We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GVA Villa Argentina

Save Saved
You added GVA Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GVA Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   14 Frana Supila, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 359 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back from Duvbrovnik having stayed half board in this beautiful hotel in an idylic location. It is a ten minute walk from the Old City, one word of warning however the return journey is uphill so some might find it difficult. Breakfasts are very good with lots of choice. Dinners also very good but sometimes it took a long tim to bring the food having placed our order. Rooms confortable ours was with a sea view and beautiful views. A small sea water pool but steps into the sea for those who wish to swim in it and much warm. There are many steps from the pool area to the toilets so again those who have walking difficulties the pool is not to be recommended. Staff very friendly and Richard at reception was the best. Hifghly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room on the seventh floor for great views, ours was 719.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Villa Argentina's strongest point is it's location just 7 minutes walk to the old town. We stayed in the annex Villa Glavic across the road. To get there incurred climbing a long flight of steps to the entrance and our room was on the third floor with no elevator. This was not a problem for us but might be for others not so mobile. The male functionary who checked us in was not welcoming. Our room was small and well equipped and had a good size bathroom but the television remote did not work and the bath plug was faulty. We reported this to the female receptionist who was charming and helpful. The swimming pool and attendant service was excellent. The breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Villa Argentina is nicely situated at walking distance from the old town of Dubrovnik. Some of the rooms are very tiny. Also the service can be improved. Well worth a visit is the outside pool which is sometimes just overflown by huge ocean waves.

Room Tip: You can talk a room in the adjoining guest house. Be sure not to accept 3. Floor. There is no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had just a couple of nights to stay in Dubrovnik and picked the Argentina off the Internet, not knowing what to expect. Now I'd rate it one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in, and we've traveled a lot. It's built into a cliff about a 5-minute walk from the walled old city. From the terrace where you are served the included breakfast you have an eye-popping view of this ancient city. Many of the rooms in the hotel look out over the cliff at the blue-black Adriatic and the old city. An elevator takes you down to not just a pool but a place where you can jump into the sea and then climb back in over the rocky lip.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the annex across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is wonderful, the best location, walking distance of the old center, excellent breakfast, very nice beach area, nice staff, very comfortable rooms. It only lacks of having wifi access in the room, you need to go to the lobby to use it. When you are traveling on vacations, and you want to talk to your family through skype or post pictures, having to do it on a hotel lobby is very unpleasant!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My partner and I herd lots of good applause for Croatia and thought let's see what the fuss is about.

We took 11 days starting in Split then Huvar with a night on Korutula ending in Dubrovnik for 5 days.

We had a great time everywhere, the people and places a joy.

GVA was unfortunately a let down, it is certainly not 5 star! The rooms air-conditioning terrible, the room outdated and staff, bar the bell boys, unhelpful. The service is slow and unfriendly.

If you want a great pool with a great view then this is the place for you, I would recommend finding a deal though, as at the price we paid it was not what we are accustomed to nor what we experienced throughout the rest of our trip.

In general. Not 5 star but 3. Poor service. Poor Rooms. Great pool.

Dubrovnik itself Fantastic just stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We spent 7 nights at this marvellous hotel in early July. the weather was exceptionally humid so the air conditioning (throughout the hotel and very effective) was essential to a comfortable stay.
All of the staff were courteous and helpful and when we discovered that the remote on the television was faulty a man was on the doorstep in less than five minutes, batteries in hand, to fix it quietly and efficiently.
The area by the sea was a great place to sunbathe and take an occasional dip whiolsy watching the boats go by across the bay.
The only downside was the ciost of eating in the restaurant - however we soon discovered several excellent alternatives for dinner in the old town of Dubrovnik.
In summary , a great hotel offering excellent service and facilities!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GVA Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GVA Villa Argentina

Address: 14 Frana Supila, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 359 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — GVA Villa Argentina 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your GVA Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GVA Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.