We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Marker

Save Saved
You added Hostel Marker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Marker
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Svetog Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 357 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was really happy with this hostel. I stayed here in June 2011. The staff were very helpful and friendly and would do anything to help. The location was perfect, just outside the old town but away from all the noise. Our room was perfect for what we wanted, nothing special but was very clean and had everything we needed. Out TV wasnt working but that wasn't very important anyway as we rarely used it. I would definately reccomend Hostel Marker to people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
18
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The staff at Hostel are super friendly and helpful which is great. We had a spacious room that was decently appointed, and air conditioning. The bathroom was nice but not great, though the water heater did the job. I would definitely say it was a good stay, though i wouldn't say screaming value. The location is nice, right outside the old city walls- gives you a chance to get out of the tourist zone if you'd like. I would certainly recommend, overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff in Marker are very helpful and friendly. However, this does not make up for the fact that the apartment we were provided with was not what we had booked. It was old fashioned and had no air conditioning. The apartment is quite well located(just outside the old town). For the price we paid, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the actual hostel, not some random apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

superb service, the room's clean, and marco - the guy who owns the apartment - is very kind and friendly. he gave us many tips on restaurants and they were all really good! he even came to the bus station nearby to show us the way to the hostel cause we were not sure of the way! we've had such a great time and we only had to spend little money to receive so-called 5-star service ;) it was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Hostel Marker was quiet, clean and very close to Dubrovnik's Old Town - it's really just outside the gates. For the money, it was a good choice and the owner was very helpful and friendly.

I traveled with my boyfriend, and the only problem we had was that the bed was two singles pushed together - with a slight gap in the middle. But that's not uncommon in Europe, so it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

On arrival to the apartment we were met by the very helpful and genuine Marko. He povided us with all the help and info we needed. Our apartment was self contained on 3 floors right beside a beautiful little harbour perfectly situated right outside the city walls. Luckily we had a little cove/beach 2 seconds away from the apartment and could drop back to the apartment as often as we liked.
The apartment was spotlessly clean with fresh white sheets and towels. It waws the perfect place to come back to after a day of touring around dubrovnik.

It is absolutely worth every penny and I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay there.

The perfect apartments for 4 fun-seeking Irish girls.

Thanks Marko


(on the other hand I saw some of the 'rooms' that were being let out for €37/night, and i wouldnt stay in them in a month of sundays. Just a word of warning)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ice_man_australia64
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Hostal Marker was amazing! The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The hostel is located close to several hot spots in Old Town but there is always something fun happening there as well! It's a good hostel, it's look like a home, i missed a place to chat, drink, have fun. But it's ok to people that like some thing calm.I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Marker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marker

Address: Svetog Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 357 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Marker 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town-50 m from the sea and 40 m from the historical main street Placa(Stradun). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hostel Marker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marker Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Marker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.