We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Save Saved
You added Rixos Hotel Libertas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rixos Hotel Libertas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Amasya, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

there is nothing to say, the hotel has classical Rixos quality like the other Rixosses. Excellent staff, perfect rooms, and excellent restaurant. It takes about 15 minutes to the old town by walking. Rooms have perfect pool and sea view. Do not forget to use the hamam after swimming at the pool

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    201
    121
    34
    19
See reviews for
80
317
35
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

An awesome hotel with friendly staff! A 10-15min walk to old town but its beautiful with everything you need right there!
Indoor and out door pool! Jump off rocks into ocean and go snorkeling. After a nice walk through old town the bar down stairs stayed open late for us. The fitness center was nice with good equipment.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am not totally negative, but there are some to mention, management will maybe read and take some action.
I was there with my familly for new year (2012-13). Dubrovnik was beautiful and I will deffinitely return one day.
Our hotel room (1318) nice room with sea view was nice but, there was no lock on the balcony door, wind was coming in from the whole and very unsafe and balcony was accessible from the garden. Another small problem was the safe obstructed by the room's door. You had to wide open the room door to open the safe !!!
I asked to change the room because the balcony dor was not closing, but I was informed that the hotel was fully booked and did not have any spare room. Technical service did not have any spare lock to install, therefore could not help me. But when I said that I will give them a written notification keeping them responsible in case of any theft in the room, I was immediately given a new room (1221).
Lock in room 1221 was there but not functioning. In brief, it was repaired next day.
My garbage bin in the room was not cleaned during all my 4 days stay.
The weather was warm and stayed all four days in open air, but the beautiful bar balcony at the entrance floor was not even lit for clients prefering to stay there in the evening/night.
Generally the hotel was very dark and sad looking. Not what you expect for celebrating new year. The hotel needs a refit, in many places ceiling was stained by water infiltrations, wall papers also damaged.
As you can imagine, we all stayed at the hotel for just sleeping.
Apart from the above the staf was very kind and the hotel is well placed on the seaside at 15-20min walk from the old town. SPA was excellent.
To say the trouth I was dissapointed by the way this hotel was managed, next time I will probably try another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

For the fourth time we return to Rikos Libertas Hotel.
Why? Simply because everything is extraordinary-spa (especially Turkish bath and gym),variety of delicious food, beautiful view, friendly and professional staff that is available 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we will like to thank You so much for choosing our hotel Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik as your destination for the fourth time. We look forward for more and more excellent stays with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've just returned from Dubrovnik and spent 4 nights at R.Libertas hotel. It's a nice and modern place with magnificent view from the room as well as from the lobby. Service were very friendly and polite and they helped us to carry our luggage as soon as we parked in front of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, rooms spacious and clean with underfloor heating, spa center very good with small issue- smelly Sultan's bath, they have to fix it as soon as possible! I'd like to recommend Turkish bath, it is so relaxing and warm after the swimming at the inside pool which is also great but temperature could be much higher (approximately 22'). We didn't use gym which is next to the swimming pool but it looks modern and clean too. We had some good deal so didn't pay attention on some spots that you can easily noticed and which one can be easily fixed but all in all- we really liked our vacation there and definitely would like to return!!!

some small tips and other issues...

- regarding wi-fi, we were at 12 floor and had some problems with it so had to use cable
- cannot understand that bathroom has transparent glass? that could be a problem if you are traveling with your family/friends..
-room service for small sandwich is almost 40 eur??
-new years eve 100e/p.p??
-you have to walk to the old town almost 15 minutes, it was ok for me...somebody else would find it diff.so be aware of it
- have to say that Dubrovnik is too over pricey and do not enter for any cost at small tavern right next to the Orthodox church called ''Good food'' (silly name). SO distasteful food and unbelievable expensive..and to get things even worse - we didn't get a bill and guy who works there calculated it on some ancient keypad and turn it to me to see the final score!?? totally disaster!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for taking Your time to write this review.
We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that You would like to return. We are looking forward to meet You again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hi all,
Rixos Libertas is a great big hotel with interesting architecture and some good views to sea and rocks.
-The rooms are interesting and clean. No bathroom doors! Thats new, rights? But toilets have doors, so it was OK.
-80% of the rooms have a sea view, witch is great.
-The breakfast was more than excelent.
-Very good atmosphere at hotel (I was there during Christmas season)
- Air conditioner was working.
- Wi fi ONLY on reception floor. BUT there is a CABLE internet in every room.
- The hotel is about 20mins away from the old city, which is a bit poor, because public transport in Dubrovnik was unreliable (no signs on bus stops, no information at all). 20 min walk to the old city can be a bad experience no matter summer or winter.
-Inside pool and spa is good.
- NEVER stay on New Years Eve in this hotel. NEVER! Very poor food and show. Yes, breakfast is fantastic,but for some reason, Gala Dinner in New Years Eve is terrible (and expensive). The show on the old city streets is very good (but away from the hotel).
- The service was Ok, but if you pay for this kind of hotels, you have to get much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.First I want to thank you for the positive comments about the cleanliness of our hotel, breakfast and atmosphere.
Also, we are sorry that we didn't complete a positive experience at Gala Dinner in New Years Eve in line with your expectations. We've forwarded your comments and a new plan for a next New Years Eve dinner is in the process.
We hope that You will come back again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEDONA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here November 18, 2012, eleven nights. Did not go for weather, beaches or the sun. I am familiar with Dubrovnik, and worked in toursim when hotel was new (built in 1970). Rixos did some good touches, but structure, architecture and design cannot be changed. Five-star rating is not justified; this, not because the staff is not" smiling enough". Croatians, by nature, are not phony; I say this highly in their favour. They run the hotel with efficiency and care.

The views, which most of the descriptions describe as great. are just a view of the sea. Other hotels in Dubrovnik and Babin Kuk will make you fall in love with the Adriatic forever.

The problem of Libertas is in noise and sound of your neighbors. Rooms.average size, nicely appointed, true, are subject to noises of guests (mostly insesitive to others) comming and going in the middle of the night, conversations on the balconies, TV's in the next rooms, slamming the doors, and walking over you in rooms above you.

Thus: rates are reasonable, food is OK, service, in most cases, satisfacory, the view and the sounds of the sea are soothing, BUT, if you are a light sleeper (and earplugs do not help), this is not a place for you. In high season, much less so. Sound-proofing is non existent. This is a steal and concrete building and everybody-else's nights are also your nights.

Room Tip: top floor; otherwise location is not a significant factor here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about hotel Libertas Rixos Dubrovnik.
Also, we want to inform You that we do have rooms that are a bit distant. You just need to request a quite room. We sincerely hope that we would have an opportunity to welcome you back to hotel Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik in the nearest future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Hotel Libertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.