We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ariston Hotel to your Saves list
Ariston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Stawell, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for five night,,,,Stunning setting extremely comfortable. The cleaning staff are the best,,,,,,,,,helpful and accommodating. I agree with other reviewers,,,It's the friendly and helpful cleaning staff that make this Hotel a pleasant stay. My room looked out on the beautiful Jadran [Adriatic] sea. The buffet breakfast and dinner was delicious and tasteful, you can sit on a large terrace that face the sea. I love my stay at the Ariston Hotel,,,,,,,,,,,,but I am sorry to say that some [NOT all] front desk staff need a little bit more training in customer service,,,,,,,,,,perhaps the lovely cleaning lady from the third floor could train them, as I found her to be the most welcoming person in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: second and third floors have the best sea view,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    113
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
139
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a weeks' stay at the Ariston on half board. Weather was spectacular for October in 22-24C range, so worth considering if you fancy a late bit of sun.
Good check in, must have been upgraded to a big room with a huge balcony that had 2 sun loungers. shared balcony with another room. Only problem was they wouldn't let us have a parasol, as it was against safety rules - Surprisingly, the better room we shared a balcony with, had 2 parasol stands!! I think one was ours.
Rooms were cleaned well every day by a delightfully cheerful lady. New towels, toiletries, tea/coffee etc.
Good modern tv which you could connect a tablet to (HDMI) in order to watch own films. Only English channels were BBC world news, CNN and Sky News - nothing other than news available in English.
Hotel was quite empty, as you would expect at that time of year. Reception was always helpful. Internet provided free on a couple of pc's in the reception area which was nice touch.
All 4 hotels in the group next to each other. Neptune was tower block size and supposedly 4 star. Ariston, Royal Palm and Royal Princess all supposedly 5 star but not compared to London ratings.
Nice terraces and small pools in hotel grounds. Across 'road' to restaurant serving buffet meals. Road is a coastal pathway going through hotel grounds allowing road access to the super expensive 5th hotel the Villa Elita. Bar 'On the Rocks' has very pleasant staff, comfortable chairs and overlooks the sun bathing areas and has the 2 pools below. Large tv for football / sports showing each night.
Breakfast good selection of cold and hot food, salads,etc. Only poor comments would be they need to actually serve tea and coffee manually rather than allowing 3 machines to dispense sub standard drinks, when they worked. Also only one machine to toast bread - surely 2 would be minimum. Lovely exterior seating area overlooking sea. Excellent staff clearing tables and taking orders for different types of eggs.
Evening meal was essentially edible. On one or two occasions there were dishes which could be considered worthy of a 3 star. All buffet again. Soups were bland. Good salad selection but hot meals really not good. After speaking to another couple who stayed at the Royal Princess and ate in their a la carte restaurant plus the 'Mediterranean' buffet (our restaurant) plus 'Zoe' a la carte, they also felt meals were poor.
We walked to Levant restaurant which is just past the Villa Elita on the coastal path and this is a family restaurant overlooking the sea. A little more expensive but definitely worth it. If you continue on this path, there is the More hotel -not especially good food either but lovely bar below pathway and then in 10-15 minutes you reach Lapad beach and a pedestrianised strip of bars and cafes. I'd hate to think how busy they would be in the peak season. Supermarket and cinema up the hill to the right as you enter strip. They show films in original language and use sub titles so lots in English.
Recommend getting Dubrovnik travel card and entry pass from reception. 220 Kuna for 7 days. You can buy 1 and 3 days as well. 150 Kuna of this is for 20 journeys on the buses. The rest is for entry to 8 museums etc. Well worth it as entry to the walls surrounding the city is 90 Kuna. There is a bus running every 10 minutes from just across the road and up a small path to the bus stop just before you enter another hotel complex with shops restaurants etc. Looks to be mainly flats / condominiums with a couple of hotels. Building work is going on so it looks like you are heading for it as you leave the Ariston hotel foyer and head directly across the road.
Stop half way to the old town at the top of the pedestrianised strip. There is a restaurant a hundred yards or so down the road opposite. Serves wonderful pizzas and other food. Much cheaper. Mainly locals.
Overall the hotel is modern, clean, very quiet, good rooms, lovely staff, good facilities including indoor pool (very small) sauna etc but needs a new chef! Would I go back - Definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of each floor as they have hot tubs in some with shared balconies. 1229, 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife & I have just completed a week's stay at this lovely hotel. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, judging (as it turned out correctly) that we would not be too far away from some excellent restaurants.
Our room looked out onto the Beatiful Adriatic. We found the room absolutely spotless & missing nothing. One tip to pass on for others would be that there is not milk left in the room for teas/ coffees, however I picked a small carton up from the bar man in reception & this was then kept in the refrigerated mini bar in our room.
The staff were superb, always smiling, always helpful & there was a genuine feeling that they were happy to assist.
Dubrovnik was blessed with sunshine during our week so we were able to take advantage of this by spending some of our time on the well served sunbathing area, diving off the rocks into the Adriatic - if you forget your snorkel the attendant keeps a couple of spares with his towels.
All in all a fabulous week. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a chilled out week. We probably got the time of year for the visit about right also as I understand that height of summer season can be extremely busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days with a a family. Rooms are big, nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom big and cosy to use.

