We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing base, with beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Hotel Libertas to your Saves list
Rixos Hotel Libertas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing base, with beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on a trip to Montenegro and Croatia in summer 2012.
Booked a room with a balcony facing the sea. It was fairly expensive, but definitely worth it. The sun hits the balconies all day and the view is fantastic, even from the shower (which was also really good, huge and with a rain setting, perfect in the heat). The room itself was huge too.
Breakfast was a huge buffet with lots of choice and there are various restaurants at the hotel which are fine; the outdoor fish one is the best.
Although a little bit outside the walled town, it's actually a really good location - walking distance to there and to the new harbour for island trips.
Really enjoyed it here, Dubrovnik is a fantastic city and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra to have a sea facing, balcony room ad on a higher floor so you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are happy to know you enjoyed the interior appearance, and offerings, of our hotel.
we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    304
    150
    39
    18
See reviews for
102
451
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great hotel that I stayed at during a work trip, excellent facilities and food, decent location with lots of cheap taxis into the town. Some unbelievable views from the rooms and pool. Wifi is available in the hotel lobby and the staff are all very helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gersau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Rixos from 6 to 13 May 2013. We chose the resort because of its setting - it is exquisite.

Upon our arrival, we were immediately greeted by an overwhelming smell of sewerage (this lingered permanently). We struggled up the steps with our suitcases as there was no bell man to assist, and made our way to reception. When we mentioned the smell to the man at reception, he informed us that he couldn’t smell anything wrong. It seemed like a shaky start to our holiday.

We were given our room key and carried our own suitcases up to our room. Probably not what we expected from a 5 star hotel. When we entered the room, we were once again surprised by the odour. The room smelled stale. We slept with the door open as a result and were attacked by mosquitoes. We managed to slay a few leaving blood spatter evidence behind on the headboard of the bed which was not cleaned until 2 days later when I complained about it to housekeeping! The 2nd morning I complained about the smell and asked for a different room but was informed that it would cost me an additional 30 Euro per day. Housekeeping sprayed some air freshener in the room and that was it.

We tried to shower the next morning, but that was a mess to say the least. The shower head desperately required a clean as the spouts were all clogged up and as a result the water was spraying everywhere but straight down. Also, the glass panel is not big enough so the floor of the water ends up being a bath. We used half our towels every day to clean up the mess. I called housekeeping to complain, but nothing was done about it. I complained about it again but that was also in vain.

Breakfast was wonderful. We loved the selection of food and felt the quality was good. The service at breakfast needs work though. The staff are friendly, but the tables were never set completely e.g. all mornings besides one there was no spoon in sight, tables are not cleared despite many waiters standing around. I do not drink coffee or tea, and my husband drinks one cup of coffee per day. He does not drink plunger coffee which is what they serve as standard at breakfast. He ordered a cappuccino every morning but was told very specifically that he would be charged for that. A little cheap in my opinion. Also, they charge for an ice bucket…in summer? The fridge in our room didn’t work properly!

After breakfast we generally spent time down at the pool. The location of the pool area is magnificent. It was, however, extremely disappointing and disturbing to find out that they were in the middle of renovating that area. Each day we were met by noise from workers, angle grinders, drills, etc. We were never informed of this when we booked or when we checked in. If we had been warned during check in with perhaps a drinks voucher and an apology, this might have been more bearable.

Staff are very helpful and friendly in general especially the travel advisors. Our housekeeper was cheerful. The room has good wifi, but there is no wifi in the public areas of the hotel.

Your hotel is in desperate need of tender loving care:

• Carpets are terribly stained
• Wallpaper is peeling off everywhere
• Roof is leaking in the stairwell
• Make up mirror in the room does not stay upright in order for you to use it
• There was a hole in our bathroom ceiling significantly larger than the light fitting
• The hangers are unusable – they keep on falling down because they are too old

General comment for all areas as well: please divide areas into smoking and non-smoking sections. We were overwhelmed each day at breakfast on the terrace as well as at the pool with excessive smoke. It is not a good experience for a non-smoker.

Also please correct the spelling on your signage e.g. what is a brown shape?

On our last day, we came back from an outing and was greeted by a lady who is in charge or guest relations. She asked us about our experience and I told her that we were not happy at all. I told her about all of the above and she was your hotel’s saving grace.She offered a complimentary meal in the restaurant as an apology and came to check on us during dinner. That was a lovely gesture. We had an extremely good meal. Starters were good, mains course was good too and the location is fabulous! The décor needs to be updated though.

