We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - free wi-fi in rooms! Bonus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Perla to your Saves list
Hotel Perla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste kralja Zvonimira, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great little hotel - free wi-fi in rooms! Bonus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our first venture away from All Inclusive for a few years and we loved it. The hotel is in a great spot half way down a pedestrian area opposite a kids play park. 5 mins from beach, 5 mins from bus stop. We had a triple family room (104) that had no view really but was fine for the week. There are no family rooms on higher floors with the views apparently. The staff were all so friendly and made us feel very welcome.

We stayed half board and had lovely omelettes every morning, and good options in the evening. 3 soups to start and 9 main courses. We ate well - the portions were huge, and there were a lot of walk in guests off the street for both lunch and dinner. We could sit on the terrace and order dinner. Our son would run off to play across in the park, then come back when the meals arrived.

Recommend the walk round the bay that takes you past the Cave Bar and up to Babin Kuk. Great views.

Also don't miss the Slasticarna Sirena (ice cream shop just up from hotel). Best ice cream ever and we were there so often with our 6 year old that the guy was preparing his ice cream when he saw our son " Kinder ice cream, chocolate sauce, no problem". Lovely guy, great with kids. The frozen yoghurt with cherries was my favourite!!

We ventured into Dubrovnik which is an easy trip in from the top of the street. The ticket kiosk is here so easy to buy tickets or a Dubrovnik travel card before getting on. Totally stunning despite the crowds. If we hadn't had a small one in tow we would have gone back in the evening when it would be a bit quieter

This was our first time in Croatia and we loved it. We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floor if you don't need a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly positioned for a family stay esp with small children. In a pedetrianised zone, kids can be safely let to run about on the road in front of the hotel. Even better, there is a small playpark right in front of the hotel. We used to sit outside in the restaurant having breakfast and keep an eye on our 5 yr old who would hop across to the park. If you opt for a triple bed room there will be no view of the road or water but you won't spend much time in the room anyway. The bus stop is a 5 mins walk away, 10 mins to the Old Town, about 80 steep steps up to the City Walls and it is a lovely walk up on the city walls. Can easily be done with kids who are not in prams and great for small boys who will love the cannons. Lapad beach a few mins walk from the hotel has everything but a sandy beach. So take watershoes. Else the water is very clean, can buy all swimming gear near the beach. All in all a great place for families with kids.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel and loved it. Clean, well maintained room and bathroom, a well proportioned balcony with a view of the blue Adriatic sea, excellent location (right in the heart of Lapad and next to the promenade) and a very short distance from the beach and the beautiful cliff walk (highlight of our stay). Excellent buffet breakfast and warm and friendly staff. Marija, in particular, was very helpful in making calls to the inter-city bus company to confirm the timing of our bus, making advance phone reservation, arranging for a taxi... The old town is a 15 - 20 min bus ride away; the buses are very frequent and cheap.

Room Tip: One piece of information: we had our room on the 4th floor but the elevator goes up only to the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This is one of several places near Lapad beach which offer comfortable seating outside and reasonably priced breakfasts for non residents served by friendly staff . Sit in the sun and watch the world parade up and down.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is the real Croatia not the 5 star glitz that one can find anywhere. Perfect for couples with children as there is a playground across the way. Excellent buffet breakfast complete with coffee urns. I would return in a heartbeat. Marina, Marija, Tina, Ivica, Ilia, etc., are a truly exceptional staff. Tears were shed on our departure. Our hotel when we return one day!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet with balconies. Air conditioning and television
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel perla is situated in lapad within a 2 min walk to a lovely beach and 2 min to bus stop that takes you into dubrovnik old town within 10mins! The location allowed for a restful reprieve from the hectic crowds of the old town. The hotel room was small but had a lovely balcony, was spotlessly clean and well serviced. Overall a perfect spot with incredibly friendly and helpful staff which of course makes for a positive experience in any hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed for a week at the hotel Perla. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were on half board basis and the food in the hotel restaurant was very good. Waiters on an evening were first class; however breakfast waiting staff were less so, mainly owing to communication difficulties.
Room was clean and very nice. Towels and sheets were replaced when required. However, during our week's stay the wash basin in the bathroom was not cleaned once, neither was the bathroom floor washed during our stay.
Location was ideal; situated on a pedestrianised street and very near a lovely pebble beach.
Would recommend this hotel without reservation for a stay in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Address: Setaliste kralja Zvonimira, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#28 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.