We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Glavic Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Glavic Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Supila Frana, Dubrovnik 20 000 , Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 69 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our third stay in the Villa Glavic, everything the same no problems at all. Easy access to the Grand Villa Argentina for breakfast and the pool area! The weather during our stay was very mixed so was able to us the indoor pool area to continue our relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear cemSouthYorkshire,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of Villa Glavic and for beeing our valuable guest for years. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities that contributed to the pleasantness of your stay.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Highly recommended, but do pay the extra for the room with the balcony and view!!! The hotel across the street has a superb terrace with a spectacular view and the breakfast there is great. Combining the quiet Villa Glavic room with the breakfast and pool side at the Grand Villa Argentina is really a winner!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Poppi I,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of Villa Glavic. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our breakfast. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a part of the Grand Villa Argentina complex and I am actually happy we did not stay in the main building. Yes, the access is quite steep and may be an issue for someone with health problems, but there is less noise, it is not so crowded and the corner room that we got is just wonderful - never got a room so big in a hotel if it wasn't a junior suite.

The decor is classic but not tired. If you wish, you can access all the amenities in the main building which we promptly did. The only issue I had was the temperature of the hotel outdoor pool - for some reason even in the middle of the summer it is freezing cold. Pool service was impeccable though.

The spa is worth recommending (heavenly massages) and so is the restaurant. The chef is French and you can see the French flare in the menu, but it is not your typical cuisine. I had dinner there, came back for lunch and left enchanted with my meal both times. Yes, the pricing is outrageous, but that is everywhere in Dubrovnik. I miss you, Villa Glavic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Villa Glavic for your stay and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our hotel room was clean and pleasant. It had views across the road of the Villa Argentina; the sister hotel, whose facilities we could use as guests at the Glavic. They were fantastic -- indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, and an outdoor pool area with loungers from which you could get into the sea via some steps or (more fun!) a running jump... Just amazing. There were wonderful views from the restaurant towards the old town, and the food was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I booked this room on Hotwire, the discount was just modest, but I am glad I did, as everything in Dubrovnik is so expensive, artifical high prices for trourists, the locals could never afford anything at these prices, lets be real?!? I stayed at the less expensive section of the complex, but you have access the entire amenities of the Argentina hotel, and thats what makes this a great value. The Argentina hotel has a phenominal pool on the adriatic, a nice spa, and wonderful buffet breakfast, and I only paid $265 a night all inclusive with internet included. I had a nice room facing the wall because my rate was so low (even though I asked not to, the young pretty girl at the desk was using her power to not let me have a sea view at this rate), but I did get on a higher floor and had some sky view in the bathroom and a side view of the Adriatic, which was nice. Be careful to know, this hotel is a walk up, so unless you are on the first floor you will be climbing stairs. Thsi hotel is very old world Europe, and that was nice for a new modern American, it was super clean and the staff are attentive. What I really liked is you can walk to the old city in 5-10 mins at most, and its easy and safe. Its a great hotel and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have to have a room facing the ivy wall due to your low rate yuo got, as for a high floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Villa Glavic for your stay and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you enjoyed.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

What you have read is true. Although the building is accross the street from Grand Villa Argentina, you better hope you are given a room in the first floor, or be ready to climb some stairs....which makes it a bit of a hassle when carrying heavy luggage.

Ammenities are good and views from the hotel are also good, but there is no readon to stay here if a room can be booked at Grand Villa Argentina.

I picked this hotel since the reviews said the views were much better, but they are not. And it jsut makes it uncomfortable to have to go to the main building to get to the pool, concierge, front desk, dining room, etc.

That aside, the hotel provides everything you would expect, but I would not consider a 5 star for it.

Small, clean room, heavyly decorated, great views in the main building, friendly staff, L´occitane ammenities.

Do not expect anything modern and, if you do not mind a bit of cardio before going to bed, then you will hold no objections.

Concierge was really helpful. You get what you pay for. Old, well kept setting close to old-town DBV.

Room Tip: If you do not get a room with a view, there is no point in booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
We will take into consideration your comments for updating and renovation.
We hope to see you back in our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The Villa Glavic is part of The hotel Argentina but its over the road from the main hotel and there is no lift. Now for those of you that may not have been to Dubrovnik in July it is very hot and also built onto cliffs so there are plenty of steps to climbs. Myself and my husband class ourselves as relatively fit ( mid 40's, not overweight, lead an active lifestyle) we'd already been to other places in Croatia and Dubrovnik during this visit so we were well accustomed to climbing up and down steps. We were not expecting to be at the top of this Villa, the 3rd floor which is in all 90 stairs down and 90 stairs back from the main reception. Then count in the steps down to the pool area, ( situated in the main hotel) approx 40, another 40 back to the lift for the reception. All in all that's approx 260 steps to get back to your room ( and they are steep steps too at times). Nowhere on the web site does is this revelled.
The rooms are spacious, when you eventually get to them ! But it seriously needs modernising. There was no air conditioning in the bathroom or even a fan.
After 5mins of looking around and working out the step situation we decided to book into the main hotel over the road. I'm so glad we did.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.
We are glad that, at the end, you were happy with main hotel room and that you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Glavic Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glavic Dubrovnik

Address: 14 Supila Frana, Dubrovnik 20 000 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 69 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Glavic Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Villa Glavic Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.