We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #2 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Hilton Imperial is one of the most wonderful hotels we have stayed in. Our five nights in an Executive Room with amazing views was a delight. The hotel staff are so customer service focused, nothing is too much trouble, always welcoming and friendly.

We celebrated my husband's birthday and had put his birthday cards on the desk. The room maid must have noticed the cards because late afternoon there was a knock on the door and room service arrived with a beautiful birthday cake. What a lovely surprise.

Breakfast buffet is excellent, the Executive Club Room was a nice place to retreat to for a an early evening glass of wine and delightful little snacks.

As so many other people have reviewed this hotel is a perfect little jewel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on TripAdvisor in regard to your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy with accommodation, facilities and above all with the service. Our aim is to ensure high guests satisfaction and I'm heppy to learn that we managed to exceed your expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Ruhsar Eryoner
General Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    299
    68
    15
    5
See reviews for
187
692
68
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Majorca, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for seven nights and the experience was sublime. The location is perfect, two minutes to the Old Town and the view from the room was magical. This Hilton is epitome of opulence and fine taste. There is no reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I must say that I was overwhelmed at your coments but also proud that we have succeeded in providing excellent service.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik on this occassion. We shall cherrish the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Ruhsar Eryoner
General MAnager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Couldn't have been a better location - just a few minutes from Pile Gate, and right next to where you are dropped from the airport transfer bus (5 euros per person). We stayed for 4 nights and (presumably because they were quiet) we were upgraded for free to an executive room (124) which had a balcony and a fabulous view. So that was a nice touch.

Plenty of choice for breakfast, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Only slight annoyances were (i) the shower was quite difficult to get the temperature right and (ii) they charge 8 euros per day to use the wifi - most hotels these days offer this for free. But for the price of a coffee, there are plenty of nearby cafes with wifi.

One thing worth noting (and no fault of the hotel) - be warned that the return bus transfer to the airport goes from the cable car station - which is a bit of a hike with a suitcase full of Croatian wine! The tourist information failed to tell us this point - but luckily the girl on the hotel reception did point it out, otherwise it could have been quite embarrassing to miss the bus/plane by waiting in the wrong place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are always looking to improve our services in every possible way. Regarding the internet, I would like to inform you that we are about to switch to new provider, allowing our guests WIFI service throughout entire hotel building, complimentary in the public area, service which is expected to be availble from the start of the New Year. It is your feedback that motivates us to constantly improve ourselves, so we appreciate your honest thoughts.

Thank you for complimenting our location and staff hospitality, we truly try hard to maintain high standards and guest satisfaction. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Imperial in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Ruhsar Eryoner
General Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everything that was said about this hotel was true, we (husband and me) couldn't fault our room, even although we didn't have a room with an old town view, it was comforatble, clean and spacious. The staff were really helpful and always had time to exchange a few pleasataries on how or day was. The good and varied selection for breakfast each morning set us up for our days exploring Dubrovnik and beyond. The only down side was lack of or rather expense of internet access, we've stayed in many 5 star hotels but this is the first one that I can remember and certainly recently which hasn't offered free WIFI.
Location of the hotel couldn't be better, just minutes away from Pile Gate and the old town and also the bus station if you're up for a bit of exploring further afield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

I am delighted to receive your kind comments. It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy primarily with our location and service.

Whilst at present we offer only cable Internet connection in rooms, we have already begun the process of implementing new wireless internet network throughout the hotel which will be free of charge in our public areas by the end of this year.

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this yourself.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Imperial!

Sincerely yours,

Ruhsar Eryoner
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked our trip using airmiles, so I can't comment on the value for money element, however, this hotel lives up to its five star rating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

The hotel is perfectly located for exploring the Old Town and is easily reached from the airport (about 30mins away) using the airport shuttle coach, which drops you off almost directly opposite the hotel.

The hotel is very well maintained and decorated in inviting colours inside. It's up a small hill so the views are brilliant. There is a spa and pool but we did not use these. We did however dine in the restaurant and the food was very good, with an interesting menu. We also had drinks in the bar and the prices were reasonably good for a hotel. We sat on the balcony enjoying a cocktail and watching the sunset - perfect.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. We had a bulb blow on the bedside table lamp and when this was reported it was promptly fixed, which we appreciated.

The rooms are well appointed with those extra details I enjoy, such as a safe and a bathrobe, TV with some English channels and a full length mirror. We didn't find the beds too comfortable, they were a bit firm for our liking but comfortable enough. The bathroom was large and well lit and a good selection of toiletries was provided.

If you're willing to spend the money for a luxurious stay in Dubrovnik, I'd certainly recommend this hotel. It completely enhanced our enjoyment of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to receive your kind comments.

I am happy to read rgar you enjoyed your stay with us and I’m pleased that you were extremely satisfied with our location, food and service in particular. Acknowledgements such as yours are of great motivation to us.

Thank you for finding time to write this review and I sincerely hope we will see you soon again at the Hilton Imperial .

Sincerely yours,

Ruhsar Eryoner
General Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in two rooms as a family of five. Both rooms (exec) were very good in terms of size, layout, decor, etc - just that the view wasnt quite as expected because the whole reason for paying extra for the exec-rate was almost entirely for the view. We had rooms 126 and 226 - one directly above the other - again, as a family we would have preferred adjoining rooms.

Location is literally 50m from the main gate to the Old City (Pile Gate) - you just cannot get any closer. Views from the balcony on at the Exec Lounge (4th floor) are breathtaking. Spa and swimming pool are very good. Breakfast was very good too - wide choice and good service.

Overall, excellent service from very helpful and friendly staff; beautiful building with old-world charm yet modern facilities and of course the superb location is the clincher.

Room Tip: Rooms/suites on 4th Floor will offer spectacular views (sea, Old City and mountainous backdrop)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and I’m pleased that you were extremely satisfied with our location and service in particular.

You will of course therefore understand my sincere disappointment when I read that your enjoyment was somewhat hampered by lack of view and room allocation. I would like to clarify that being a historic building, we have a score of room categories out of which 2 that are within the Executive category offer sea & city view - those are Executive Plus rooms and Deluxe Suite Plus.

All guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it is only through constructive criticism that we are able to assess and improve the service standards we strive to achieve. So thank you very much for your sincere feedback - it is truly motivating and is greatly appreciated.

I trust that you will award us the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Imperial in the near future.

Sincerely yours

Ruhsar Eryoner
General Manager
Hiton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, 1st-4th Nov 12. This hotel is ideally situated nr the Pile gate entrance to the fortified old town ,also only a 20 min stroll to the main port area, the bus stop is maybe 100m away. The staff were all helpful and friendly, it has some stunning rooms with views, breakfast brilliant ( apart from the chicken sausage ! ). Dinner excellent, nice bar facility and comfy beds , what else do you need ? I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would not hesitate to use it again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuhsarE, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to receive your kind comments. It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy with our location and helpful and friendly staff. Thank you for complimenting meals in our Porat restaurant - our Chef was delighted to read how much you enjoyed his food. I am thrilled that overall, we met your expectations.

It is very kind of you to recomend our hotel to other tripAdvisor visitors. I shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future.

Sincerely yours

Ruhsar Eryoner
General Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton
Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik’s historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Top floor Executive Lounge with spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.