We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel, good service and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zagreb to your Saves list
Hotel Zagreb
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel, good service and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed with two friends for a week in October. The hotel makes a great first impression, it is clearly the most attractive building on the strip with lovely gardens. Inside wasn't quite as impressive, but I had a nice, clean twin room on the ground floor whose only problem was a leaky shower screen.

The location is very good, being at the end of a strip of hotels, restaurants and bars that runs between Babin Kuk and Lapad down to the beach. It was an easy 10 walk to the harbour, or the bus to the old town stops 2 minutes' walk away

Staff were uniformly polite and helpful and, in one example, entertainingly flamboyant and friendly. Room cleaning was slightly perfunctory but efficient - on most days my room was turned down while I was having breakfast. Breakfast was a typical continental buffet with cold cuts, cereal, fruit etc. The Danish-like cake slices were particularly delicious, although I learned to stay away from the gristle-strewn bacon

Overall, this was a good value hotel in a good location for exploring Dubrovnik. I would definitely stay there again. Not quite worth 4 circles, but certainly better than average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    82
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
151
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This attractive hotel set in a gorgeous garden was the perfect place to be based for a few days sightseeing. The staff, particularly the manager, were extremely friendly and helpful and also very efficient. One felt very welcome and that the team cared that your stay there was a good experience. The rooms were solid, spotless and well equipped. The sea was just a few minutes walk away with restaurants, bars and pleasant places to just sit and watch the sea.
The bus trip to the Old Town was easy and it was good to be away from the crowds to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We rented an apartment in Lapad in August and whilst walking along the pedestrian street we passed this beautiful building that is Hotel Zagreb. A board outside invited non-residents to have a buffet breakfast for only 60 kuna (about £7.50). We took them up and were treated like kings. The tables were laid with thick linen tablecloths in the shadiest part of the terrace (it was hot from early morning - lovely), sparklingly clean cutlery and tasteful china. The waiter was immaculately dressed and so welcoming. We were shown the dazzling display of hot and cold choices, eggs, bacon and sausage, rolls and bread, cereals and yoghurts and fresh fruit, croissants and juices. Delicious coffee was served too and top-ups were readily available. What more could you ask for? We cannot wait to revisit. Give it a try yourselves, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed with my wife in this lovely hotel,the decor was beautiful,everything was excellent,staff nice, breakfast with huge choice,and for dinner we eat lovely rissoto and steak with mushroom sauce.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel was relatively well appointed but with no lift this meant lugging baggage though there was porterage was available. Car parking is very tight - but we were lucky.
Only complaint was road works noise and bars opposite the front of the hotel that like to make a lot of noise after 11pm (but very European from our experience). Enjoyed the gardens and the seeting as well as convenience for getting into the Old City by bus.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the rear of bar noise keeps you awake at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We looked into staying at Hotel Zagreb because it was recommended by the Times travel section but had a few reservations because of the location, namely that it wasn't right on the doorstep on the old town. I am really glad that we booked to stay here in the end, because the location was simply perfect - a 5-10 minute bus ride, or 30-45 minute walk if you are a bit more active (although we only walked home, not into the old town, and it was from the lower cable car station rather than the Pile gate). The street that the hotel is on is fully pedestrianised with many bars, restaurants and shops on the way to the small beach area. In the other direction, it is only a ten minute walk to the marina and harbour in Lapad, with a few more restaurants (particularly the excellent Otto's Taverna).

Our room was located on the third floor at the side of the building. There is no lift but we didn't find it too taxing, in fact we welcomed the exercise! When we first went to our room, we were impressed with the decor and cleanliness, although less than impressed with the size (which was more than adequate, we had just hoped for bigger!)...however when we opened the doors to the balcony we were astounded by the size of the terrace...the room had a king-sized bed with about two feet walking space around it, bedside tables, a desk, wardrove and luggage stand. The balcony was about six times the floor space of the bedroom! The bathroom did not have a bath but it has a good sized shower stall. The doors to the terrace had shutters to keep the heat out during the day, but doubled their function by keeping much of the noise out at night. We were there for the last group games of the Euros, and although there was a bar which played music across the street, it didn't keep either of us awake.
We did not eat at the restaurant in the evening but breakfast was good - it was really a continental breakfast with added bacon and scrambled eggs, and few items of roasted veg. The only downside to breakfast, and this is probably due to my preference more than anything else, was the coffee machine - one of those pod affairs, which I found to be a nuisance which just doesn't make coffee as well as a filter machine (although did give you an espresso choice). On the second morning, the waiter brought me a frothy coffee made with his own fair hands, which was much nicer and set me up for the day!
Other than that, the only thing I would have requested is a parasol on the terrace. Croatia was having a heatwave while we were there, so instead of expected temperatures of high twenties, we had high thirties instead and even the locals were wilting! Think of us poor, pale skinned Brits! So a parasol would have been useful, but having said that, we didn't spend more than a few hours during the four days in the room. And when we did, it was under the blissful influence of the air conditioning.
So, in all, we would recommend the hotel as a place to stay (it was entirely couples or singles we saw there, no idea of the family facilities), and would probably stay there again if we ever went back.

Room Tip: When we booked, only two rooms were available. We picked the balcony option and got rm 31, with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I spent hours looking for the best hotel option, not too expensive, but nice and comfortable, and I definetly found the one!
Was built in 2005, so everything is relatively new. Our room was in excelent conditions and was cleaned every day.
Buffet breakfast was more than I expected. Eggs, sausages, bacon, some roasted vegs, ham, cheese, diferent sort of bread, croissants, different cereals, yogurt...They made tea and coffee for us and served it on our table every morning.
The staff is very helpfull, respectfull and kind. They make you feel special!
Very good location, near to the beach, on the main street in Lapad, 2 min walk to the bus stop to the city centre, which takes 10 minutes.
If i had to complain about something, would be that the hairdryer was unuseful.
If I had to recomend them something, would be build a swimmingpool, although the beach is very near...
---------------------------------------
Recomendations for a 5 days trip: go on a 3 islands boat trip (the difference between the companies that offer them is the boat, so check it out first. Prices and food are the same)
The trip they offer to Mostar seem to be muuuuch more than it really is. It's not really worth it..
.-------------------------------------
If you have to check out early and your flight is late, we went to Hotel Excelsior (5stars) and booked a 1h massage for 50 pounds, about 65 euro, and spend the day on the hotel. You are allowed to leave your luggage there, there is access to the sea from the hotel, covered swimmingpool, spa (sauna, turkish bath, different showers, you can use as many towels as you want...) and then you can have a shower there and get ready for your flight. The service is very good, even not being a host from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zagreb

Address: 27 Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zagreb 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Zagreb Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zagreb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.