We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large hotel with a very personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Large hotel with a very personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We loved our stay at the Hilton, and it was only for a few nights on either end of our "island hopping". We arrived late in the evening and they upgraded us to a lovely suite with a view! They graciously kept our luggage for 10 days while we hopped around the islands with just our small packs. This is a very large hotel, in an excellent location, but more importantly the staff have the feel of a small boutique hotel. They take the time to personally chat in a way that feels sincere---no one is rushed and they are all very personable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    336
    84
    20
    5
See reviews for
235
818
77
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

There is nothing wrong with this hotel: it is well located - just a few minutes walk from the Old City, but equally, there is nothing much to commend it. In spite of Dubrovnik being a UNESCO World Heritage site renowned for its architectural quality, the Hilton Imperial has a decidedly dated premium economy feel. The ‘usual’ Hilton faux finishes and beige walls leave a stay here an underwhelming experience.

We stayed here twice: once at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. The first time we were ‘up-graded’ to an executive room as Hilton Honors programme members but were then denied access to the executive lounge. On our return visit, after being warmly welcomed back to the hotel, we were allocated a first floor room with no view and slightly smelling of damp. We were then telephoned by reception who just wanted to point out the benefits of the hotel that our room rate did NOT entitle us to!

Both the executive and standard rooms had plus points like tea making facilities and an ironing board & iron; downsides include old televisions and poor detailing like exposed air conditioning vents.

The staff, like the hotel, are inoffensive but the manner is formulaic without some of the polish that might be expected from a 5-star ‘Imperial’ hotel.

This might be Croatia, but expect to pay big European city prices here. With a £330 listed rate per night raising to £620 listed rate for a sea view suite, don’t expect things like internet access, for example (no wi-fi in guest rooms). Everything here is charged at the high end of the scale yet fails to really deliver on a corresponding 5-star service.

Perhaps given that Dubrovnik is such an architectural gem, stepping outside of the Hilton formula might have been a more rewarding experience, and we suspect a more cost-effective one too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I was travelling with 5 friends, booked two rooms and the two of us were gold. My friend got upgraded to the presidential suite and i got a lovely corner suite. Great hotel, unbelievably nice lounge hostess and just amazing service all around. I can see why it is the top rated hotel. Fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We spent 6 days at the Hilton Imperial after a Gulet trip from Split. We attended a small economics conference at the hotel The location of the hotel just outside the Pile Gate to the old city provided easy access to the the walled city. The rooms were spacious and clean with a great view of the walls of the city and the sea beyond. The breakfast buffet that came with the room was excellent and we enjoyed the pool - indoors, but with a glass dome. The conference facilities were excellent and the staff was always helpful and competent. Dubrovnik is a treasure and the Hilton provided us with a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Welcome snacks and clean, spacious rooms. Helpful staff and great location right outside the pile gate. The shower was inconsistent and didn't have good water pressure but handy clothesline for hanging bathing suits. I wish the pool had been outdoors instead of indoors. The restaurant was good but if you sit ouside be prepared for traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

The Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik is five star in every way possible.
The room was extremely spacious, very nicely furnished and had outstanding view of the City Wall and Tower.
The service received was truly outstanding as was the food and drink. The morning breakfast was the best that I've ever experienced anywhere and was a wonderful way to start the day.
The hotel staff was always extremely friendly and helpful. Indeed every person at the hotel went out of his or her way to make our stay memorable.
The hotel itself is a mere three or four minutes walking distance from the Pile Gate into the Old City and was so close that we could return to our room several times during the day.
There's even a Konzum grocery store conveniently located just about next door to the hotel.
I wouldn't even consider staying at any other hotel in Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Nicely remodeled with large rooms, modern fixtures, gym, pool and spa. Nice breakfast included with indoor or comfortable outdoor seating. Great views of the walled city and easy access. Internet access available for a fee. Service excellent and helpful concierge. Very attentive. Lovely seating areas all over the grounds and inside. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik’s historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Top floor Executive Lounge with spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.