We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Hotel Libertas to your Saves list
Rixos Hotel Libertas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late may 2013. It is a nice hotel about 20 minutes walk from the old town although its uphill all the way from the old town. It's very quiet but try and get a room facing the water. The views are spectacular. It's a little disappointing though that you can't make a cup of tea or coffee in the rooms. Nice breakfast though with a wide section of foods covering all cultures. If you like an omelet for breakfast there s a chef tat cooks them to order, very nice. They also have. Buffet fr evening meal but i found it disappointing because all of the hot food had gone and they were very slow to replace it. All in all not a bad place to stay in Dubrovnik

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    303
    150
    39
    18
See reviews for
102
449
39
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jongerg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first view of the hotel can be a bit off-putting - being of concrete and glass construction. Once inside, my opinion of this 'upside-down' hotel changed. The reception areas are at road level and bedrooms are built 'down' the cliffside. The reception area is clean, modern, spacious and airy and very nicely furnished. It has to be said that this hotel is more a 'corporate' hotel rather than a holiday one, having many conference facilities etc and guests only staying for short periods. There is free internet access if you need it but no entertainment and no holiday 'feel' to it. I booked a 'superior' room with a sea view. I went with a friend. The first impression of our room was very favourable with a spectacular view. It was modern, well furnished and 'open-plan' - in as much as the bathroom has no door and the walls facing the bedroom and corridor are made of clear glass. You can, if you wished, take a shower with a sea view lol. There is a blind which can be pulled down allowing some privacy and the door to the seperate toilet is also glass - albeit opaque and you can't really been seen in there. The bathroom was furnished with robes and slippers, a range of toiletries and a hair-dryer. Because we are 2 male friends, be booked a twin room. Ours turned out to be a 'double'. - but a quick trip down to reception had us waiting a few hours for a 'twin' to be made available - also very nice. The beds were SO comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The staff are exceptionally professional, friendly, warm and welcoming which made all the difference. Being on 'all-inclusive' was good. You don't have to wear one of those nasty identifying bracelets. You 'sign' for every drink which are mostly branded and not local alternatives - and the bill is wiped clean on departure. The restaurant is pleasant and the food typical of hotels these days - not great - not bad. There are alternative a la carte restaurants too which looked very smart when I looked in. There are turkish and sauna baths and a very well appointed gym and indoor and outdoor pools - all included in the package. Pool / beach towels are supplied for free. There is no beach by the way. The pool area has a nice range of sun loungers - some 'swing-chairs', 4-poster double-bed-type with canopy and curtains and others types with comfortable mattresses and pillows. Steps from the pool area lead to platforms from where you can get into the sea. A storm made a real mess of the pool area when the sea broke over the walls while we were there - but it was quickly repaired in a day. The hotel is a 25 minute walk to Dubrovnik city gate although not an easy one if you have walking difficulties because its slightly 'uphill' - but cheap taxis or buses are easily available. We had 3 days of fine weather and 3 days of storms which was ok because it allowed us to visit Bosnia and Montenegro on tours in cool weather, arranged by Thomsons whose rep. Ivana was just wonderful. We would certainly recommend this hotel although its not for children or families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great place to stay, fantastic hotel with really nice staff. Good facilities at a good price. The rooms are small but the hotel facilities are open and spacious with a good gym too. Would stay again. Would recommend asking for a room with a view as although it costs a little more the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived home on 19th May after a wonderful week with my husband at the Rixos Libertas. We were there with Thomsons so on an all inclusive package, but we paid for upgrade to a superior room with a balcony. We arrived early on the six o clock flight from Manchester and were greeted by very friendly reception staff and told our room was ready. Our room was fantastic, 1413, with beautiful views of the sea, along the coast and the hotel sunbathing area. The bed was massive and very comfortable, lovely bathroom with robes and slippers, and a good array of toiletries. On the sunbathing platform there was a great choice of brand new, white wicker loungers, four posters with sheer curtains to screen off the sun as it moved round, canopied swings and tables and chairs. The food could not have been better, wonderful choices delightfully displayed and attentive staff to top up your coffee or wine. The 20 minute walk into Dubrovnik gave us breathtaking views of the coast and on entering the town walls we were taken aback by the architecture and history surrounding us? I think you can tell by my review that we had no complaints at all about this great hotel, we speak as we find.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend particularly wanted to stay in a 'nice' hotel....nice is not particularly how I would describe it. We had a really small view of the ocean and our room was exceptionally noisy because of the motors/engines whatever they were that kicked in regularly.....sounded to me like the Titanic was departing her moorings, the ceiling was vibrating so much I thought it was going to cave in around our ears. The whole place appeared empty because we went off season and there was huge boxes obstructing the walkways for the whole three days, they seemed to be full of linen, but it was not very asthetically pleasing.
Breakfast was good, a feast fit for a king, we made the most of that! The walk to the city was pleasant and worth it.
Now, the recycling of the toiletries.....the first time ever that i've seen it in my life!! I really did not expect that from a place that has a chain of hotels. I'm not sure that is acceptable anywhere....extremely disappointing!

