We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel with great views and handy for Dubrovnik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ariston Hotel to your Saves list
Ariston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Dubrovnik
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel with great views and handy for Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a complex of several hotels, side-by-side overlooking the sea. All the restaurants and bars onsite face the beautiful sea view. We booked 2 double rooms in this hotel and they gave us 2 rooms connected to a sitting room which was really handy. The rooms were quite large, nicely decorated and cleaned every day. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of food. Yes, there was random things like boiled cauliflower (?!) but then all the other standard hot & cold food you’d expect and fresh fruit too. There was a bit of a stampede for the tea/coffee in the morning as there were only a few machines but apart from that, it was well organised. There was a large outdoor terrace that could also be used at breakfast which gave fantastic views and was a big bonus.

We were there in late May, just before the season was starting. This was good because it meant Dubrovnik wasn’t over-run with tourists, however it did mean the restaurants lacked a buzz. That said, the two restaurants on site served very nice food, even if the wine was a little pricey. There were a few bar areas which served draft beer, wine and good cocktails. The staff were really friendly. Disappointingly the outdoor pools were closed as they were very close to sea-level and slightly stormy seas were washing into them. I think the hotel, and several others nearby, made a mistake in building the pools at such a low level. There was another small pool that we could use but it was directly overlooked by the reception area which was off-putting. The indoor pool & gym area is handy if the weather is bad but quite small.

The number 6 bus runs at regular times all day and takes about 20-30 minutes to get into Dubrovnik. Alternatively you can walk to local restaurants in Lapad and beaches. It is possible to walk into Dubrovnik but the second half of the walk is along narrow busy roads so not scenic.

Room Tip: If you're travelling in a group, ask for rooms that are connected by sitting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    119
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
146
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The only reason this hotel doesn't score 5 stars is because its not in the Maldives. We were B&B for a week and can only say that the rooms were roomy and spotless, the breakfast had everything I could ask for (except marmite). We ate lunch at the hotel a few times and it was lovely and reasonably priced. The pools (all 4) were fab, staff friendly and it really is a 30 second walk from the bus stop. I was a bit concerned about being out of town, but the buses were every 10 minutes and its cheaper to buy the tickets from reception. The rocky beach is lovely to chill out on (we went just before the busy season) and there's also a secluded cove around the corner that's worth a visit. I'd definitely consider staying here again, and I definitely want to visit Croatia//Dubrovnik again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We only stayed here for 3 nights and wished we had booked for longer. It is situated about 3 miles out of the old town, in a lovely peaceful area right by the sea. We had a lovely big room, with a very large bathroom, and an even bigger corner balcony over looking the sea. The room was very clean and had a large kingsize bed, which was a bit soft for our liking, each to his own. There was no obvious tea and coffee making things, but we found a kettle and some cups in the bottom of the wardrobe, and I got the tea bags out that I had brought from home. The next morning when the room had been cleaned, the staff had left clean cups, along with tea bags and coffee, so you only need to ask if you want any.
We had a snack for lunch when we arrived, which was very reasonable, and the drinks are also a good price, not over priced like some hotels.
The staff were all very pleasant, and helpful,and spoke perfect English.
The "beach area" which is all areas on the rocks, with ladders going into the sea and a coned off area in the sea,with 2 pools close by and plenty of sun beds and beach towels, so you don't need to take your own.
To go into the walled old town, the number 6 bus runs every 15 mins until 1am, it costs just over £2 return, and is best to get tickets from reception as it is cheaper, or from the kiosk at Pile near the main gate in. When we arrived at the airport ,because we only had hand luggage we took the airport bus, only 35 Kuna, less than £3:50 each, which drops you at Pile then the 6 to the hotel.
Breakfast at the hotel was fine, buffet style, didn't think much to the cooked food, but plenty of choice in cold food, cereal, fruit, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses, juices and various breads.It was a large enough restaurant to seat every one, inside or on the terrace. We ate at restaurant Zoe one evening and had a lovely meal, the other 2 evenings we ate in town.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and would recommend to any one, we would love to come back one day, but this time for longer.

Room Tip: If you want a large balcony with a sea view and your own sun beds ask for room 1308, a corner room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uckfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for a week returned yesterday 4/6/2013 we arrived to be told be had been upgraded and had a suite and whilst the view wasnt great there were so many little nooks and crannies (outside) that you could sit and enjoy the view it didn't matter. One night we had no hot water and they came within 15 minutes and it was fixed within the hour. Milk is free we just asked at the bar for our teas and coffees in the room. Everywhere so clean and everyone so friendly. Lots of choice for breakfast but thehot food not as hot as I would have liked and was the same but I soon found out that you can ask for fried eggs or omelette and they will cook to order a good thing to know. We went into the old town nearly every night and such a great bus service and if you use the cable car may be worth going in the evening as we went at 7pm and there was only the two of us in the car great views I think this is better than being crammed in during the day and not being able to see anything and they are open until midnight. We also did the city walls in the evening too! that was fantastic and hardly any people we went about 6.30 last entry 7pm. Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: sea view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I originally made a reservation for the Ariston Hotel, but upon arriving there we we're placed in another hotel, Royal Princess, that was also a part of the Importanne Resort complex. The main reception seemed to be shared between Hotel Neptun and Ariston. Princess had it's own mini-reception and a separate main entrance. No problems here though, the staff made sure we were welcomed and transported us and our luggage to the neighboring hotel which turned out to be quite new. We were told it was their second season.

Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the sea. The ground floor (= the 1st floor) consisted of a restaurant and other facilities. Instead of a balcony we had a paved terrace running along the side of the hotel. This was shared with other rooms of the floor. This didn't bother us, since the terrace was very large and all the rooms had plenty of width. Plus they were staggered in comparison to each other, so you didn't have to sit next to your neighbors if you happened to stay outside at the same time.

Our rooms was a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette. It was really new, clean and fresh. Two bathrooms were both very nice, tidy and the master bathroom was extra roomy. Even the water pressure was good, a problem often found in these kinds of accomodations. Separate AC for both rooms was also a plus. We didn't need to keep them on for the night so I can't really speak for their loudness. Seemed to be OK though. Same goes for the general cooling power as it wasn't too hot during our trip.

Housekeeping was good, same goes for the information they had left in the room. Everything was in that usual folder and in English. Their Internet is done wirelessly. Unfortunately the range of the Wi-Fi station was a bit lackluster, we didn't get any signal to the outside or near it. My laptops antenna catched the signal a bit further away but cell phones had some trouble. The connection was quite slow too, but it did work for the most part.

Royal Princess has its own indoor pool, saunas, gym, restaurant that didn't serve breakfast and spa section. These we're all brand new and kept nice and tidy. The gym even had hand weights and a good mirror.

Breakfast was served at a restaurant in a separate building right on the beach. This was shared with the other hotels, supposedly atleast Neptun and Ariston. This was a regular buffet serving of various items. Myself, being more of a bacon-and-eggs -kinda guy was quite pleased. My travelling company gravitates more towards the fruit section and was let down by the pretty lackluster offerings of preserved and some over ripe fruits. Well the bananas, oranges and apples were good. In general I'd say the breakfast was a really good effort with a lot of good items and a lot of variety. The lack of fresh fruit was a definitive minus. The restaurant was a bit overcrowded and some items were out at times due to demand.

Next to the restaurant is a "Beach bar", basically a terrace overlooking the beach with steps leading down to the rocky beach. The beach itself was made into an actual beach by pouring concrete on the rocks and adding ladders to get to the water. They also have an outside pool here with a lot of beach chairs. You can get drinks and food from the bar. All in all this area was really nice. Good views, basically a private beach altough I figured anyone was allowed to come in. The prices weren't even that steep, with a 0.5L beer going for 30 kuna and a hamburger at 60 kuna.

Nearby there's a mall of sorts with other cheaper restaurants and some decent walking to be done. There's a beach bar on the other side peninsula with a variety of water sporting options. Seemed like the whole place is basically packed with hotels. A small walking road runs along the beach infront of the hotel complex. This leads to the start of the peninsula with some nice views along the way. The road didn't seem finished with some missing lamp posts and rough gardening here and there, but was still safe to walk on. A lot of nice terraces along the way too, the most memorable being the cave bar of Hotel More. At the start of the peninsula there's a touristy complex with another beach, walking street, restaurants etc.

A bus runs from close by the hotel all the way to the old town. The bus lines work nicely and the receptionists were sure to tell us everything about them and everything else in proper English. A taxi will set you back about 100 kuna for a one way ticket, where a bus ticket is 12 kuna from the reception (and from various other sources) and 15 kuna from the driver. Busses run all day long, though they we're quite packed most of the times with frantic queuing to get in. The hotel also had an option to rent a car the same way as youd call for a taxi. You pay at the reception and a car takes you to your destination. This proved out to be really handy. If I had known this beforehands, I would have asked them to come pick us up at the airport.

All in all I was quite pleased with our stay. The hotel was a solid effort towards a 5-star stay. I would have preferred to have the breakfast in a smaller space with less people to make it less of a hassle. I wish the neighboring area had been more finished, but I guess this isn't the hotels fault. The biggest upside of the stay was the room, which was more than enough for our needs and was even decorated very nicely. The terrace also got a lot of use and I really have to hand it to the Beach bar and the beach.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the garden view rooms over the sea view rooms no matter what your budget is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Despite initial reservations about the hotel being far away from the Old Town, it was clean. The staff friendly. With the Dubrovnik Card travel was easy. The bus was a two minute walk and promptly came every 15 minutes. Like clockwork.
The restaurant area was spacious with a great view. The quality of the food was good. There was a great selection at the breakfast buffet.
Definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

very good location about 3 miles from Old City which is easily walkable if you want, but bus service starts close to hotel. service from everyone at hotel was exceptionable, from reception to restaurant staff to cleaners.

only gripe would be the food in evenings which was buffet style and too much like a cafeteria, and with a lot of covers could be a bit of a "bun fight". Tables outside over looking the sea were nice and atmospheric, but if cold, the tables inside lacked character or atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a sea view on first floor and the view was excellent. lower down you might hear some noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.