We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zagreb to your Saves list
Hotel Zagreb
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed on the top floor. The room was a decent size with a wardrobe, dresser and flat screen tv. The bathroom was small, with no space to put your clothes while showering, but it served its purpose.

The breakfast was great with a variety of foods including; pastries, bread, cold meats, eggs, sausages, cereal, yoghurt and fruit. There was also a selection of juices. Tea and coffee were made upon request.

The staff were very friendly and happy to help with information.

The bus stop to the old town is located a 1 minute walk from the hotel. There are plenty of great restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Lapad beach is also within walking distance.

The only complaint I have about this hotel was that there was a bad smell (like rotten eggs) coming from behind the headboard of the bed.

Good value if you book early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    82
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
151
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I thought this hotel was most impressive from the outside - the beautiful gardens and building. The rooms are just fine - basic, clean, smallish. Breakfast was sufficient, but nothing outstanding. I do like the idea of staying in Lapad, away from the center, where there are many bars and restaurants to keep you entertained, as well as a nice beach within easy walking distance. One caution though - as others have said, if your room faces front, you will hear noise from the bar across the street.

I did find however the bus into town a bit annoying - we were there in May and it was always crowded, so I cant imagine what it is like in high season. Just something to consider when you decide where to stay in Dubrovnik. Overall, however, I would recommend this hotel as a decent, well priced (for Dubrovnik, but was the most we paid for any hotel in Croatia and was our least favorite) place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Dubrovnik and we were lucky to find this hotel as it made our stay very comfortable. All the staff were helpful and courteous and made us most welcome. Our room which was quiet and comfortable, had a balcony overlooking the very neatly kept garden. Because the hotel is on a pedestrian walkway it is difficult to find at first, you have to approach it another way, after that parking our hire car was easy. Very easy to get around the town as the bus stop was only a short walk away. Walking west along the promenade to the sea we found many places to have a meal and watched the sun set. When we return we shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigonza
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Hotel Zagreb is a splendid and precious place. It is just on the pedestrian area (but with some reserved parking places) in a very nice garden, full of flowers and trees. It is however very near to the see and giving the chance of nice and romantic walks. The hotel is very near to the bus stop that can bring you easy to the old town. The chambers are confortable and spacious rooms and baths. The hotel is in an historical palace very nicely renovated.
The staff is just great always trying to satisfy the need of the guests. But much more ... a smile, some nice words to make you feel a precious and special guest. Breakfast is great: a great choice and high quality. And the restorant? Just exceptional: simple but very very accurated; the ingredients are from the region and exceptionally prepared and presented.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were staying in this hotel in October and we thoroughly enjoyed it. For this price, we did not expect this luxurious room we were staying in. The people working there were very friendly and polite. It is in a very good location to go to the city centre by bus. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff were amazing. So helpful and curteous. We had a fantistic room with a balcony and a nice view of the walkway below. The hotel was a wee bit hard to find, even with our garmin, but a helpful resident got into our rental car and quided us there. The hotel is at the end of a pedestrian walkway which has many restaurants and cafes. It was very nice not having vehicular traffic out our window, just couples and young folks strolling about. The walkway dead ends after about a 25 minute walk - it is a lovely stroll which takes you by parks, the sea, and a narrow walkway right alongside the water. Lovely. The breakfast was great. Lots of variey and a lovely room to eat in, (weather permitting you can eat outdoors), and coffee made to order. Lots of cats in the area, but I am a cat lover and really enjoyed seeing, (feeding), them all. There was one little kitten that followed us one morning for our entire walk. The wifi is great throughout the entire hotel. Danko, the gentleman that greeted us upon arrival was a wealth of information and made out stay even more pleasant. Thanks Danko!

Unfortunatly there is a club right across the road that tends to blare its music from about midnight to 3 am. It did not disturb my sleep, but was certainly audible upon my early morn visits to the wc. Pity the club owner has to be so ignorant, inconsiderate and downright rude!!!!! One morn when I woke up in the wee hours, they were still blaring their music and there was not even anyone in the club. Unfortunate, but it certainly would not dissuade me from staying here again and getting the same lovely room with a balcony. If the club is trying to keep patrons away from the Hotel Zagreb, they will have to do alot more in my estimation, as the service the location and rooms are to excellent to pass up.
We loved out stay here and would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: If you are not a sound sleeper, probably the back of the hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed with two friends for a week in October. The hotel makes a great first impression, it is clearly the most attractive building on the strip with lovely gardens. Inside wasn't quite as impressive, but I had a nice, clean twin room on the ground floor whose only problem was a leaky shower screen.

The location is very good, being at the end of a strip of hotels, restaurants and bars that runs between Babin Kuk and Lapad down to the beach. It was an easy 10 walk to the harbour, or the bus to the old town stops 2 minutes' walk away

Staff were uniformly polite and helpful and, in one example, entertainingly flamboyant and friendly. Room cleaning was slightly perfunctory but efficient - on most days my room was turned down while I was having breakfast. Breakfast was a typical continental buffet with cold cuts, cereal, fruit etc. The Danish-like cake slices were particularly delicious, although I learned to stay away from the gristle-strewn bacon

Overall, this was a good value hotel in a good location for exploring Dubrovnik. I would definitely stay there again. Not quite worth 4 circles, but certainly better than average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zagreb

Address: 27 Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zagreb 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Zagreb Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zagreb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.