We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Uvala to your Saves list
Hotel Uvala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Wellness & Spa
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly helpful staff, room/bathroom nice and clean. Balcony with Seaview worth paying the extra. Fred breakfast included with lots of varieties to choose from. Food mediocre to be honest but you do get a 20 % discount for being a resident. Pool and jacuzzi nice. ..would return and recommend ☺

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    114
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
159
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Originally booked in Hotel Komodor but on arrival found that we had been moved to Hotel Uvala, just 100 yards up the road. It was not a problem as this hotel was 4 star instead of the Komodor's 3 star. Hotel was very clean, our twin room was fine and general area was very quiet. We had a balcony with a view over the bay. All staff were very helpful and polite . We booked half board, the breakfast was the usual continental fare. The staff were happy to cook something else if required i.e. omelettes. The evening meal was adequate and there was also an a la carte menu which of course you had to pay for. The bus into Dubrovnik town stopped outside the hotel and ran every 15 mins and the journey took 10-15 mins. The buses also ran quite late in the evening.
Two and a half days was plenty to see the sights in Dubrovnik and also gave us plenty of time to people watch whilst having a bite to eat and a drink at an outside table.
Please do try and visit the Buza Bar found around the back streets outside of the city wall overlooking the Adriatic Sea. You can view the bar as you take the city wall walk. It lies amongst the rocks and sells only cold drinks but worth it for the view!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I knew the hotel was going to be a bit out-dated with its decor, and so it was. It was very clean though and definitely smells fresh.
I called before our stay to make sure we had a double bed instead of two separates, and was told the double bed would be it. I was a bit disappointed when i found two separates pushed together, it is very annoying to sleep together when the beds keep splitting. Points for the cleaning crew again, we tied the beds together and made the bed "sideways" so it would feel like a double bed, and without asking the cleaning crew kept it our way the rest of the stay with still changing the sheets.
We had to ask for the robes that were promised on booking.
We had a room with a balcony and a sea view. The glass doors were not put in properly, so there was a big gap between wall and door. When it was windy during night, the wind got in and made this incredibly loud noice, like someone bagpiping.
It was off-season and spring, so it was fine that the outdoorpool didnt have water in it. Still I would have hoped the indoor pool had heating. Also the jacuuzzi next to the indoor pool didn't work, so it was just a hot bath.
Breakfast was ok, every day exactly the same though. During the latter part of our stay more guests arrived and some food ran out. Also warm choices were really really greasy, like bacon and sausages, more so than in most hotels,
The bus stops (both ways) are right outside the hotel, that was convenient.
Also, I think that these days hotels with no wifi in rooms do not deserve 4 stars, Luckily the neighboring hotels took care of us with their wifis,,,
I expected more from a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed at this hotel as it had some great reviews. The hotel decor is old fashioned in the rooms but very clean which made up for it. The corridors always smelt really fresh like the carpets had been recently cleaned. The bathrooms are more modern and the reception area and pool area of the hotel are clean, spacious and a nice place to relax. There is a bus right outside the hotel which takes you directly into dubrovnik old town in about 10 minutes, or about a 1 hour leisurely walk which we did one day. We will be returning to Croatia in the coming 12-18 months to plan our wedding and will be recommending this hotel to guests who don't wish to pay the higher prices within dubrovnik itself.

We are returning t

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

At first i had booked a room for hotel Vis which is right next to it, only further down towards the beach. They were fully booked so they moved us into hotel Uvala which has 4 stars instead of 3 stars. I give a big thumb up to the management for taking care of such important issue so quickly.

To be completely honest, to me this hotel looks like a 3 star and i am comparing it to all hotels i've been too.

The staff are very nice and friendly, also i was thinking of having to struggle to speak croatian and brought a dictionary and a handbook with me to try and speak their language, however the citizens of dubrovnik speak a very fluent and clear english.
You rarely find staff this friendly and helpful!

There was always a great variety of food from which you could pick and i always had my fill of whatever i wanted. Unfortunately i've found once a bug in the garlic sauce and not to spoil the other guests' appetite i told a member of staff about it to change it.
Another issue with the restaurant in this hotel is that they didn't give any included drinks, just for breakfast. Very strange. Also they wouldn't allow you to take your own water in the evening, but instead force you to pay a price 5 times higher than what is normal.

They got an indoor swimming pool as well as an outdoor swimming pool. You could clearly smell the chlorine in it. Occasionally dead flies were swimming in it to keep you company.

Overall i really enjoyed my vacation in dubrovnik, but it's not the hotel that played a major role in this. Dubrovnik is nice to see once, but i don't see any reason to go there again, however i would recommend to try your luck and see if you can find a better hotel, but not because of the staff, they are doing their job. It's the hotel itself that isn't really how a hotel should be.

The town is filled with old houses and occasionally it looks depressing. Nearly every house, even new ones are colored in white with red roof tops, kept very simple and monotonuos.
There isn't much to see and a week there is more than enough. I also visited the 3 popular islands there, one of which was the birth place of marco polo.

Room Tip: See view and forest view are both fine in my opinion! I recommend a room at a higher floor number si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I visited Dubrovnik in Sep 2014 and stayed 5 nights at the Uvala hotel. Really clean and well run hotel. It is about 15 mins bus ride from the old town which is where most people tend to visit. The hotel is not near may attractions but there is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel which takes you to the old town and you can pretty much get to where ever you need to from there. The room i stayed in was a twin and had views of the sea which was pleasant. The hotel WIFI is not in the rooms which was the only negative, also the rooms could have upgraded TV's (all use old style tubes). The hotel provides a really good breakfast which i enjoyed daily. The hotel has a beach which is close by and a few small shops about 5 mins walk down the road, and a parade of restaurants about 10 mins walk

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We picked the Hotel Uvala because it had an indoor pool as well as an outdoor pool as we were travelling late in the season. That was the main reason.

While we enjoyed our stay some bits and pieces in the hotel are a little tired. Our rooms were adequate and clean but the bathrooms did have bits and pieces that needed updating. The shower head wasn't the best, the mastic round the edge of the bath was a bit mouldy. This may have been because we stayed right at the end of the season and perhaps these things will be made good before the hotel reopens next season.

The hotel has a spa and, as I mentioned already, an indoor pool. The pool wasn't very warm, hence we spent most of the time in the hot tub! you have to pay extra for the sauna. There is an extensive list of treatments available, unfortunately we didn't have time to try any. Again, in the spa there were lots of bits that were tired, mosaic tiles falling off the showers, marks in the ceilings where there had been leaks, just a little tired. This could all be easily rectified. The outdoor pool was very, very cold and my family only managed to jump in swim a length and get out!! I would imagine in the height of summer it would be great but the weather was on the turn so too cold for everyone but the most dedicated swimmer!!

Breakfast was included with our package. There was lots and lots of choice for breakfast, everything from hot dishes to pastries, yogurts to toast. Friendly waiting staff too. We also chose to eat in the hotel 2 nights, we had the buffet. Again lots of choice, something for everyone. The restaurant isn't the cheapest but it was convenient. We stayed a total of four nights and ate out the other two nights which was cheaper.

All the staff in the hotel were polite, friendly and welcoming. I would be happy to stay at the hotel again but would probably go a little earlier in the season. We travelled in the last week, every night more and more restaurants and hotels were closing for the end of the year.

The hotel is about a 40 minute walk to Dubrovnik old town. There is a bus stop right outside of the hotel, the number four bus will take you right to the old city walls every 20 minutes. There is a beach just across the road from the hotel, all the attractions and shops were closed but the water was beautiful, lovely and clear.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Address: Masarykov put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uvala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.