We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the PERFECT place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stari Grad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Stari Grad to your Saves list
Hotel Stari Grad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Od Sigurate, Dubrovnik, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the PERFECT place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It would be impossible to convey in a typed review what a wonderful time we had at this hotel. It is a tiny place in a historical building with the city walls. It is a quiet, peaceful place to stay, with only a handful of rooms (maybe a dozen?). The decor is classy and modern, and the rooms extremely comfortable. Having renovated the interior last Spring (2013), they thought of everything. The rooms have luxurious beds, flat screen TVs, air conditioning, and even heated towel racks in the orchid filled bathroom. The hotel also has a rooftop terrace with views you can't get anywhere else in the city unless you're on the city walls. Meanwhile, not only is the hotel itself wonderful, but I cannot say enough nice things about the staff and management. They are so kind and so friendly and genuinely happy to talk to you and help you out with anything you need. I have traveled the world extensively over the past 25 years, and I can say without reservation that this is one of my very favorite places I have ever stayed, anywhere on Earth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    40
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
66
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed two nights as I was attending a friend's wedding. Leaving aside the matter of the stairs (face it; we all need exercise), I found the hotel faultless. The service was excellent, the decor charming. The great little Portun restaurant is next door, and your mere yards away from the city gates. What's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Yes, you need to be prepared to walk up several flights of stairs to your room because it is not permitted for this historic hotel to install an elevator. But it is a beautifully restored hotel located in the old town, the view from the terrace is amazing, and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is one of only a couple of hotels in the old walled section of beautiful Dubrovnik. Located off an alley near a city gate, the historic hotel is very nicely decorated and the staff is very warm and helpful. Orchids decorate both the lobby and the rooms, and original art is also found in those places.

You are 30 seconds away from the main street of old Dubrovnik, and only a couple of minutes from every conceivable sightseeing attraction in the downtown area. As mentioned in other reviews, the roof of the Stari Grad is worth the climb. It provides some seating areas with a spectacular view of the city. There is no bar service, but you can take your own beverages or ones from the hotel mini bar to the roof.

Drawbacks: no elevator, no restaurant (though you get a voucher for a breakfast at a pretty good local eatery near the hotel) and no taxi access to the property. The taxi or bus will drop you near the city gate and you take your luggage a couple of blocks to the hotel.

Overall, staying at the Stari Grad was a great experience. A bit pricey, but you stay at a classy historic place right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This lovely boutique hotel is perfectly located in the old town but you have to be prepared to drag your bags from the city gates and up the stairs. We had a fabulous stay and the rooftop terrace is a terrific place to have a drink as the sun sets, with panoramic views of the city,. Our friends stayed outside the walls and were very envious of our hotel choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in August. Overall we would recommend this hotel. It has recently been renovated to a very high standard, with beautifully designed bedrooms and bathrooms. We stayed on the fourth floor in Room 402, which had two windows looking out over the roof tops of the old town. There are lots of steps to climb but this is the norm for Dubrovnik and we didn't mind. The roof top terrace is wonderful. We went up there several times and there was no one else there! The hotel's real plus point is its central location. It was very hot when we were there and it was great to escape to the air con when the crowds and heat were too much!

The breakfast at Cafe Festival around the corner was fine. There were about 5 choices.

Dubrovnik is a great city and we did all the usual touristy things including climbing the walls and taking the cable car to the top of Mount Srd. We also hired a car one day and drove to Montenegro, which was also beautiful. If you want to hire a car I would recommend booking one in advance as they found it difficult to find an available car for us.

We ate in many restaurants but the best were Debravka (just outside the city walls at Pile Gate), Mea Culpa and Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our stay in Dubrovnik for our Honeymoon. On the whole I would say this was an enjoyable stay, with a great location in the heart of the city. We appreciated the fact that we were literally 20 steps away from the Stradun, and we enjoyed the view from the rooftop terrace (even though it appeared to be under renovation while we were there, so we were not able to eat there).

We were disappointed by a maintenance issue during our stay (pipe under the sink came unhooked three times one evening while we were staying there (and to fix the situation short term I would hook it back up until a permanent fix could be done)). However, the staff addressed the issue as soon as possible (I understand it can be hard for an 8 room hotel to have a plumber on call after business hours), and the issue was fixed for good the next day.

Also, we stayed on the top floor (and were happy with this as we had a great view for our Honeymoon), and did not mind the stairs. The Old Town is a UNESCO heritage site. They cannot change it to put in elevators. If that is an issue, then don't stay here. But if you are physically able, I would certainly stay here due to the location, views, and staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stari Grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stari Grad

Address: 4 Od Sigurate, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stari Grad 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreaming of a next summer already? Check into the stylish Boutique Hotel Stari Grad! Fully renovated in 2013, the original 16th century nobleman 's house converted into boutique hotel combines Old World atmosphere with sleek lines, residential glamour, jewel tones and colorful patterns to create a collection of eight unique rooms for your cozy vacation. Location? Simply, ideal: a quiet street in the heart of Dubrovnik's Old Town, just off the main Placa Stradun! Although small, this luxurious yet discreet hotel hides many treasures. Discover Green & Purple cafe bar, elegant and ultimately distinctive gathering spot in the town. Taste delicious, excellently served dishes at Above5 restaurant, located on the only rooftop terrace in Old Town, while enjoying unforgettable views of the ancient city walls, roofs, sea and neighboring islands... Can a dream go beyond a dream? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stari Grad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stari Grad Dubrovnik
Stari Grad Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stari Grad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.