We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment & view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sipa Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sipa Apartments to your Saves list
Sipa Apartments
Petra Kresimira IV 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Stockholm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great apartment & view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in Apartment A (highest situated of the two bedroom apartments) for one week and as people say the view over the sea is truly amazing from the balconies. HIght to ceiling is 5 m. in this apartment with "fish bone" parquet in both bedrooms. Very smart with the white stone walls. Owners great helpfull people. As for the compulsory stairs debate it was 191 steps down to the see level street using the second set of stairs (Ulica Zupska) to the left walking towards the city center. Not a big problem. And of course, instead of going down the stairs, you can just follow the upper street slightly slooping downwards to the city. We usually went down the stairs heading for the city center and went back on the upper street (15/20 minute walk).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipa_12, General Manager at Sipa Apartments, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for nice review, just we would like to point out that it is correctly written that from the north entrance of the Old Town one
can walk directly by the road to the Sipa or one
can walk directly using the road that does the oval circle(we are on
the upper side of that circle, without steps too).

Regarding the steps here are mentioned the longest steps(second in direction of Old Town). Instead the first steps that lead from reception of hotel Argentina are also in shade and not
that exhaustive(approx.150 smaller steps).
Also there are different shorter steps that connect upper and lower side of the circle,
while steps immediatelly after Old town east entrance that lead to the upper side of
that oval circle are very short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We hired the apartment and and were not at all disappointed. The place was spotlessly clean and was well furnished . The views over the bay were beautiful all day long. We cannot recommend this apartment too much. Although there are concerns (from other reviews) about the steps to get in the apartment there are other routes which do not include steps so ask the proprietors! They are lovely people. Whilst there don't forget to go to Cavtat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The greeting of "Oh, there's 3 of you!" was a little disconcerting but we shouldn't have worried, as it was followed by "We'll give you a bigger apartment". We were expecting and paid for a 1-bedroomed with sofa bed but got a 2-bedroomed, 2 bathroomed apartment of our choice. The hosts (Bourga and Morouska?) let us choose which we wanted as we were the only ones in the complex!!
A welcome pack of wine, bread, ham, cheese, milk was provided but Morouska decided that there was enough for us so got more.
Good points about the apartment - the view, the hosts, the space, plenty of towels, equipment - including a washing machine.
Bad points - only minor - slightly dated decor and I wasn't too sure about the electrics in the bathroom.
As for Dubrovnik - it's well worth a visit. The old town is amazing. We also enjoyed visits to Cavtat, Lokrum Island and Korcula.
We thought the boat trip to the Elaphiti Islands was overrated as we spent too much time on the boat and not enough on the islands. The weather wasn't great so that didn't help.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipa_12, Owner at Sipa Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
I would like to thank you on your comments you have posted on this site.

Concerning decor, for apartments A, B, C upholstery is being renovated for this season(photos soon).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had a great welcome from Steven and his Mother and later Grandmother. Such a pity that we had apartment C as the terrace was onto the garden and the view of Lokrum and not the magnificent view of the Old Town as stated in Sipa's website. But the disappointment was made lessened by the wonderful hospitality of the owners. And we loved the activity on the water each day with the cruise ships and various boats. Unfortunately there are approximately 50 steps from this apartment up to the road and then a further 170 or so down to the road leading to the Old Town. (That's fine if you are not nearly 70 and having unusually hot weather at the end of September! No one can do anything about the weather and the midges which seem to come with the heat resulting in many bites.) Putting that aside, the location is wonderful for the view and peace and you wouldn't have the view if you were not up high! You can also take the bus down to the Old Town or walk down and return by bus. The apartment was well equipped and had plenty of clean bedding and towels.

Room Tip: Try and establish which apartment you will be allocated if you have difficulty walking. Take a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Great apartments, great views (d&e), owner was very welcoming and helpful, (fantastic English) will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

just got back 04/09/11 having read previuos reviews i was realy looking forward to this trip and WOW we wasn;t disapointed the views from the balcony were unbelievable looking out to lokrum island watching the boats pass by and cruise ships calling in each day.
We arrived with thomson holidays on time straight through the airport to the sipa within the hour.
fisrt impression the appartment was very spacious compared to most realy big bedroom everything you need for a comfy stay.
we were amazed to find milk water bread cheese ham beer wine fresh fruit all provided but as the week went by and you see how nice the croation people are you realise this is probably normal for them.they realy cant do enough for you everyday they ask is everything ok as they hand you a bunch of gorgeous grapes from there garden.
the owners bourga and morouska are the nicest people you could hope to meet nothing too much trouble '
dubrovnic is one of the nicest places i have ever been poeple food sites fantastic.
we did the cable car city tour and boat trip to cavtat all very reasonable priced
this was in my top ten holidays and we will go back next year and will stay at the sipa realy fantastic property thanks for a great time

Room Tip: i would recomend any room all equal in quality there are 1 and 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in Apartment A, which has two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two spectacular terraces. The views over Dubrovnik Old Town and the bay were spectacular and the ever-changing flotilla of cruise and pleasure craft was interesting - bring your binoculars! The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a constant supply of hot water. Everything was clean and functioning, if a trifle dated in decor.
Our hosts were superb : they organised transport from the airport, they greeted us with a bottle of wine and Marouska conjured a gorgeous meal for us when she realised my 84 year old father was tired! There was maid service three times during our week and ample supplies of towels, soap, washing -up liquid, toilet rolls - all those essentials which often have to be the first supermarket stop on any apartment holiday. The fridge had milk, juice, butter etc. too.
The apartment is 15 mins walk (downhill on a one-way street) to the Ploce Gate when you mount the 20 steps to the high road. The 150 steps down to the Hotel Argentina and the 10 min walk on the coast road to the same Gate will keep you fit. The taxi from Ploce to Sipa costs 50 kuna including tip (about £6) for the tired. My father was able to borrow a wheelchair for 4 days from the Dubrovnik MS Society, organised by the Tourist Office and costing only a voluntary donation on its return.
We were there for our son's wedding and had an unforgettable time, made specially memorable by the kindness of Bozo, Marouska and their son. These are genuinely hospitable and lovely people - Croatia at its very best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sipa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipa Apartments

Address: Petra Kresimira IV 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sipa apartments offer five four-star apartments in a spacious new building surrounded by garden of Mediterranean sub-tropic vegetation and located right above Hotel Argentina and Villa Sheherezade. Each apartment has a large terrace with a priceless view, its own parking space and is seismically protected. Apartments are located in a peaceful area within 10 minutes walking distance from the Old Town of Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sipa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.