We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from old town but good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Hotel Libertas to your Saves list
Rixos Hotel Libertas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Oxford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Far from old town but good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was large and comfortable with private balcony and sea view. Breakfast was scrumptious with many to offer. Hotel restaurant was also pretty good. I'm quite surprised at the fact that the reviews are not so good. The hotel itself is 5 star for sure. If it's not so far from the old town, I would definitely stay again. But the price was pretty good. If you're looking for a cheaper five star room in Dubrovnik, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are extremely pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and that you found our hotel restaurant first class catering experience. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    303
    150
    39
    18
See reviews for
102
449
39
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ignore all the odd stuff about wardrobes and wallpaper. Who cares. We have just returned from 4 nights bed and breakfast and had a fantastic time. All of the staff are so kind and pleasant and efficient. The general atmosphere and public rooms are really nice.Breakfast is very, very good, great choice of everything you could want, and you can eat out on the balcony if you wish.
We ate evenings down in the old town. It is lovely at night and less than a mile walk or a minute on the bus( About £1.50 each way if you cannot do the short walk.) Perfectly safe, and we loved the musicians by the restaurants, they were really talented.
All rooms except some very expensive ones have a balcony with sunbeds and a lovely sea view looking down the coast towards the old town.The bathroom has a glass wall(Blind provided if required) so you can shave and shower while looking out at the sea. Wonderful..
True, the wardrobe is small, but it is big enough so don't let it put you off. The air conditioning worked really well, that is the important thing.
If you choose to go in July or August it will be hot and busy everywhere in Dubrovnic. In September there were lots of spare sunbeds, the pool was empty,you can still sit out in the evening but better still the sea was brilliant to swim in at the Hotel. WE are going back next year.

Room Tip: floors go from 1 (Lower) to 9 , ours was floor 5 and a nice level, but there is no problem with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad that we made your holiday a memorable experience. Also we are pleased that you felt Croatian hospitality with the Turkish twist at its best. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here in August and while there were some good things about this hotel, we probably wouldn't recommend it overall, at least until it had some further refurbishment.

Firstly the good points:

-The view out to sea from our room was stunning, one of the best views we've had from a hotel room

-I would say this hotel, along with the Bellevue next door, has one of the best locations in Dubrovnik. It only takes 15 minutes to walk into the Old Town but you are far enough away to escape the thousands of tourists from the cruise ships who descend during the day

-Our room was nicely designed, particularly the bathroom- we liked the glass walls (there is a separate toilet) but there is a blind you can pull down if you prefer the privacy. The bed was also big and comfortable.

-We are both gluten free and found there were plenty of good options to eat at breakfast, and staff were helpful at other meals. We were given some gluten free bread, which was pretty dry but was nice to have, and the staff offered to make us gluten free pasta if we wanted There was a good selection of food at breakfast each day, with omelettes and eggs made fresh to order.

-The staff at the hotel were all helpful and polite, and took our concerns and complaints seriously

Now the not so good points:

-We had a number of problems with our room, which show that the hotel needs to improve its overall maintenance. Our air conditioning didn't work for the first day or so, until the maintenance team came and cleaned the filter. The TV made a constant high pitched buzzing noise when on, which the maintenance team said they couldn't do anything to fix, but made it difficult to watch. The phone also made odd noises in the middle of the night, and the hairdryer also came on a few times by itself which was quite scary!

-The hotel is pretty tired and old fashioned in places, particularly in the corridors and many of the public areas- the faded blue wallpaper needs to go if they want to continue charging high prices

-The pool area was not a relaxing place to be- we were there in August, so it might be better out of season, but I would suggest avoiding it in the school holidays. Firstly you had to go down early to get decent sunbeds and lots of the best sunbeds were reserved from before 9am with towels and magazines but remained empty for the whole day.

There are some very nice double bed sunloungers with comfortable mattresses and curtains around them which were always reserved and often empty. We were told by reception that there was no system for reserving them, but then after we complained on the last day that someone had stolen our sunbeds after we left for lunch for an hour or so and there were no other beds left, the pool team offered us one of the reserved beds, and said we could also have one the next day. So it appears they are reserved by the pool staff for selected guests- probably those who tip them and those who complain. The hotel needs to be more transparent about this system and also shouldn't let people reserve beds unless they are going to use them in the next hour or so.

