We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is worth it alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Hotel Libertas to your Saves list
Rixos Hotel Libertas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The view is worth it alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel really is first class with a breathtaking view (I believe in every room - although I did notice a few rooms at the back so you might want to double check when booking). We stayed in one of the delux rooms to have a little more space and access to the sun terrace. This meant that we had a lounge area, spa bath and about 50 square metres of space! There was really no need to leave the comfort of our room other than to pop down to the pool or the sea for a dip whenever we got too hot. The staff are eager to please and very friendly always emphasising that they are there to make sure you enjoy your stay.

My only critique would be the food which, whilst it filled a hole and was tasty enough, was not quite what I'd expect of a five star hotel (e.g. smoked salmon salad was just some shredded lettuce with smoked salmon plonked on top). That said we only ate breakfast, room service and lunch by the pool. There is a more up market restaurant in the hotel (Lalezar I believe) which may have been better and delivered more of a wow factor. Additionally, you'd be crazy to just eat at the hotel now matter how good the food is given the vast array of quality eateries with fresh fish in the old town in a beautiful setting (about 20 minutes walk or 50-60 kunas in a cab). Additionally they need to do something about the practice of reserving sunbeds by the pool simply by leaving your towel there. Rarely were any vacant yet rarely were more than 10% actually occupied.

Aside from these relatively minor points - neither of which was particularly a big issue for us - we had a very enjoyable stay. Perfect view and excellent staff who are always more than happy to help you in any way they can.

Room Tip: Get the delux room for access to the sun terrace! Although if you're looking to save all of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your opinion helps us to improve our service. Kind regars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    302
    150
    39
    18
See reviews for
102
447
39
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I have very mixed reviews about my stay at the Libertas Hotel. The service at the pool/beach area was of most concern. No matter how early you wake up you will not be able to get one of the fancier beach "beds". They are all pre-reserved by the staff for specific clients. This was pretty annoying.
The rooms are nice and the housekeeping does an excellent job. The breakfasts are also good. But overall i would rank it 3/5.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your review with us. Your opinion and suggestions will help us to improve our service and the hotel facilities. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on one of the upper floors so the view was fabulous with a huge balcony.

Great location over water and easy walk into the city which we enjoyed.

Pool area was clean and not too busy for peak season which was a plus.

The hotel is a little tired which we read in other reviews. Room just lacked quality whether its the towels, toiletries, pillows etc.

Breakfast was fantastic, very good selection and view. Staff were very friendly.

Lunch was a massive let down and too expensive by the pool. Definitely would not recommend. Food didn't seem fresh and selection poor.

We had room service one night for dinner which was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your review with us. Your opinion and suggestions will help us to improve our service and the hotel facilities. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a business conference combined to a two day vacation in this wonderful location. The scenery is beautiful, food is delicious and service is great. Especially the personal commitment of the Marketing and Event Manager helped the success of our trip tremendously. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive comment. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a kind of person with the extreme expectations but when I pay 300-500 eur per day I want to get smth:
- they forget to make up your room;
- they forget to refill your bar;
- the shower smells like sht;
- interior is heavily depreciated;
- hotel pool is visited by local people who just throw their towels around it;
- dinner is a joke in terms of food quality and assortment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for leaving your review. We want to apologize for any inconvenience in our hotel. Department managers are informed about these issues and Operative manager too. Your comments and experience help us to improve our service and the hotel facilities. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This large hotel is situated on a slope overlooking the Adriatic sea. private beach, a few restaurants, spa, casino, sport facilities private parking, free Wi Fi and more..The hotel is not far from the Old Town.
The well furnished rooms are spacious, including a wide bathroom. (they could do better with the lighting system of the bathroom, and select more comfortable chairs in the rooms).
Staff is very attentive and willing (relative to large hotel). Food in Dining room and restaurant is more than acceptable.
All in all,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Your comments help us to improve our service. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel and rooms benefit from an amazing view and we appreciated the good service (we asked to change room in order to be some levels higher to even have a more spectacular view. Free parking is also useful and the hotel is located close to the city center (around 15 min walking). Beautiful spa. Very nice rooms and comfortable bed.
Direct access to the sea was very enjoyable as well and good cocktails are served at the swimming pool bar. The sun deck is however a bit small so the best sunchairs are ''reserved'' early in the morning. I am not a fan neither of people taking breakfast in swimming shorts but this is part of big hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are truly glad that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Hotel Libertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.