All in all, this hotel has the makings to be spectacular, but needs a lot of attention before we would call it 5 star. For now, we believe it is more 3 ½ to 4 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late may 2013. It is a nice hotel about 20 minutes walk from the old town although its uphill all the way from the old town. It's very quiet but try and get a room facing the water. The views are spectacular. It's a little disappointing though that you can't make a cup of tea or coffee in the rooms. Nice breakfast though with a wide section of foods covering all cultures. If you like an omelet for breakfast there s a chef tat cooks them to order, very nice. They also have. Buffet fr evening meal but i found it disappointing because all of the hot food had gone and they were very slow to replace it. All in all not a bad place to stay in Dubrovnik

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jongerg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first view of the hotel can be a bit off-putting - being of concrete and glass construction. Once inside, my opinion of this 'upside-down' hotel changed. The reception areas are at road level and bedrooms are built 'down' the cliffside. The reception area is clean, modern, spacious and airy and very nicely furnished. It has to be said that this hotel is more a 'corporate' hotel rather than a holiday one, having many conference facilities etc and guests only staying for short periods. There is free internet access if you need it but no entertainment and no holiday 'feel' to it. I booked a 'superior' room with a sea view. I went with a friend. The first impression of our room was very favourable with a spectacular view. It was modern, well furnished and 'open-plan' - in as much as the bathroom has no door and the walls facing the bedroom and corridor are made of clear glass. You can, if you wished, take a shower with a sea view lol. There is a blind which can be pulled down allowing some privacy and the door to the seperate toilet is also glass - albeit opaque and you can't really been seen in there. The bathroom was furnished with robes and slippers, a range of toiletries and a hair-dryer. Because we are 2 male friends, be booked a twin room. Ours turned out to be a 'double'. - but a quick trip down to reception had us waiting a few hours for a 'twin' to be made available - also very nice. The beds were SO comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The staff are exceptionally professional, friendly, warm and welcoming which made all the difference. Being on 'all-inclusive' was good. You don't have to wear one of those nasty identifying bracelets. You 'sign' for every drink which are mostly branded and not local alternatives - and the bill is wiped clean on departure. The restaurant is pleasant and the food typical of hotels these days - not great - not bad. There are alternative a la carte restaurants too which looked very smart when I looked in. There are turkish and sauna baths and a very well appointed gym and indoor and outdoor pools - all included in the package. Pool / beach towels are supplied for free. There is no beach by the way. The pool area has a nice range of sun loungers - some 'swing-chairs', 4-poster double-bed-type with canopy and curtains and others types with comfortable mattresses and pillows. Steps from the pool area lead to platforms from where you can get into the sea. A storm made a real mess of the pool area when the sea broke over the walls while we were there - but it was quickly repaired in a day. The hotel is a 25 minute walk to Dubrovnik city gate although not an easy one if you have walking difficulties because its slightly 'uphill' - but cheap taxis or buses are easily available. We had 3 days of fine weather and 3 days of storms which was ok because it allowed us to visit Bosnia and Montenegro on tours in cool weather, arranged by Thomsons whose rep. Ivana was just wonderful. We would certainly recommend this hotel although its not for children or families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great place to stay, fantastic hotel with really nice staff. Good facilities at a good price. The rooms are small but the hotel facilities are open and spacious with a good gym too. Would stay again. Would recommend asking for a room with a view as although it costs a little more the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived home on 19th May after a wonderful week with my husband at the Rixos Libertas. We were there with Thomsons so on an all inclusive package, but we paid for upgrade to a superior room with a balcony. We arrived early on the six o clock flight from Manchester and were greeted by very friendly reception staff and told our room was ready. Our room was fantastic, 1413, with beautiful views of the sea, along the coast and the hotel sunbathing area. The bed was massive and very comfortable, lovely bathroom with robes and slippers, and a good array of toiletries. On the sunbathing platform there was a great choice of brand new, white wicker loungers, four posters with sheer curtains to screen off the sun as it moved round, canopied swings and tables and chairs. The food could not have been better, wonderful choices delightfully displayed and attentive staff to top up your coffee or wine. The 20 minute walk into Dubrovnik gave us breathtaking views of the coast and on entering the town walls we were taken aback by the architecture and history surrounding us? I think you can tell by my review that we had no complaints at all about this great hotel, we speak as we find.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Hotel Libertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.