We were also unimpressed to see the hotel letting in guests from other hotels to use the pool area in return for £10 a day, even though the pool area was already pretty packed and guests were struggling to find sunloungers. We paid a premium to stay in the hotel and use its facilities, yet you could stay at a cheap guesthouse down the road and use exactly the same facilities for £10 a day. As previous reviews have mentioned, access to the coast in Croatia is public, and so about 30-40 people who were not staying at the hotel and had not paid to use the facilities would also gather around the walls of the pool area and go into the sea each day, making the pool area even more busy and noisy.

Loud house music would also be played at the pool area from about 11am, which was pretty irritating. We were planning to go down to the hotel barbecue one evening, but decided against it after being deafened by the music even from our balcony.

-And finally a warning that the seaview rooms are not as private as you think they are- the seaview rooms are not overlooked at all, so we didn't worry about closing the curtains when getting ready, until one day a gardener walked along the thin wall outside our fifth floor room when I was getting changed- a bit of a shock!

We don't usually complain about issues in hotels, but as there were quite a few problems in this hotel my husband did raise concerns with the hotel management. We appreciated that the manager did take the concerns seriously and arranged to take some money off our bill as an apology. Hopefully the hotel will make improvements, as it could be a fantastic place to stay if some changes were made.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When is a 5 star hotel not a 5 star hotel?. When it really is a 3 star! We booked a week at the Rixos Libertas and paid extra for balcony, sea view and half board. It was not cheap but boasting 5 stars we went ahead being used to paying for balcony suites on cruise ships( it was on a cruise ship visit we discovered dubrovnik and liked what we saw). First mistake, all the rooms seemed to have balconies and sea views! So no need to pay extra.
We arrived late in the evening but check-in was seemless and we were cheered by the welcoming quality award from Tripadvisor displayed on the front desk of 4 stars out of 5 for 2013. 2013? we arrived on Sept 11th with still over 3 months of the year to go! Our review, which has been seen by the hotel's Guest Relations Manager follows:

Staff: Generally polite and good humoured but lacking in polish. A few seasoned professionals augmented by mainly further education students who were willing but lacked ' waiting-on experience and skills'. So there were constant requests for knives, spoons, napkins, side plates, milk etc. Numbers were low and on one night 5 waiters had to look after 200 guests in the dining area.

Facilities: Good pool and sunbathing area in very good location. No beach but 'safe' sea bathing from steps to ocean.Big open spaces inside hotel (looked as though it was designed for conferences rather than holiday makers) but no library or games room. The guests were of the mature type so the the Gym was under used (I never saw more than 3-4 people in it at any one time). For a hotel of this supposed stature, the range of entertainment was poor. One very good guitarist played 3 out of 7 nights in the bar but packed up at 10pm just when the later diners were leaving the restaurant.

Bars & Restaurants: One hotel bar and one pool bar. One 'general' buffet restaurant and separate a la carte meat and fish restaurants which offered 25% off menu prices for half board guests who wanted to 'upgrade'. Not many took advantage of this having already paid for their dinner and on one occasion when we ate in the steak restaurant (see below for reason) we dined alone from 7.30 to 9.30pm! Not many used the bars either as prices were very high and on none music nights nothing to encourage guests to use them.

Food: Half board guests generally ate in the buffet restaurant (see above). There was the usual selection of 'hot' and cold dishes. The restaurant closed at 9.30pm and guests (who had already paid for their dinner) were invited to attend the a la carte reastaurants where they had to pay again at exhorbitant prices (less 25% discount of course).
Generally the cold food was of an acceptable standard but the majority of the 'hot' dishes were poorly presented, indifferently cooked and more often than not inadequately heated to keep them warm. Cold plates due to the high turnover and again inadequate heating added to the problem so one invariable ended up eating cold food that should have been hot.There was also a lack of fish choices on the menu.
On our second night we complained about the temperature of the food to the Maitre D' and Head Chef. Other guests joined in but the only consolation we received was to sample the a la carte restaurant the next night (free of course). It was here that we ate for 2 hours in solitary confinement (see above), no other guest used the facilities during that time. The food was decidedly ordinary and for a bottle of wine (which was not free) and 3 courses (the crepe for dessert was inedible) we would have had to pay £170 (less 25%0. No wonder the place was empty! The only really hot meal we had all week was a lunchtime pizza from a small cafe near the Port. They did manage one night to produce hot plates but unfortunately they ended up on the cold counter! We think the restaurants were a shambles.

