We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rixos Hotel Libertas to your Saves list
Rixos Hotel Libertas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid November. The hotel wasn't our original choice (we were moved from the Hotel More less than a week before we were due to arrive) but we really enjoyed our stay. A big advantage was that the Rixos was within walking distance of the walled city, whereas the More was much further out. The reason for the move was that a lot of hotels, including the More, close in November, as do restaurants in the old town. Visitor numbers are lower, it was lovely to see the city with just a few tourists, and the weather on the day we walked round the city walls was perfect - 20 degrees and perfect blue skies.

The Rixos was in a perfect position, a 15 minute walk into town, 20 minutes back, but also close to a number of bus routes and buses were very frequent. The number 4 came closest, but those going to the port (1A,!B, 6 etc) were also nearby. There was also a lovely bakery at the end of the road, so you could get off the No 4 and pick up something from the bakery to take back to the hotel. I don't know how the price would have compared with some of the hotels closer to the old town as we had used reward points for the trip.

Our room (floor 9) was spacious with a balcony looking out to sea where we could watch the sunrise and sunset over the sea - and the thunder and lightning later in the week! The arrangement with the opaque glass partition between the bedroom area and the bathroom may not suit all but we didn't find it an issue. The breakfast buffet at the hotel had everything you could want to set you up for the day. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel, preferring to try out the restaurants in the city that were open. Only the main restaurant was open because of the low numbers. During the week there were only 20-30 rooms occupied (out of over 400) but it was noticeably busier at the weekend, and this was when we noticed the chairs being moved above us, although it was only for short periods and didn't cause us any real disturbance. The indoor swimming pool was lovely for a relaxing swim, and the gym was very well equipped. The spa was open but we didn't use those facilities. All the staff were very friendly, in particular those on reception and guest relations.

I would definitely recommend the Rixos as a base for visiting Dubrovnik. We did have day trips to Mostar in Bosnia, and Kotor and Budva in Montenegro. I can't comment on how the hotel would be when full, or even half full, as we didn't have that experience, and on reflection perhaps mid November was a bit late for the trip, October being better. But it was lovely seeing the old city with few tourists, and I can't imagine how it copes in high season.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid floor 9 re the scraping of chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our much praised breakfast and indoor pool and gym facilities. Also we are proud that you found our customer service first class one. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    271
    141
    35
    18
See reviews for
100
416
37
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 and we were not disappointed. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Rooms are great and you get a fantastic view. It was my husbands birthday whilst we were there and they left a birthday cake in the room for him. There is a casino in the hotel and we had hours of entertainment. A great holiday and great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you had a great holiday.
We look forward to meeting you again in the nearest future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This our fifth time in this hotel. It always makes us rested and freshen. Especially, the pool,sauna and Turkish Hamam(a real one) are perfect. With the children, it is important the temperature of pool, which is well enough in Rixos Libertas. The location of hotel provide a very nice view... See you a.s.a.p.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are exceptionally pleased that you have enjoyed in our SPA.
We hope to welcome you in the nearest future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed in Rixos Liberts in October and I can tell it has been wonderful. Hotel is huge and well designed. My room was quite spacious and I had a breathtaking view to the island of Lokrum and rocks. Tip for a room: book a sea view room, you will not regret!
Food is excellent. There is a big choice on the breakfast buffet and a la cart restaurant was also very delicious...
Staff is so friendly and helpful in all departments. We really felt like home and we would definitely come back. We booked some day trips at Concierge service and visited interesting places in surrounding like island of Korcula and Mostar. We had a lovely time and we highly recomment Rixos Libertas!!!

Room Tip: choose a sea view room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for your positive comments. We are exceptionally pleased that you have enjoyed our breakfast and that our concierge service helped you to find interesting places in surrounding.
We look forward to meeting you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Rixos Hotels are a chain from Turkey and one of the luxury in their kind. Libertas is not providing luxury like in Turkey, but the location of the hotel is very good and it has perfect view to the beautiful Adriatic. Rooms are big and with balcony, which is good for viewing the sea, staff are kind and wellcoming. Breakfast is rich, hotelis a bit far away from Old Town but anyway you can take a taxi and it takes 5 min.

Room Tip: Drink Turkish coffee at terrace with beautiful Adriatic Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you have found our staff welcoming and kind and that you liked our food in restaurant.
We hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebic, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 times now... and so far i think it is the best you can get of your money.

Each time i got free upgrade... first time it was coz hotel was fully booked and i got presidential suite... it was really nice of them :) after that i got executive room every time i was in hotel.

Breakfast is rich, lunch is always with touch of oriental cuisine...

Location in so nice and tranquility, only 15 minutes walking distance from old city...

I would suggest everyone to book this hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind comments. We feel you are now part of the Rixos family. We look forward to welcoming you in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rixos libertas, a very impressive hotel, airy ,bright ,clean......plus an amazing team of staff there and all so accomodating!!! A lovely warm vibe from the welcoming staff at our moment of arrival.Rooms were just great so big and fabulous big balconies with stunning views!
Breakfasts great variety very attentive staff there too...
Very near old town a lovely 15 minute walk to it , so handy even late at night to get taxi back!!! Would highly reccomend hotel, and would make a return visit for sure!! Delightful stay !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you have found our staff welcoming and attentive and we hope to see you again in the nearest future. We could not have agreed more with you that in your word this hotel has “excellent location”. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Hotel Libertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.