Room Tip: ASK FIRST!! The room we had on the left side of the building was really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We holidayed at the Rixos for a week at the start of May via Thomson holidays on an all inclusive deal at £712 pp. Considering Expedia were charging nearly £3k for B&B only, the Thomson deal was superb. Note the Thomson deal is for a "standard" room (ie non sea view) so worth upgrading to a Superior Room with Balcony and Sea View.
Good points about the hotel - wonderful setting, the terrace by the bar has amazing views over the Adriatic Sea, also another terrace on the floor below where you can have lunch, really nice brand new sunbeds which were brought in during our stay, the Thomson all inclusive deal included brand name spirits, soft drinks and beautiful cappuccino, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the decor in the superior room is really tasteful, choice of two excellent showers in the bathrooms.
Not so good points about the hotel - Upon our arrival about 11am we had to wait till about 3pm to check into our rooms. There was initial confusion with bar staff as to which drinks were included in the all inclusive deal. This was irritating and I had to check with Reception about 3 times to see that nothing had been added to my account. This was eventually sorted out by the Thomson rep. After every drink and meal, bills had to be repeatedly signed for, even though we were on an all inclusive holiday! Stained carpets in communal areas and very strange smells too (cabbage!). Be aware that in Superior rooms the bathrooms have glass walls which may not be convenient for all travellers! Also the hotel is a good 20 min walk from the town which again may not suit everyone. Whilst the breakfasts and lunches were nice, dinner seemed a bit of an afterthought! TV in the room didnt work.
My main issue with this hotel is that it is not a Thomson dedicated hotel, as a lot of them are. During our stay there was a week long conference taking place, with delegates everywhere, especially on the terrace having business meetings. I went on holiday to get away from business! It was a bit strange and uncomfortable having holidaymakers and business people in the same environment.
However, I had a great time in Dubrovnik. I recommend a walk along the city walls, a trip up in the cable car and organised tours into Bosnia and Montenegro (via Lea Travel in Dubrovnik @ 290 kuna pp per trip). We visited Mostar in Bosnia (amazing!) and Kotor and Budva in Montenegro.

Room Tip: Ensure you upgrade from a standard room (with no sea view) to at least a Superior with balcony and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Arrived here on 5th May at 11am after 6am flight from Gatwick. Room was not ready, which we expected, but a wait of 5 hours until it was we did not expect. Or some very unhelpful reception staff who continually told us they had no idea when the room might be ready. It transpired a large conference were leaving that morning and were all late. No management to be found and no help from Thomson either did not improve our mood or the first impressions of this hotel or tour operator.
Overall the hotel is nice, but it was over-run for 3 days by another conference which spoiled the relaxed feel of the place and made getting a drink in the bar a major challenge.
The pool area restaurant and bar were not finished either, but looked like it would be lovely when completed. However for us that meant no relaxing by a quiet pool looking wistfully out over the Adriatic, but rather a view of sawdust, boxes, bricks and builders backsides which were considerably less pretty.
The hotel does have lots of plus points and is not far from the lovely city of Dubrovnic but in order to fully enjoy it make sure you go in high season, pay for a sea view and call ahead to make sure there are no conferences in at the time you plan to stay.
Oh and don't forget tour operators are as honest with the truth as estate agents.
(Thomson hang your head in shame)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Hotel Libertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.