We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Perla to your Saves list
Hotel Perla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste kralja Zvonimira, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A solid bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Stayed here for a week in October 2014 on holiday to Dubrovnik and surrounding areas with my girlfriend.

We opted for a room with a balcony as at the time we visited this was only a small extra cost. This was well worth it as somewhere to chill out with a glass of wine in the evening.

As a base for our holiday Perla had a lot going for it:

+ Located near a frequent (every 10 mins) and cheap bus route to the old town, or about a 40 minute walk which is mostly a nice enough walk
+ Good location, in a fairly touristy but very pleasant part of the lapad peninsula with a decent range of restaurants nearby
+Only a few minutes walk to the sea and on a niuce path around the very pretty lapad peninsula
+ A decent supermarket nearby
+ Free on-street car parking also possible nearby for the few days we had a hire car for excursions beyond Dubrovnik

The room itself was fairly basic but comfortable enough, aned usefully included a fridge. Whilst not the height of luxury we felt the rooms were decent for the money.

Breakfast (a buiffet type arrangement, but with staff offering to make an omelette if you wanted one) also was included as part of our say. The breakfast selection was not bad, and whilst some way from the best hotel breakfasts I've had it was enough to get us going each morning.

Otherwise the hotel staff were friendly (especially Tina) and we enjoyed our stay here enough that we'd recommend the Perla happily to anyone considering visiting Dubrovnik in future.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    70
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We were in Dubrovnik 2 nights staying in this hotel. The room was spacious and bright. It was adequated furnished and there was also an attached hairdryer and heater in the bathroom.
Besides the hotel restaurant, there were many others in the vacinity.
Breakfast was just bread, eggs, yogurt, cheese, ham, coffee and tea. Dinner was always cooked with too much salt, leaving only the tomato soup with rice worth mentioning about. Salads of greens were always sprinkled with vinegar.
One side of the hotel walked towards the beach with super clear water, evidently seen even in the dark. There was also a very mysterious and fabulous stone cave bar found by the beach. Two supermarkets were also within walking distance.

Room Tip: As there is a lift available, upper floors would have better views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

I had read a few reviews on here and thought we'd picked a winner ... wrong!! We are in room 201 and we had to get up when our neighbours got up due to the incredibly loud water pipes noises which woke us up every time the tap in the neighbouring room was turned on. In fact, I'm writing this after being woken at 05:30 by the what seems like Von Trapp family next door who have been showering, bathing, washing, brushing teeth and drying hair for nearly 3 hours solid! Our only respite was when they left for breakfast and we were able to snatch a quick nap but now they are back.

I'm quite looking forward to getting home so I can have a rest as we are exhausted.

Definitely the right time of year to come to Dubrovnik only pick a different hotel!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Just loved this hotel. We had a top floor room, and ,yes we had to walk up the last floor, because the lift stops at the 3rd. But the view was just lovely. It's in a quiet, pedestrian area 200 yards from the beach, and there's a lovely sunset to be seen along a pretty pathway that runs around the coastline. The staff were brilliant throughout, giving advice on everything from car parking, buses to the old town (a short walk to the bus stop just up the lane) and various trips to local sights. I can recommend the 3 island boat trip, stunning. The room was clean and comfortable, with a private balcony, with excellent air conditioning. Breakfast may have been a little bit limited, the continental breakfast was a little bit light, but, a variety of omelettes can easily supplement that. The restaurant offers a 10% discount for hotel guests, and has a very good selection on the menu. The waiting staff are very good too. All in all, we had a perfect week and will be heading back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: A top floor room will give you a great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

First of all, the location is fine. Yes, it's not the Old Town, but the bus is really regular and Lapad is a nice area to stay anyway. Nice sea, lots of restaurants, supermarket, etc.. The hotel itself was OK. Expensive, but all hotels in Dubrovnik are and this was a lot more reasonable than others. Room was comfortable and decent shower. Breakfast buffet was good too. No complaints at all and, while it was fairly pricey, that's Dubrovnik unfortunately!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

I really don't understand the super positive reviews here. If you want to see Old Town, arrange water sports, walk to a variety of great restaurants, you don't want to stay in Lapad (the only benefit is it's close to the ferry). Schlepping on and off a (super crowded) bus back and forth to town on hot days wasn't fun. The Hotel Perla was far from a diamond in the rough. The sheets, towels, blanket were thin and worn, bed uncomfortable, and it was in a gritty area of town. We wouldn't be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I was there for 2 nights and very much enjoyed my stay. It was much nicer staying in Lapad than in the city centre, as it is quieter but still with lots of restaurants, bars, supermarkets and the beach in less than 5 min walk. It is easy to get to the old town with the bus, which is quite frequent.
The room was simple, but nice with a spacious bathroom and good towels to use at the beach. Staff was helpful and friendly with our questions and requests.
The only issue is that the wifi connection was not very good and kept dropping.
If I go back to Dubrovnik I would stay there again and I recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Address: Setaliste kralja Zvonimira, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.