We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous location, great host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Placa Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Apartments Placa Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Placa Dubrovnik
Gunduliceva Poljana 5, Dubrovnik, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 359 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Marvellous location, great host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

From the get go you feel welcome as the owner, Tonci, greets you on arrival in the square.

Our room was at the top of the building up quite steep stairs. Well appointed with spotless shower room and small kitchenette with fridge.

You cannot fault the location in the old town. So many places to eat nearby and a short stroll to the harbour or the walls.

A small downside is that the bells from nearby churches are rather loud and you can hear conversations in the street below at some times. But this is an old cramped town and that is to be expected and adds to the charm (just don't be surprised by it).

I would really recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freshwater NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

What a wonderful city and a wonderful host. We researched apartments in Dubrovnik and were impressed with the excellent reviews posted by previous visitors. Tonci the owner of the apartments was fantastic. Every email we sent was answered within hours and he picked us up from Dubrovnik Airport upon our arrival. The apartments are right in the middle of the old town and central to everything. Restaurants abound all around the apartments and there is an ATM within 3 steps of your front entrance door. The apartments are nicely furnished, air-conditioned and clean. You can make a light meal in the kitchenette which is handy if you want to do your own breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend these apartments, they are great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here at Placa apartments for 4 nights. The location is superb! My only complaint is the noise. The apartment overlooked the square where there is a market. There lies the issue. The market sets up T 5am/5.30am and bells ring in the church a 6am so if you are a light sleeper this will cause you some problems.
The owner, Tonci, could not be more helpful. The location is superb. I would recommend staying here if you think you can handle the early wake up call.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Like others have already indicated, Tonci is quick to respond to e-mails and provide helpful information such as access to the nearest car rental office. After 22+ hours of travelling, we were so appreciative of his offer to pick us up at the airport. He would not accept payment for this, so we did add something extra when we paid our bill at the end of our stay. Location is fantastic, and it is exciting to be right in the middle of everything. The suite is neat and clean and the air conditioning was certainly appreciated in mid-September. Tonci's mother-in-law lives in the top floor suite, and may not be around at all times (Tonci lives elsewhere), so best to ask all your questions when you get the chance on arrival.

We took a day trip by boat to Cavtat which was a nice break from the crowds from the cruise liners and also recommend getting an early start to walk the town walls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We rented all 3 rooms and they were all spotlessly clean and comfortable. Booking through Tonci was beyond easy. Conveniently located in the middle of it all, walking distance to all attraction in Old Town. Fantastic food (Kamince Buffet), ATM, grocery mart, morning fruit market all literally downstairs. Air conditioning worked wonderfully. We would definitely return and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We've just left Dubrovnik yesterday and is now in Split We truly enjoyed our stay in the Old City. Hard to beat the location of this apartment. You step out from the apartment and everything is right at your doorstep. We had the top floor, we love it. Climbing the stairs was a good exercise for us. Albeit the open market, the Gundulic Square and restaurants are on the same street, we could hardly hear the noise and at night, the place is dead quiet. The bed was comfortable with unlimited supplied of towels. Tonci was helpful, he provided transportation to and from the airport and helped carriymy luggage from Pila Gate to the apartment. We have no hesitation to recommend this apartment to anybody, not luxury but just what we want. Thank you Tonci.

Room Tip: No swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

We were picked up from the airport. The owner took us to the bus depot to help us organise our onward plans. The location is amazing. Smack in the heart of the old town. There is a nice buzz with everything going on on your doorstep. The apartment was clean spacious, had good air con, and free wi-fi. This place is exceptional value. Little touches such as welcome beers in your fridge, local grappa on the t able. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartments Placa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Placa Dubrovnik

Address: Gunduliceva Poljana 5, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 359 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Apartments Placa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Placa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Placa Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.