We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Gloucester UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

great hotel - very attentive staff, although that could have been cos we were in an executive suite, best place to be in the city tho, lovely balcony with sea view etc

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    357
    85
    21
    6
See reviews for
255
874
81
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Across from the Old City Walls, on the main road with tons of views from the Hotel window.
Great service!

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Everything about the hotel is first class. Location cannot be bettered for access to the Old Town - literally 5 minutes walk. We stayed bed and breakfast so cannot comment on the hotel restaurant but breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it. Hotel staff were very helpful and service was immaculate. We had a sea view room which was large and comfortable. There was a well equipped fitness centre and an indoor pool which we used every day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Hilton Imperial is a beautiful hotel located a half a block from the Pile gate. The service and room quality matched other Hilton hotels we have stayed at. The restaurant was great including a fabulous breakfast buffet that we loved. Did I say that the location was perfect. We took two Atlas bus tours to Korcula and Ston, and Montenegro/Kotor. They picked us up and dropped us off at the Pile gate. You must walk the walls around the old town. Get there when the gates to the wall walk open. If you wait until 10:00 or after it will begin to be packed with cruise ship tourists and it will take you many hours to walk the walls. You can get some great pics from the walls and the fort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik is perfect for anybody travelling to Dubrovnik in my opinion. It is in perhaps the most convenient location in all of the city, directly adjacent to both a bus stop and the magnificent Pile Gate entrance to the Old City. The importance of this fantastic location cannot be overstated! The rooms in the hotel are very spacious, with the most comfortable beds possible, and are decorated in a beautiful style. The bathrooms are bright, clean and with all amenities expected of a hotel of this calibre. Service in the hotel is outstanding. To give an example, having left an iPod touch in the safe the morning of our departure, we rang the hotel to ask if it had been found. We expected it to have been stolen, yet we were pleasantly told that it was safe with the concierge and we are arranging for it to be sent out to us. The housekeeping staff kept our room spotless. Breakfast is incredible in the hotel - just thinking about the delicious porridge makes my mouth water! Dishes can be ordered a la carte such as pancakes, porridge, omelettes and french toast, whilst there is an extensive buffet to choose from in addition. There is typical Anglo-American food, as well as fresh fruit, meat, cheese, pastries and Croatian specialities such as baked aubergines. Baked beans are delicious, with a real tomato sauce and enormous butterbeans. There is an excellent gym and swimming pool on the lower floors of the building, which was shelled during the Croatian war of independence. All in all the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik is the place to stay for all visitors to this enchanting city. Visiting in October we expected chilly weather, yet it was sunny each day and very warm. The city is conspicuously absent of the hordes of tourists in summer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
This is a perfectly good 4 star hotel, in a terrific location just a minute’s walk from the Pili Gate, the entrance to the Old Town of Dubrovnik.

It is clean, the staff efficient and friendly, the standard rooms an excellent size.

Travelling with our teenage daughter, we usually get two connecting rooms (it’s a bathroom thing…don’t ask). Upon arrival, I was very pleased that we had downgraded from the Executive rooms (Club level) to standard rooms. While we were not able to access the roof-top terrace for a sunset drink (which was annoying) the size of the rooms – and the price difference – was such that we were very happy with what we got. (However ask for non-smoking rooms - we did not realise there was a difference and no one asked us at check in or when booking. No matter how hard they try, you can always smell a whiff of tobacco from curtains etc. )

It’s lovely to have the best view – in Budapest it made a big difference – but here at the Hilton in Dubrovnik it simply wasn’t necessary, especially considering the difference in rates.

The breakfast (included) was varied and of a very reasonable standard. Not fabulous, but nothing wrong with it either. The usual – eggs (made to order), bacon, sausages, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, excellent breads, pastries. Fresh and plentiful.

If you have a short break in Dubrovnik (we were there in late October, when the weather does not encourage a longer visit), this is an excellent, well-located hotel, especially if you get a good internet deal.
My only real complaint is internet access. It seems the bigger the hotel chain, or the more expensive the hotel, the more they charge for internet. At this Hilton one hour was 7 Euros ($11 Australian), 24 hours was 14 Euros ($22 Aust). Directly across the road was an internet café where the three of us spent 50 minutes each on 3 separate computers at the same time for a total cost of $15 Aust. Still it is frustrating if you want to look something up quickly, or check in for a flight etc, and must make your way to the café, rather than just logging in in your room. The world has changed and these hotels need to keep up. More and more I find that my checklist when choosing a hotel includes free or cheap internet access.

My husband and I both had massages in the spa, which was very clean and well priced. Mine was very good, his so-so. Always depends on who you get. There is an indoor pool, sauna and steam room, but nothing for kids on a rainy day!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna bc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We struggled with the decision whether to stay at the Hilton or at the Bellevue - both sounded so good. We chose the Hilton because of the location and were thrilled with our choice. I can't speak about the Bellevue tho' - it may've been great too.

The staff, as many reviewers mentioned, were excellent. They were so helpful and had such a great attitude. The girls in the Executive Lounge - Paula in the afternoon and evening, and I'm sorry I don't know the name of the girl in the mornings - were a treat to have looking after us. The Executive Lounge was well worth the extra - we loved spending the late afternoon or early evening there. Checkin and Checkout went very smoothly. We'd asked for a driver to pick us up at the airport and he was there with a very nice car when we arrived.

Somehow we managed to score the best room in the hotel...... it was on the 4th floor (422 I think it was) - corner unit with an amazing wrap-around deck that had lounge chairs and a table with 2 chairs. The best thing tho' was the view of the fortress - especially at night when it was lit up - and the sea. Everything was spotlessly clean, the room was very spacious and definitely large. What a treat in Europe!!

The location just steps outside the city gate of this fairy-tale city was so convenient.

The food in the restaurant for dinner was very good. Breakfasts were the best we had all the time we were in Croatia. Anything you wanted "made to order" - pancakes, French toast, eggs of all types etc.

My one complaint would be that they still charge for internet service. I think that should be a thing of the past!

We loved the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik’s historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Top floor Executive Lounge with spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.