We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House Hotel on the Adriatic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Glavic Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Glavic Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14b, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Country House Hotel on the Adriatic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This villa is an add-on to the Grand Villa Argentina hotel across the street and this is where all of the hotel amenities are located. The amenities at the GVA are pretty good. The breakfast buffet (included) is excellent, served on a large shaded terrace with spectacular views overlooking the sea. The selection is good and it even has a sparkling wine station so you can mix-your-own-mimosa with breakfast. The pool area at sea level is well laid out with comfortable loungers, an infinity pool and steps in to the sea for swimming, but no actual "beach". There are a few bars and restaurants at different levels - I found the drinks in the bars to be very overpriced (even more so than Dubrovnik which can be expensive in itself) which discouraged our group from staying in the hotel in the evening to sample the dinner offerings. There is wifi throughout the hotel and villa.

The walk to Dubrovnik old town is a pleasant 10 minute stroll on a slight hill (downhill to town, uphill back to the hotel). The road has some one-way traffic but it's not manic and the sidewalk, while narrow, is partitioned off by bollards to create a barrier from passing cars and buses. It's quieter on this side of the old town than the very touristy north end, and I preferred being in this location. I loved visiting the old town so made the journey often; it's beautiful to walk around and you will be spoilt for dining choices.

Villa Glavic itself is up a few steps from the road and has no elevator but there will be a fit and strong valet on hand to get your luggage where it needs to be. In terms of decor, the villa is more like a country house hotel in Britain than something you would expect to find on the Adriatic coast - thick carpet and drapery, dark wood and deep colours - not sun glinting on white tile with flyaway curtains dancing in the breeze. That aside it's clean and comfortable, quiet and dark; everything you need for a good nights rest.

I'd recommend Villa Glavic to anyone with the exception of those with walking difficulties since the incline from town and the volume of stairs may be a little much.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LikeItIs-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear LikeItIs-Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review of Villa Glavic. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities that contributed to the pleasantness of your stay. We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our third stay in the Villa Glavic, everything the same no problems at all. Easy access to the Grand Villa Argentina for breakfast and the pool area! The weather during our stay was very mixed so was able to us the indoor pool area to continue our relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cemSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear cemSouthYorkshire,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of Villa Glavic and for beeing our valuable guest for years. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities that contributed to the pleasantness of your stay.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Highly recommended, but do pay the extra for the room with the balcony and view!!! The hotel across the street has a superb terrace with a spectacular view and the breakfast there is great. Combining the quiet Villa Glavic room with the breakfast and pool side at the Grand Villa Argentina is really a winner!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppi i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Poppi I,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of Villa Glavic. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our breakfast. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a part of the Grand Villa Argentina complex and I am actually happy we did not stay in the main building. Yes, the access is quite steep and may be an issue for someone with health problems, but there is less noise, it is not so crowded and the corner room that we got is just wonderful - never got a room so big in a hotel if it wasn't a junior suite.

The decor is classic but not tired. If you wish, you can access all the amenities in the main building which we promptly did. The only issue I had was the temperature of the hotel outdoor pool - for some reason even in the middle of the summer it is freezing cold. Pool service was impeccable though.

The spa is worth recommending (heavenly massages) and so is the restaurant. The chef is French and you can see the French flare in the menu, but it is not your typical cuisine. I had dinner there, came back for lunch and left enchanted with my meal both times. Yes, the pricing is outrageous, but that is everywhere in Dubrovnik. I miss you, Villa Glavic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NATinCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Villa Glavic for your stay and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our hotel room was clean and pleasant. It had views across the road of the Villa Argentina; the sister hotel, whose facilities we could use as guests at the Glavic. They were fantastic -- indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, and an outdoor pool area with loungers from which you could get into the sea via some steps or (more fun!) a running jump... Just amazing. There were wonderful views from the restaurant towards the old town, and the food was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I booked this room on Hotwire, the discount was just modest, but I am glad I did, as everything in Dubrovnik is so expensive, artifical high prices for trourists, the locals could never afford anything at these prices, lets be real?!? I stayed at the less expensive section of the complex, but you have access the entire amenities of the Argentina hotel, and thats what makes this a great value. The Argentina hotel has a phenominal pool on the adriatic, a nice spa, and wonderful buffet breakfast, and I only paid $265 a night all inclusive with internet included. I had a nice room facing the wall because my rate was so low (even though I asked not to, the young pretty girl at the desk was using her power to not let me have a sea view at this rate), but I did get on a higher floor and had some sky view in the bathroom and a side view of the Adriatic, which was nice. Be careful to know, this hotel is a walk up, so unless you are on the first floor you will be climbing stairs. Thsi hotel is very old world Europe, and that was nice for a new modern American, it was super clean and the staff are attentive. What I really liked is you can walk to the old city in 5-10 mins at most, and its easy and safe. Its a great hotel and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have to have a room facing the ivy wall due to your low rate yuo got, as for a high floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardNYC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Villa Glavic for your stay and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you enjoyed.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

What you have read is true. Although the building is accross the street from Grand Villa Argentina, you better hope you are given a room in the first floor, or be ready to climb some stairs....which makes it a bit of a hassle when carrying heavy luggage.

Ammenities are good and views from the hotel are also good, but there is no readon to stay here if a room can be booked at Grand Villa Argentina.

I picked this hotel since the reviews said the views were much better, but they are not. And it jsut makes it uncomfortable to have to go to the main building to get to the pool, concierge, front desk, dining room, etc.

That aside, the hotel provides everything you would expect, but I would not consider a 5 star for it.

Small, clean room, heavyly decorated, great views in the main building, friendly staff, L´occitane ammenities.

Do not expect anything modern and, if you do not mind a bit of cardio before going to bed, then you will hold no objections.

Concierge was really helpful. You get what you pay for. Old, well kept setting close to old-town DBV.

Room Tip: If you do not get a room with a view, there is no point in booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhaleBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
We will take into consideration your comments for updating and renovation.
We hope to see you back in our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#22 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#37 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#25 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#21 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glavic Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glavic Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 14b, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Glavic Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our sea-view villa in Dubrovnik was part of the Grand Villa Argentina complex, and it is embedded with the same spirit. Historic and architecturally striking, the three-floor Villa Glavić offers complete privacy, with spectacular views over the Adriatic Sea and across to Dubrovnik Old Town. Within walking distance of the ancient city walls, its premium location in the most exclusive enclave in Dubrovnik offers complete tranquillity. Villa Glavić combines the personalised touch of a boutique property with the five-star service of a world-class hotel. With only 21 elegant rooms, guests staying here have complementary access to all of Grand Villa Argentina's facilities across the road, while being able to retreat to peaceful luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Glavic Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing