We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, probably won't return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aquarius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aquarius to your Saves list
Hotel Aquarius
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4a Mata Vodopica, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, probably won't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel when Hotel Dubrovnik had an issue with my room. Stayed 2 nights after a cruise down the islands. Any proper bed was heaven after the tiny thing I was sleeping in for a week, so I can’t be too objective!
Stayed in a Villa room (not sure why it’s called a villa, its just another building of the hotel). Room was small and dark, but comfortable and clean. Bathroom was large and modern. Internet did not work in room, had to go to lobby, where it was intermittent.
Staff very helpful and friendly, sometimes missing (off smoking somewhere). 20 minutes late with wake up call, luckily I wasn’t in a hurry.
Location ok… short walk to bus stop, but harder with luggage!
Breakfast included, but sparse.
Will definitely be returning to Dubrovnik (Croatia is amazing), but will choose a hotel either in Cavtat (closer to the airport) or nearer Old City (where everything interesting happens).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The location is ok for Lapad but expect a 70kn taxi to the old town (where you will want to spend 95% of your time). For the price, we found the room quite bad. Sheets had holes and no fitted sheets. We got two twins when we booked a double bed. The towels were small and old. Staff was misleading about costs to get around. They underestimated cab fare to the old town by 50% and over estimated airport cab fare by 20%.

The rooms were in general worn and dirty. I would have expected much more for the price (140 euro for one night).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed at the Aquarius early June for 5 days. Delightful location, away from the throngs of tourists is "old town" Dubrovnik. A 15-20 minute cheap bus ride away. A close block off of a pedestrian way lined with restaurants and outdoor cafes, all the way to the Adriatic and swimming beach (10 minutes walk). Quiet, comfortable, clean and great breakfasts. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We arrived at hotel and they had no room for us. We booked the room in May but they didn't have our reservation so they moved us for 1 day in another hotel. We came back the next morning and vaited for the room til late in afternon and then we vere moved send time to their villa. The third day we finaly got a room at hotel but it was dirty The reception staff was wery rude, no apology for moveing us 3 times.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Unfriendly staff, and sometimes the front desk is not manned. When checking out we had to go find the staff (smoking in the kitchen) to be able to leave. We also ended up with bites from the bed and no hot water. We asked for a double bed and ended up with 2 twins. Breakfast was a disaster, sometimes fruit and yoghurts running out. For the price we paid, we could have found better accomodation and friendlier staff

The good side was location was convenient but not close to a sandy beach. Plenty of restaurants nearby, supermarket and corner shops and short bus ride to old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

There is an advertising slogan in the UK which promotes paints and varnishes by saying that they do “exactly what it says on the tin”.

This philosophy would perfectly sum up this small and reasonably priced (for Dubrovnik!) hotel in the Lapad area between the Post Office and the small beach.

It is 3 Star so do not expect luxury rooms with sea views, swimming pools, fitness centres, haute cuisine or any of the other benefits that you get, and pay for, at the 5 Star establishments.

What you do get is an efficient, quiet and comfortable place to base yourself for your holiday.

The rooms are adequate, many have balconies and a few at the front of the hotel overlook a pleasant garden with seating where you can enjoy a coffee or a beer after the exertions of the day. My room at the side of the building was fiercely air conditioned with a mini-bar (that was never restocked!) and a small en-suite containing a hydromassage shower.

The buffet breakfast is in the usual continental style although with orange/grapefruit squash rather than proper juice. Although the hotel does serve dinner, there are many restaurants and cafes nearby if, like me, you prefer to eat out but don’t want to go into the Old City every night.

A five minute walk up the nearby pedestrianised street towards Lapad Post Office will bring you to the bus stop to catch the Number 6 to the Pile Gate. There is a small kiosk here where you can buy advance tickets for 8Kn per journey of up to 1 hour, although this only seemed to be staffed during weekdays.

At times, this bus can get very crowded and you might have to stand for the 10-15 minute journey. Busses run every 15 minutes until after midnight. Most of the Coach excursions will also pick you up at this bus stop. There is also a taxi rank next to the bus stop.

Lapad Beach is a few minutes walk in the opposite direction and there are good walks around the bay and the peninsular.

In conclusion, a hotel with a few irritating features but generally it is good value for money and well placed for exploring the local area.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Our reservation at Hotel Aquarius was made fairly late on, and was based largely on it's competitive nightly rate when comparing with other Dubrovnik hotels. That the other were so expensive may have had a lot to do with just how busy they were, as the old city seemed to tbe teeming with tourists (top tip: if at all possible avoid Dubrovnik during high season month of August - too many people, plus very hot).

First, the positives: staff at reception spoke very good english, free internet access from lobby (though wi-fi was not working), 5 minute stroll to okay (if ordinary) beach, 2 minute walk to bus stop and supermarket, close to selection of quiet bars/restaurants.

On the negative side, the hotel is located some distance from the old historic city (where most tourists will want to head if not content with the beach), and certainly further than the average tourist will want to walk. The old city is served by the number 6 bus, however this route was extremely popular, and the frequency of the buses was very unpredictable, leading to very overcrowded buses (think the London Cental Line in rush hour when there's a 15 minute gap between trains!).

Even allowing for the fact that this is a 3-star hotel, it wasn't as clean as it might have been. The floor in the breakfast room didn't appear to have been swept during our 4-night stay, and indeed no-one seemed bothered when a cat wandered in and made itself comfortable under a table. Even the grand path and steps leading into the hotel looked as if it was some time since they had been swept clean. Also, the decor is pretty dated and drab throughout the hotel.

In summing up, I got the impression that this hotel has the potential to be so much better than it was, even operating as a 3-star establishment. The staff, while pleasant enough, didn't look happy or especially bothered to be there. With a bit of new life and energy, this could really be a good little place, however in it's current state, I can't see people wanting to return year after year..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquarius

Address: 4a Mata Vodopica, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquarius 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik is a 3 star hotel opened in May 2006.This particular hotel is an ideal place for relaxation and enjoyment, located in the center of Dubrovnik and immersed in Mediterranean greenery. A sandy beach is situated 350m from the hotel, and the historical city center is only 3km away. With its luxurious interior, a natural and relaxing environment, as well as pleasant atmosphere, it impresses even the most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.