We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful dubrovnik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ariston Hotel to your Saves list
Ariston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Cork (Ireland)
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful dubrovnik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself, my wife and our 2.5 year old stayed in hotel ariston in early June 2013. On arrival, we were upgraded to a suite in the royal palace, one of the hotels within the importante complex. Our small lad had caught the vomiting bug the day before we travelled and was making a slow job of recovery. The hotel called a doctor that came to the hotel. He had great english and was a lovely with the little patient. Thankfully, he made a quick recover thereafter. The hotel has many pluses. 3 pools, although outdoor ones are cool enough in early June. Breakfast has plenty of choice. The beach bar has spectacular views. Path along the cliff to their hotels and restaurants makes for a lovely evening stroll. Bus service to old town or bus station is regular and only a short walk from hotel entrance. On the minus side.....wi-fi was non existant outside hotel lobby...they need to invest in a more powerful router. the lady that made my white russain put in way too much ice. Thats how petty my complaints are!!!!. Dubrovnik old town makes for spectacular scenery. The walk along the city walls will live long in the memory. We will be back again .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    116
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
57
142
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely hotel. I chose the hotel after reading the many positive reviews and for its location right on the coast. The hotel is exactly as shown in photographs. We stayed in a deluxe room with sea view and balcony (1202) on the second floor and the sea view was wonderful. Just off shore there is a small group of rocky islands which add interest to the view and there were loads of small boats and huge cruise ships coming and going. The room was large, air conditioned, spotlessly clean and had a big bathroom. There were tea and coffee making things and we just asked at reception every couple of days for milk which was no problem. All the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. One day our loo paper hadn't been restocked but after a quick call to reception a staff member was at our door within 5 minutes with new supplies. The bed was comfortable and the room nicely furnished. Also we slept well as it was lovely and quiet at night.

The hotel is part of the Importanne resort so there were 3 hotels sharing the facilities. Breakfast was served in one of the restaurants but because the hours were 0630 to 1030 it never felt over crowded. The restaurant has a wonderful terrace so you can eat breakfast whilst admiring the sea view. The food selection was good - cereals, fruit, hot food, toast, pastries etc. Some previous reviewers said that the hot breakfast was not so good but we found it to be ok. We also discovered that we could order freshly made omelettes or poached/fried eggs so it was not a problem. Coffee was obtained from machines but tasted fine and there were loads of tea bags available as well as sparkling wine and fruit juice. Great way to start the day. We stayed on a B&B basis which was fine as there are plenty of places to eat locally. There is a public footpath which runs through the resort so the walk into nearby Lapad is very easy (10-15 minutes) and as the path is along the coast the view is lovely. The resort also has two a la carte restaurants and a buffet style restaurant.

The beach bar was a cool oasis when the heat became too much - the staff were friendly and the food and drinks were good too. The resort has three pools - two salt water pools down near the sea and a small fresh water pool in the garden area. There was also an area of sea for swimming marked by floats and ladders for access. The sea was crystal clear and marginally warmer than the pool water! There were plenty of sun beds and parasols but unfortunately there was still a bit of a problem with people reserving sun beds. However the lifeguards were pretty good and would remove the towels if the people didn't show up within a reasonable time. In fact the lifeguards were excellent as they were only too happy to help out with moving parasols and locating extra sun beds if needed. During the last couple of days of our stay it became a bit windy so the lifeguards kept a close eye on the parasols. Everywhere throughout the hotel, in the gardens and by the pool and beach area was very clean and well kept.

The hotel is about 4 or 5 Kms away from the old town but this wasn't a problem as the No 6 bus runs from right near the hotel to the bus terminal near the Pile gate. The journey into town takes about 15-20 minutes and the buses run frequently. Tickets can be bought from the tour desk in the hotel, the ticket kiosk at the Pile gate terminus or from the driver. The old town is beautiful but due to the number of cruise ships which visit it can become very crowded. It was great to come back to the quieter area of the hotel after a day in the old town. We bought a 1 day Dubrovnik card for 139 Kuna from the tour desk in the hotel which included return bus journeys. It worked out to be good value as the cost to walk on the walls was 90 Kuna per person and entry to the Maritime Museum and the Rectors Palace were each 70 Kuna per person to visit - these were all included in the Dubrovnik card as well as some other museums.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and the excellent weather certainly added to the experience. Dubrovnik is a wonderful place and we will definitely return and will stay again at the Ariston Hotel.

