We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ariston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Aurskog
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at Ariston twice and we love it. This time we were 4 persons in a suite in the newbuilt part; Princess. Beautiful room and furniture and the view to the Adriatic and three tiny islands is amazing. Felt like coming home when we came back, and we will definitily return. Perfect for adults who want some comfort, but not too much stifness. We ordered a catch up at the airport, perfect! Easy to go to and from the old town, we used both bus and taxi. Try out a perfect restaurant just some minutes walk from the hotel, along the path into town: Restaurant More.

Room Tip: Suites with seaview in Importanne or Princess are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    102
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
125
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We found our hotel to be overall lovely - great location with beautiful Adriatic views, a short bus ride away from the craziness of the Old Town, accommodating staff, and terraces and pools to watch the sunset. The buffet breakfast was surprisingly good for the large numbers of people served. The Mediteranneo restaurant was just ok, but our server Tatianna was very good and went out of her way to come over and greet us at other times during our stay. The only issue we had is the concierges were young and inexperienced in regards to knowing good restaurants. I was steered away from Trip Advisor top rated restaurants to local, touristy type restaurants. I found Pia to be unhelpful. When I asked her to cancel a restaurant and make another reservation she seemed annoyed. When she tried to call the new restaurant I was told there was a technology problem with the phone and she said that it was only 5 min away so just go there. It was a Sat night so I wanted to make sure we had a reservation. She said she'd try to call them again and let me know. She never got back to me. Despite this annoyance, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A much needed break away from work, stunning setting, extremely comfortable, staff friendly, helpful and accommodating, could not ask for more.

It was so easy from start to finish, not far from Dubrovnik, but far enough that it felt away from the hustle and bustle, didn't really need to leave the hotel - which is not what I am normally like in a resort, but it was just so lovely right where we were. Food was great, and atmosphere was sunny and relaxed.

Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have been to Dubrovnik once before and love the old city. I decided to stay longer this time (3 days) and really take in, not only the city, but the activities as well. I stayed at Hotel Ariston with my girlfriend and was in for an absolute treat. The hotel made it very easy for us to take kayaks and Stand Up paddleboards out into the tame Adriactic Sea. We were also given a speedboat tour of the Elafiti islands, which is highly recommended!! On top of that, the rooms were clean floor to ceiling and the staff was professional, courteous and helpful when we asked where we should eat in the Old City. All around: great experience and no complaints. Will definitely stay here next time we come to Croatia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had 2 nights in Croatia and stayed here in August. The hotel was in a lovely setting. There was access to the sea via the rocks but was a bit of a challenge on the days we were there as it was a bit choppy. There were plenty of chairs scattered around the rocks to sit on and a bar service for drinks. It was also in a good location for exploring the old city. The bus was cheap and took you into the city and back in around 20 mins.
The hotel was average but the rooms were very spacious and clean. The food options were poor and too expensive but it was our only option. If I was staying longer I would eat in the city or elsewhere. Compared to hotels in the city, this was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was a enyoyable experience we will be back to stay a week ,the hotel staff were helpful,we had very good wireless internet,the room was big and the breakfast was good .it had two pools and you could swim in the ocean but be careful climbing down the ocean ladder.there was a public bus no 6 babin kuk which took 15 mins to get to Dubrovnik old town .
there is good walks along the water front which lead you to other eating places and beaches.
our room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked to stay at the Ariston hotel through the Jet2 company, having previously used Jet2 before - our holiday was a package deal at half board basis.
The flight and transfers went as usual very well without delay or problem and Jet2 seem to be be very well organised.
When we arrived at the Ariston we were told that we had been upgraded to the Royal Palm section of the hotel and were driven in a golf buggy to the reception of our newly appointed hotel by a member of staff.
We were shown the room (which was spetacular) and the view from the balcony, which was equally spectacular, we were then told that we would be taking breakfast at the "La Castille" restraunt and the "Mediterraneo" restraunt for our evening meal, all facilities were well demonstrated and overall we were suitably very and excited by the upgrade.
The room looked like it had been recently re-furbished and had that new smell about it - there was a small bathroom immeadiatley to the right on entering the room with a walk in shower, a kitchenette to the left with everything you would need, including a microwave, and a safe which was free of charge to use. you also had a large well furnished and decorated lounge area, with balcony and a very large bedroom with double glass doors to a sea view - both with large plasma TVs, and finally a further very large bathroom with bath and shower toilet and his and hers wash basins, all in all very impressive!
The next morning we set off to breakfast, which we had looking out to the sea on decking outside the restraunt with stunning views - the food selection was very good and of good quality but with one critisism - the hot food was always cold.
In the evening we dined at the Mediteranneo restraunt which has equally stunning views. it might be worth noting at this point that there is not a single large dinning room as in many hotels but seperate individual restraunts for the hotels. the food in the Mediteranno was very dissapointing due to poor selection, frozen food use and once again cold food - 5 star no not even 3!. we choose to eat out at a local restraunt on may occasions just have warm to hot food, if this hotel complex got its food right it would have been the perfect holiday, but over a two week period it did not- being served vegatables, potatoe croquets, breaded meats ( which were most likely to have been cooked from frozen is not 5 star).
However the pool area is very well maintained, clean and the staff are very polite and helpfull - getting a sunbed was never a problem, and clean towells are given out each day.
overall the Importanne resort is excellent but and a big but the food was poor particularly at the Mediterraneo restraunt.

The Area;
firstly when you arrive, you do not need to buy water - the tap water is perfectly safe to drink and bottle water cost a small fortune.

The bus service from near the hotel is excellent - but remeber to pr-buy your tickets from the reception, they are cheaper.

there is a small shopping area with bars and restraunts near the hotel which for some reason you are not told about. simply go the the bus stop and carry on along the path to the right for about 300m, you will find shops, bars and good eating at half the price, we ate at the Dubrava restraunt and it was excellent - the best steak ever!
The Fontana bar is also very good for snacks and drinks.

The no 6 bud will take you to Dubrovnik - which is stunning, dont forget to explore the small side streets and alley ways for a true feel.
We also went to Lokrum, which is a small island near Dubrovnik (the botanical island) dont waste your money, there is nothing there, instead go to Cavata by boat - it is stunning.

Room Tip: insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.