We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service, decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book your 2015 holiday!!
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice service, decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is exactly what one would expect from a 3 star hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the location is decent. I actually enjoyed the walk to/ from the Old Town as the weather was good. Where the hotel excels in is service. I thought the staff was very helpful and hardworking. While I thought it was a bit more expensive than I would have liked to pay, given that Dubrovnik is so popular it was decent value. Overall comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    175
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
76
361
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

All hotels should look at these reviews and realise what people want . The berkeley have.from arrival we were welcomed with open arms,how lovely!
The rooms are immaculate and modern,we stayed in sea view room with beautiful views of the harbour.breakfast,included in our stay,ticked all the right boxes.anyone looking to stay in dubrovnik must consider this gem.thankyou to all the staff and trip advisor!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staff - very friendly, helpful, nothing too much trouble, Marianne looked after us well at breakfast!
Hotel and room - very clean, modern and super comfy! It had everything we needed. Swimming pool was great after a hot day in city.
Sea view - fantastic - well worth paying extra for the sunrises and sunsets :-)
Recommend Amfora restaurant nearby - superb food and wonderful staff.
Dubrovnik - amazing.

We shall return!

Deb and Rob, Suffolk

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_Du, Manager at Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Deb and Rob

Thank you for your awesome review. We are all happy to hear you enjoyed all aspect of your stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kindest regards
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Berkeley Hotel for a week in September. We were delighted with it. It is a lovely small and very friendly hotel. All the staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We paid extra to have a room with a sea view and it is really worth it as there is always something to watch from the balcony as it is on the harbour. The cruise ships are amazing to watch especially when they are all lit up at night! Our room was lovely and roomy and the bed was very comfortable. A great addition to the room was the fridge and the kettle. It meant we could make tea and coffee whenever we wanted with real milk. Great for keeping the beer lovely and chilled too. One thing that really struck us was that the room and bathroom were spotless when we arrived and were kept that way by the cleaning staff every day. We had clean towels everyday and clean sheets every other day. The breakfast was great because they cook it for you to order - none of this tepid stuff that has been sitting under a light for ages. The lady who serves breakfast was always keen to hear where you had been and great for giving tips of where to go. She is quite rightly very proud of her country. The pool is small but because it is such a small hotel we had it to ourselves every time we used it. Someone in another review said it was cold but if I got in it can't be that cold! Actually it is lovely after a hot trip to come back and chill out. Talking about chill - the air conditioning was great. One tip I would give though is that if you have thick hair bring your own hair dryer. The one in the bathroom is fine but not very powerful. For good meals at a very good price that is very nearby we would recommend Porat. Come out of the hotel, cross the road, turn left and about 10 yards along there is a stairway. Take the stairs right down to the bottom and you come out right beside Porat. We ate there about 3 times on days where we had a full day out and wanted somewhere close by. There is a great supermarket near the hotel as well. Come out of the hotel and turn right. Follow the road all the way down to the roundabout at the bottom and you will see the supermarket on your right. Behind the supermarket is the local bus garage. We got a bus (number 10) from there to Cavtat - a lovely little harbour town that is well worth a visit. You can take boat trips there but the bus is much cheaper and we had already taken 2 boat trips so this made a change. Getting into Dubrovnik is so easy from The Berkeley. There is a bus that stops outside (number 8) but that doesn't run too often and takes you to the other end of the city (handy for the cable car though). A better bet is to go down to the harbour and you have a choice of quite a few buses. I would highly recommend this hotel and Dubrovnik and Croatia is beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here at the end of our Croacian holiday and found it very comfortable,and clean, the staff all speak very good english and are very helpful,the swimming pool was a godsend after a hot day traipsing around the beautiful walled city of Dubrovnik which was an easy bus trip from the hotel,good restaurants nearby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_Du, Manager at Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Helen

Thank you for your review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed staying at the Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik and took advantage of our location which makes it easy to/from Old Town as well as having some great restaurants in Gruz harbour.

Hope to see you again!

