stop outside the hotel and goes directly to the cable car station (which is a must-do) and then goes on to stop at the city walls but there is a walk down a lot of steps from this stop.
Even in May the town was busy with tourists ,and cruise ship groups in particular, so leave visiting til late afternoon when you can stroll down the lovely streets and alleys looking for some of the many good restaurants. We were impressed with the quality of the food and yet again the service and friendliness of staff was top class. The restaurant at the top of the cable car wasn't fantastic but the views were so maybe just a drink there then back into town to eat.
From the harbour road you can stroll round the headland into the Lapad area( or take a bus!) which is well worth it. Great views and very peaceful. There are some street repairs going on but you can get round. The Copacabana beach (PEBBLY) area was a welcome stopping point for refreshments and a paddle.
We very much enjoyed our first visit to Dubrovnlik and would recommend the usual touristy things you can find on the TA forum.
The Berkeley is a great base to stay to do all these things --do ask the staff for help and advice as they really enjoy offering it. Maybe not a 5 star hotel but definitely 5 star service so a big thank you to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise in the rooms at the front but they are the ones with harbour views so take your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.