The beach is maybe a bit to rocky, but they have arranged it in a way that is suitable for everyone. Pool is nice as well. The wellness area is a bit small so you don't want to select this hotel if you intend to spend time in saunas...

Breakfast is very good and food selection above the average for 4 stars.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice staff, upon arrival for a 5 day stay, we discovered that our room had only a partial view of the water and we requested a change to a full view room that was accommodated the following night. the room was spacious with a modern bathroom. An International breakfast (wide array of excellent offerings) is served. The hotel also is across the street from the bus station in Lapad which is very convenient to get to the Old City 20 min. ride, you can buy tickets at a discount at the front desk. In addition, the exchange rate from Dollars to Kunas was also very good compared to exchange offices in town. If you are interested in having the concierge take care of your restaurant reservations, they are very accommodating. The beach is very different as it is really "On the rocks" with spots that have been flattened and paved to walk down to the water and for beach chairs and umbrellas. On most of evenings prior to going out to dinner we had drinks at the On the Rocks bar which had great views and friendly service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a full water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bregana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We decided to re-visit Dubrovnik again this year after enjoying our time here last year. This time we stayed in a seaview room on the 2nd floor of Ariston hotel, which is next to the Royal Palm where we stayed last year. After spending 5 nights in the centre of Rome, we enjoyed relaxing in Dubrovnik for 4 nights to further explore the Old Town and surrounding areas. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious while the views were breathtaking. Breakfast at the buffet restaurant is much better than last year, mainly because they now have pancakes. Will stay here again during our next visit to Dubrovnik!

Room Tip: Seaview room is well worth the extra money. Nothing like waking up to the sound of the sea and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel Ariston is a cluster of 4 hotels on the coast, great cocktail bar and sunsets at the end of each day, the Hotel room was big, clean and had a great bathroom and awesome power shower. Location great and buses easy to get into old town and harbour areas, but the tickets at reception, you will need two tickets one for each way for each person, if you are there for a 3-day break then the Dubrovnik Card is great and covers all transport, city wall and museums, good value. I would recommend Elite Travel they book excursions and the day trip to Karluca was great, included Ston Walls, boat trip and wine tasting on the way back, well worth it.
Back to the Hotel, indoor pool nice and warm and breakfasts had everything you could think of, good spread and set you up for the day ahead. I have only rated this Hotel as average as the evening meals were not ideal, I was there 4 nights and only really had hot food on one night, as it is a buffett style meal service, it was an art to get the food hot enough on the hot plates and the selections not that good, even I do not like boiled cauliflower most nights :-((
Great Location, and good rooms, you need to ask for the tea and coffee for the rooms and milk from the cafe bar in Reception, as others have said the Reception is busy and does not offer any cozy welcome when the are very busy, the Hotel complex had over 10 coaches arrive one evening, so I can imagine the smile goes quite quickly.
Good Hotel for short break, old town, harour and island hopping, would go back, but only on a B&B choice. Croatia and Dubrovnik both fantastic, please visit and enjoy for yourself. x

Room Tip: Use the buses easy to use, get your tickets from Reception for your day out. Ask for a higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.