Kindest regards
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my boyfriend just returned for a 7 day stay at the Berkeley, and we had an amazing stay, couldn’t fault it really!
The hotel itself was clean, modern and very friendly. We booked a sea view room, and it was worth the extra money, it was lovely being able to watch the boats come in and out and the cruise ships docking everyday. Our room had a small kitchenette which came in handy if you wanted to have drinks or snacks, and also was equipped with a small hob and kettle if you where cooking for yourself, however with such amazing food on offer you would be mad to do so! The bathroom was large and modern and we were left with clean towels everyday, along with fresh sheets, a made bed and a tidy round. The hotel also had a lovely little pool area which was great for cooling of after a hot day of exploring the old town however only my boyfriend was brave enough to brave the chilly water! i stuck to dripping my town in from the side! The pool even had its own little jacuzzi area which was a fab addition!
Breakfast was basic but nice, but if like me your not fond of eggs you where left with a limited choice, however the selection of cereals, fruit and cold meats etc was enough to keep us going till the afternoon, and the lady that served breakfast was lovely, nothing was too much trouble and she always had little hints and tips on the best place to go in and around Dubrovnik.
The staff on the reception where amazing, they never failed to have a smile on there face and help you out if you needed anything, and even had our key ready before we walked through the door! We asked them for directions to the old town on our first day, and they gave us a small map, and marked out the best routes for us, and also pointed us in the direction of one of the most amazing restaurants we had ever been too after asking for a recommendation of where to eat one night! (I’ll get to that bit in a minute!)
We also booked our trips and bought our Dubrovnik cards form them. The cards where amazing value for money, and i think a must for travelling and visiting the sites of the old town! We bought the 3 day pass, but you can also get a 1 day and a 7 day pass. This entitles you to 10 bus rides and entry into 5 attractions including the must see city walls all for 180 Kuna which we though was a bargain!! We also tool a trip to the Elaphite Islands which we booked from the reception desk, which was trouble free and very simple and straight forward, and even on the morning of our trip when our transfer to the boat was late the lady on reception was straight on the phone to sort it out and find out what was going on! Really couldn’t fault the staff!

The location of the hotel was very good, maybe a little far if you wanted to walk into the old town which was a very hilly 30 minute walk, however with buses running every few mins this didn’t make it a problem. It was also nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the old town and have a bit of peace and quite along the harbour. There where numerous restaurants and cafes dotted along the port two of our favourites where “Porat”, basic but beautifully cook food and amazingly good value for money especially for drinks! And “Otto” a stylish little gem of a tavern with probably the best food we have ever had! the prices are a bit more top end but you will not regret it worth every penny!

All in all this was one of the best places i have visited the service and staff where excellent and the hotel itself was clean and modern, and in a fabulous location! We would definitely return for a second visit and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_Du, Manager at Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Lauren

Thank you taking the time to write such a fabulous and detailed review. Not only do we appreciate all the great comments you have made regarding our hotel and staff but I am sure others will appreciate all the great hints you have mentioned.

The Dubrovnik city card is great value as it includes bus rides and entrance to museums and the city walls. You can buy 1 day, 3 day or 7 day cards. Even though you were staying 7 days I agree the 3 day card was better value for you as you can do the museums and walls all within 3 days.

I'm happy to hear all of our staff did their best to make your stay enjoyable and offered you some great tips including Taverna Otto which is a fab little restaurant only 10min walk from the hotel and has some great dishes (chocolate souffle my personal favourite).

Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again at the Berkeley.

Warmest regards
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

From the beginning everything about our stay at the Berkeley was great! Our prompt emails back from Katarina to the desk staff and Kristina we found everyone super friendly and helpful. There were 6 of us ( 3 couples) and we stayed 4 days before flying back to Zagreb to meet a small ship tour. It far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were all different and worked perfectly for our group. Our room was #32 and had a nice kitchen, living room and sepaarate bedroom and we all gathered there. The views were fabulous watching the sun set over the harbor.
You are close to bus #8 which is out the front door, down the hill to the right and it takes you past the cable car and into the old town. or you can continue down the hill a little further and take the alley way stairs down to the harbor and catch bus #1 that takes you to the Pile gate in old town. We loved having the peace and quiet after a bustling day with lots of other tourists in town and very hot days. The air conditioning really did the job to help cool us down.
We look forward to returning and would recommend this great little hotel to everyone!
The staff even keptsomething for us to pick up when we came back on our small ship cruise and they were genuinely happy to see us again.
Thank you to everyone for making our stay such a delight!

Room Tip: We had rooms # 32 - large with a kitchen and living room. #31 - a nice size double room and #35 a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_Du, Manager at Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Kathy D

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our special Berkeley City break package which includes accomodation, 3 day Dubrovnik city card and airport transfers. Even though the standard package is for 3 days we were happy to cater it to your request for sea view rooms and 4 day stay.

We hope to see you and your friends at the Berkeley Hotel again!

Warmest regards
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something different in Dubrovnik? The family owned and operated Berkeley Hotel offers a combination of 24 rooms and apartments suitable for travellers on short visits to Dubrovnik or those spending extra time exploring the area. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. All of our staff do their best to make you feel at home and look forward to providing you with friendly advice and information to make your visit to Dubrovnik enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.