We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - shame about the food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ariston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - shame about the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on a short break. Booked for fact it was 5 star and half board to take worry about where to eat out of the equation. The hotel is well signposted upon arrival to Dubrovnik once you follow the signs for LAPAD. Upon arrival the staff at reception were very helpful giving advise on places to visit etc.
The half board option is not available at lunch time, only in the evening. Being 5 star we dressed for dinner, only to be extremely disappointed. The restaurant was like a canteen with a help yourself buffet. There was a selection of hot dishes and vegetables to choose from but none were pleasing to the palate. Cheese and salad leaves was about all that was edibile. So if you do chose to stay here take the bus into the old town to find a huge choice of eateries.
Breakfast again was buffet style with cereals breads pastries and some strange tasting bacon/sausages.
The room itself was adequate, the best bit being the large balcony overlooking the sea and very well equipped bathroom. The room itself was looking a little tired but this maybe due to the time of year.
No tea or coffee facilities in the room so would suggest you take a travel kettle.
The indoor pool is much smaller than advertised which was disappointing.
I dont think I would chose to stay here again, but perhaps try the Hotel More a little further along the road which is 5 star and seemed to offer better eating facilities.
However if eating out you will be fine.
Places to visit are, Mount Surge, accessible by cable car, or in our case, steep climb by road, a very interesting war museum together with panoramic views at the top.
Ston, was about an hours drive towards Split and had what can only be described as a mini great wall of china surrounding the village, it is worth driving to see the wall alone.
Cavtat, a small harbour town towards the direction of the airport is also well worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    107
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
54
131
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here two nights with a group tour. The room access was not good, we need to carry our luggage to a staircase before the lift. After coming out from the lift, we need to go up a few steps up the stairs again before we could reach our room. It would not be easy for elderly guest or guest with big luggage.

We were quite disappointed to see our beds linen was rather old and off color( white became yellowish), we requested a double bed but the hotel just gave us twin bed joined together. The walls of the room also badly stained by luggage marks. Even the floor carpets and bed side tables could see dust particles, luggage stool and the sofa also dirty and stained. We complained to the hotel, they explained that they were overbooked. They changed the bed linens and did some superficial cleaning.

It is a pity this hotel has good location, can have breakfast with sea view but they should improve on the service quality in term of cleanliness and convenience. They should provide a ramp to pull luggage rather than expecting the guests to lift them through the staircases.

Overall we feel that the hotel is below our expectations in terms of cleanliness and room amenities. The hotel has nice open dining area with good sea view but the room is too basic and not very comfortable. This hotel fits those who like to enjoy the surrounding view and don't intend to spend much time inside the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 in a double room with a luxury sea view.
The room was great and it did have a wonderful view with terrific sunsets. Would have preferred 2 armchairs but coped ok!
The bathroom was good with a massive bath and power shower.
The website we booked on said there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, there were none in ours but reception kindly provided a kettle though they said they did not offer this service anymore. (We took our own teabags!).
The hotel was very clean. The maids, front of house staff and porter were all very polite and efficient.
We stayed B & B after reading the restaurent reviews. The breakfast was typical, cooked and cold buffet etc. The only none 5* element was the restaurent staff. No service whatsoever, I asked for a jug to put milk in and was gived a teapot. Dishes not cleared away, had to ask for spoons and forks everyday! Think the problem is training. This didn't spoil our stay, became a bit of a joke!
Hotel location was great, bus stop just outside. We bought a 3 day Dubrovnic Card for £180 kn very good value. As others said buy your bus tickets from the hotel or ticket booths they're cheaper.
Lots of restaurents in Lapad, we liked Mama Mia's, good value and service.
In the City watch out for cover charges we were charged £40kn for the privilege of a table. Try the coffee shops and restaurants in the side streets, much cheaper.
Ifyou just want a sandwich to eat try "TutteBene" in the Old town.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a seaview on at least the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived home last night after a fantastic 4 days. We booked a Romantic Sea ViewRoom and that is exactly what we got - a suite with lounge area with large flat screen TV (kitchen area too) 2 beautiful bathrooms one with separate shower, the other with large bath/shower, twin sinks and loads of luxurious toiletries. The bed was so big and they had put a heart made up of real red rose petals on it together with champagne (well sparkling wine) and chocs and a voucher for a spa treatment and another large flat screen TV in the room too. As we arrived in the dark we couldn't see much of the view but on waking the view from our balcony was to die for, absolutely fantastic.
The staff from check in to check out were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they all speak perfect English putting us to shame. As in previous reviews the hotel was ideally located for the local bus although we didn't find the little path which took us to the bus stop until day 2, it's almost opposite the entrance to Hotel Ariston but we were told to go right!! We used the bus twice a day and bought a 3 day Dubrovnik Cardfrom reception for 180 kn which allowed you unlimited travel and entrance to some of the museums, the walk around the old city walls and discounts at various shops and restaurants.
We realised we were in the Royal Princess part of the complex which the porter said was only 4 months old but everywhere in the hotel (and city too) was immaculate.
We only ate in the restaurant in the evening on the first night and it was OK, nothing special and the same we would say for the breakfast, plenty of fruit, cereals, yogurts, bread , cold meats and cheeses and they did hot food ie bacon (not that good), sausages (!) well done scrambled and boiled eggs, also grilled vegetables, rice,peas !!!!!! But we never went hungry. We returned every night to eat in The Old Town where you were spoilt for choice and we were never disappointed and we loved eating outside and soaking up the atmosphere.
The facilities at the hotel were great, 3 outdoor pools, 2 by the beach and the other which is where we spent some time was the infinity pool by the spa which we had to ourselves most of the time, there were plenty of sun loungers. In sun and shade and a lovely seating area next to it with wicker settees, chairs and tables. There was plenty of space everywhere! With undercover seating in the beach bar, plenty of seating outside reception on the balcony overlooking the sea. The free wi-fi was useful too.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay which followed a party for our 40th Wedding Anniversary at home and one in a hotel and completed a really pleasant time and a holiday we will remember for a long time to come. We would happily return.