Rooms: Fraying carpet, lack of clothes hangers, no drawer space, lack of wardrobe space, unfinished wiring on balcony, partition between balconies missing so lack of privacy, no kettle in room.Size of room was good with settee, sitting area and plenty of electrical points but 1 change of bedding in 7 days?

Summary: Compared to the major holiday destinations around Europe, we would put this in the 3 star category, definitely not 4 or 5. A cruise ship offering this level of service and amenities for comparable price would not last very long. Croatia is a lovely country but they are deluding themselves with their hotel category star system. Prices in Dubrovnik are being kept artificially high but eventually the savvy tourist will go elsewhere. This would be a pity because it has a lot to offer but I am afraid for us not at this level of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rixos, Dubrovnik in August. We were told that the hotel had been rebuilt/refurbished approximately 7 years ago. It is located in the next bay north of Dubrovnik, but out of sight of the Walled City. This is a very big hotel with several large open lounge facilities, good restaurants, indoor and outdoor pools.
Is it a 5 Star hotel? How do YOU classify hotels, by their size or their attention to detail. In our room on the 6th floor we found the very small wardrobe located hard up to the room door, very noisy to use because the concertina type doors snapped shut with a large bang, and the internal plastic hanger supports all broken. The other furniture in the room gave the impression of well worn IKEA type flat pack units. Outside the room, the corridor had some light units which had failed and a temporary standard lamp had been plugged in at one point to help illuminate the corridor. A set of breakfast dishes had been put out from a room before 10.00am and were still waiting to be removed at 6.00pm. All details, none stopping the general enjoyment of our holiday, but not 5 Star.

The guitar. Oh yes, there it stands to greet you at the entrance to the breakfast restaurant, unfortunately with two of the strings missing. It just seemed to show the lack of attention to detail at the hotel. Would we recommend staying at the Rixos? Yes, if the management walked round with their eyes open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rixos Libertas was nice hotel with beautiful views. Location was closely enough
to old town. Room was nice with big balcony. Better in floors 5 to 8.
Very good breakfast.
BUT if you need to get connect with wifi... We did not succeed! All that time there were
connection fails or new system was under construction etc.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms, floors 5 - 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback, in particular the part about the rooms with a breathtaking view. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Rixos Libertas for 3 nights in August and although we enjoyed our stay there are a few areas in need of improvement. The hotel has a beautiful view of the Aegean, is about a 20min walk to the centre of town and the room we stayed in on the 5th floor was very nice. The bedroom was spacious with a comfy bed, we had a large balcony with pool chairs to relax on and the bathroom was modern. I did find the hallways of the hotel to be quite dark as they had no windows and they smelt quite mouldy as if in need of some fresh air.

The buffet breakfast was very nice with a wide range of food on offer. The pool area was good with a large pool and private area to swim in the ocean. My annoyance with this area was that it seemed to be full of non-guests using up the pool chairs so it was very difficult for my husband and I to find 2 chairs we could use. The management of the hotel needs to address this issue.

My only other criticism of the hotel was the service we received regarding a complaint we made. On returning to our room one day the lights were out in the hallway and given that the halls had NO windows the hall was pitch black. The cleaning staff had left multiple trolleys lying in the halls one of which I tripped on while trying to find my room in the dark. On finding our room I rang the guest services to report the issue and was met with a less than desirable response. The lady was quite rude when I advised of the issue and stated they were aware of the problem and didn't seem to like my suggestion of moving the trolleys or sorting some alternate lighting source.

This hotel was nice but doesn't have the details a 5 star hotel should have and I do wonder if there are better choices to stay in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Hotel Libertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.