Room Tip: Having a room with a sea view far outweighs a garden view and a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor will pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just back today from hotel ariston. I cannot fault anything about the hotel. It was spotlessly clean with the most ideal location in the area. The views of the sea are breathtaking. Staff all very friendly & helpful. Pools were all lovely, although very cold at first. Access to the sea from poolside & more than enough sun loungers and space for sun bathing. I would defiantly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday, maybe not the most ideal place for kids. Dubrovnik was also stunning with lovely restaurants & bars, would highly recommend Gill's Bistro, food & wine were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Like the last reviewer, we stayed in room 1224. It was spacious, well furnished, immaculately clean with a great view of the sea. The towels were changed every day and we enjoyed having the bathrobes and slippers.
We stayed on a B and B basis as we like to eat out at different places. The breakfast was fine, if a little same-y, and there was enough choice to keep us both happy. A separate menu appeared on the tables about half way through the week with a good selection of dishes to order. We both tried the smoked salmon omelette and it was so good, we had it the next day as well.
There were a couple of small niggles which prevented me from rating this hotel as 'excellent'. The hotel provided a kettle and cups in the room but no tea, coffee or milk. Reception sent some up to us very quickly on request but we had to keep asking on subsequent days. We got tea and coffee but never any milk so had to buy our own from the mini market. On a couple of days, fresh towels were provided but the used ones not taken away.
Whatever, these are small issues in the scheme of things and, if we ever return to Dubrovnik, I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had initially booked to stay at the Neptun Hotel taking up the option for a sea view room but on arrival were given a fab room (1307) in the neighbouring Ariston Hotel, which together with the Royal Palm and Royal Princess form part of the Importanne Resort.
The Ariston and Neptun share the same reception area, dining room/restaurant, bars, pools and beach so it's probably a matter of choice and view which one you plump for but the sea view is better than the car park.
The room was spacious and well equipped with a nice balcony area and the bathroom was clean and all in working order although the shower was a bit lively and the bath was the deepest I've seen. Maid service was daily and very thorough with clean towels etc.
The pool/beach area is quite tight and I can imagine it would be chockablock in the summer but the diving platforms and steps out of the sea make it worth a spin in the Adriatic if you don't fancy one of the fresh water pools.
We took the half board option and overall the food was very good. Breakfast offered the usual array of hot and cold buffet, fresh meat and bread, fresh fruit, cereals etc and its all help your self. Dinner had the staples - meat, chicken, fish, veg in different guises each night but generally very fresh and appetising and better than some of the limited local eateries (first time eating out I've been charged for condiments!)
Drinks are more expensive in the hotel than outside 30 kuna a pint and 36 kuna for a 150ml glass of wine. If you want a cheaper night out either jump on the bus to the Old City or take the scenic walk to Lapad which tales about 15 minutes. The bus costs 15 kuna each way and you can buy tickets for the bus and the 1, 3 or 7 day Dubrovnik card at the hotel reception.
Lovely place overall and I would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra you may have to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently visited this hotel for a girlie trip. There were six of us and we book 3 x twin rooms. On arrival we were upgraded to suites which were fabulous! Staff were great nothing too much trouble.
The bus goes from just outside hotel to harbour and old town.
Went slightly out of season so some of bars weren't open but hotel arranged for taxis to take to the harbour area in the evening where we went to various restuarants and bars!!
Would recommend hotel.

ONly downfall was that the breakfast tended to be cold!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a complex of several hotels, side-by-side overlooking the sea. All the restaurants and bars onsite face the beautiful sea view. We booked 2 double rooms in this hotel and they gave us 2 rooms connected to a sitting room which was really handy. The rooms were quite large, nicely decorated and cleaned every day. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of food. Yes, there was random things like boiled cauliflower (?!) but then all the other standard hot & cold food you’d expect and fresh fruit too. There was a bit of a stampede for the tea/coffee in the morning as there were only a few machines but apart from that, it was well organised. There was a large outdoor terrace that could also be used at breakfast which gave fantastic views and was a big bonus.

We were there in late May, just before the season was starting. This was good because it meant Dubrovnik wasn’t over-run with tourists, however it did mean the restaurants lacked a buzz. That said, the two restaurants on site served very nice food, even if the wine was a little pricey. There were a few bar areas which served draft beer, wine and good cocktails. The staff were really friendly. Disappointingly the outdoor pools were closed as they were very close to sea-level and slightly stormy seas were washing into them. I think the hotel, and several others nearby, made a mistake in building the pools at such a low level. There was another small pool that we could use but it was directly overlooked by the reception area which was off-putting. The indoor pool & gym area is handy if the weather is bad but quite small.

The number 6 bus runs at regular times all day and takes about 20-30 minutes to get into Dubrovnik. Alternatively you can walk to local restaurants in Lapad and beaches. It is possible to walk into Dubrovnik but the second half of the walk is along narrow busy roads so not scenic.

Room Tip: If you're travelling in a group, ask for rooms that are connected by sitting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.