Room Tip: The Romantic Sea View Room was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and 4 year old daughter and I were here for a week in June 2012. It was our little girl’s first time outside the UK, and we had a wonderful time.
The hotel was superb. We had a family room with a double bed for us and a single bed for our daughter. The room was huge, luxurious and clean. The bathroom was lovely. The balcony had a nice view of the parkland opposite and even though it was not a sea view room, because the hotel is on a peninsula, we had a view of the water.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful the whole time we were there. The breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room was very nice, including a large shaded terrace with sea views. We did not eat evening meals at the hotel.
There are 3 pools. 2 are salt water (but still very nice) and small fresh water pool is lovely and much quieter – our little girl learnt to swim without her arm bands!
There is no beach at the hotel, but there are steps down into the sea and you can swim safely in the sea next to the hotel.
The hotel is a short bus ride from central Dubrovnik and the buses are cheap and go very regularly from just outside the hotel. Better still is the pleasant walk down to the local suburb of Lapad. It is a nice walk down a path above the water and takes maybe 20 minutes to walk into Lapad, where there is a large choice of bars and restaurants, a nice (but stony) beach, a lovely kids’ playground, a good supermarket and all local amenities.
We had more or less the best holiday ever at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. It is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is in a great location with stunning views of spectacular sunsets! There is an excellent regular bus service into the city which runs until 1am and it's not expensive. If you buy your ticket from the hotel, it works out slightly cheaper. Also, if you are going to visit some of the ancient buildings/museums, you should buy a One/three/five day pass, which includes bus journeys. You need a ticket to visit the City walls and that is included and a wonderful experience! It is based on a one way system and there is a North and South route - it was so busy at around lunch time, that we only managed the South section. I reckon all the Cruise ships bring their tours in at around mid day! The cable car up to the War Museum is worth a visit, with excellent presentations on the Homeland war - very moving and so fresh in the minds of the residents... The walk to the base of the cable car is not easy and there were few signs, but persevere!
Back at the Hotel, our room was extremely comfortable, clean and modern. There was a lack of drawers, but plenty of hanging space and a good size safe, big enough for a small laptop. No tea/coffee making facilities, but a well stocked fridge. The water is safe to drink. We had a large bathroom with big bath, power shower, bidet etc. and plenty of towels, changed regularly.
There were plenty of sun beds and parasols and towels are available. A good choice of pools/steps into the sea. The pool bar had a nice choice of snack meals and they were presented well. There are plenty of places to walk to, in either direction along the footpaths, although these can be rather rough and not always well lit at night. Reception/porters are very helpful and our Cosmos Rep, Joseph, went out of his way to give suggestions of things to do/places to visit, rather than simply selling the Company Tours. We enjoyed the Three Island Cruise.
The only thing that let this Hotel down was the Restaurant; this is due to the fact that it is used by The Neptune and the Apartment block in the same group. It feels a little like a cattle market at times. The staff are very good and try to keep the individual guests apart from the large tour groups, but they can make it feel like a large canteen. The food was varied and fairly typical of a Buffet selection. At breakfast you could order fried eggs/omelettes etc, which were not on display.
We were there for the last week of September and I would not like to be there in the main summer months, simply because I think the restaurant would be bedlam!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We didn't and our room was very close to the main entrance and we could her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently spent our honeymoon in Dubrovnik, Croatia...We stayed in the 5 star Ariston Hotel..This complex consisted of 4 different hotels and one holiday villa....From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were met with very friendly and helpful staff....The hotel was spotless...We got upgraded to a suite which was massive and really lovely....The hotel was set beside the sea and with absout breathtaking views....For breakfast their was a huge selection of both hot and cold foods and there was even a few bottles of champers on ice for guests to enjoy with their breakfast..it was pretty nice...There was a self service dinner in the evening that was alright but there is nicer food to be had closer by....There is a bus stop about a 2min walk from the hotel and that brings u right into the old city and leaves every 3-5min and is well worth it and runs late enough to...We got the 7day dubrovnik travel card for about 30 euro and that got u 20 bus rides and entry to some museums in town..worth it if ur there for 7 or more days....The bar on site was reallt well stocked with a great selection of drinks and a great cocktail menu aswell....There was plenty of sun loungers available everyday and they even gave u a towel....There is a little hiden path at the end of the complex near villa elita that is def worth a stroll down as it leads u down to the locrum beach area..there are lovely restautrants and bars along this routes and only takes a few mins to walk and is well lit at night....the hotel dont mention this to u as they would perfer if u stayed on the complex to eat and drink in their bar and restaurtant....There is also a desk open in the lobby area from 2-10pm every day that will give u info on trip or things to do..we book our trip to montenagro there and the girl was verk helpful....there is two lovely beaches just a short walk from the hotel that are well worth a walk to..they werent overly busy and there is plenty of watersports available in the area and there are places to eat and drink there as well...Overall we had a very pleasent stay and will def return again in the near future and will stay in the ariston again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.