We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton rules” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Antwerp
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Hilton rules”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Let me start by saying that we are generally a fan of Hilton hotels, preferring smaller, more trendy boutique hotels. So it actually came as a surprise to us that we really enjoyed the Imperial Hilton.
Pro's: We made a prepaid and non-cancellable reservation through the Hilton website. Significant cost saving which allowed us to book the Executive King Hilton with view (and what a view !). We got front room on second floor, large terrace facing the old town. The room itself was nicely decorated. You get also access to the executive lounge with complimentary drinks.
The hotel has an almost perfect location, just 100 meters from the entrance to the old town, but sufficiently away from the tourist (and tourist bus) chaos.
Staff are amongst the most professsional and friendly that we ever encountered. All had a smile and a quick hello. Breakfast was a pleasure, taken on the outside terrace, with plenty of choice and dishes prepared a la minute.
Con's: smallish bathroom compared to the overall size of the room. Getting in and out of the bathtub takes some exercising.
Expensive parking
Internet and wifi not complimentary.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    352
    84
    21
    6
See reviews for
249
865
80
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I was surprised at the last few reviews , I thought the hotel was lovely , however we did have an exectutive room with a sea view . .although I will admit that fo r'' executive room'' , you might expect a bit more , but it seems pretty standard for Hilton tbh .

The Location of the hotel is perfect , just a short stroll away from the old town , the rooms at the front are subject to the noise from the road below , but we enjoy watching what goes on and it never disturbed our sleep .

The breakfast is very good , the executive lounge is small , and snacks sparse ! but of course there is plenty of drink for those who want it .

The general decor and ambience of the hotel is calm and relaxing , its not a huge hotel .

The staff are wonderful , fastest check in i have ever done tbh , and the concierge was amazingly helpful

I wouldnt have said the hotel was over priced , considering its location it was a lot cheaper then similer hotels in other cities

I would stay here again

Room Tip: upgrade to exec
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were thoroughly disappointed. The only bonus was location, on the doorstep of the old town. You will be charged for every last comfort in this hotel- parking was £25 per night. Our room was seperate from the main hotel and was a very average room- small, with a tiny bathroom. The room had a terrace which again was tiny and constantly in the shade. We did not use the business centre in the hotel as we did not wish to incur further charges- much cheaper to use internet in the town centre. On checking out the following day we were told that as we had missed checkout my TEN MINUTES we would have to pay a further full night (210 Euro) so we stayed an extra night even though we really didn't want to. On checking out we were also told that city tax and VAT were not included in the room rate which hiked the price up even further. Now, I don't mind paying for comfort and service and have stayed at various 5 star hotels thoughout Europe and I can honestly say the poor value for money at this Hilton left a bitter taste in my mouth.
On a plus note, the room was clean and the breakfast tasty!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc, Usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Pros: Great location in this tourist trap town.
Cons: Terrible value. Standard rooms look like an Atlanta Holiday Inn. Rip-off $12US for one hour of internet -- and $10+US to launder a polo shirt -- tell you everything you need to know about this overpriced place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel was in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the Pile gate and a few yards walk from the drop off for the airport shuttle bus which I would really recommend taking to get into Dubrovnik.
The hotel front desk staff were extremely helpful and the bar just off the lobby was very comfortable with attentive staff. Our room was on the fourth floor with a good sized balcony so we had an excellent view of the old town. The room itself was well equipped 2 easy chairs and a desk and chair with plenty of room to walk about, the bathroom was excellent with good toiletries and very large good quality towels.
The executive lounge did its job well, plenty of drinks beer and wine all day and spirits from 6pm until well into the evening. The sweets were usually good but savoury food was quite hit and miss. The two women that were always on duty were very helpful and pleasant, giving a really good feel to the lounge. Most quests wanted to have a drink on the balcony in the evening, the view was good but it was very long and narrow making it difficult to pass by.
Breakfast was served in the lounge or in the dining room - I would recommend having it in the dining room, outside on the terrace was the best. The waiting staff here were not always on the ball and often had to ask for tea/coffee or wait too long to have plates taken away.
For me the big negative was the internet, on the executive floor this should have been included in the room rate or at the very least freely available in the lounge. There was wireless only in the lobby bar and the top floor lounge, to access it there was a daily rate. Also you could only connect a laptop and one other device if you paid a business rate, so I could either connect my ipad or my phone not both (most people travel these days with 3 devices). I was told I could pay an additional daily rate!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday bed and breakfast. When it comes to choice my goodness if you could come up with something they dont have i would be absolutely amazed. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are to an excellent standard. As my husband is a smoker we chose a smoking room which can sometimes be lower standard but not on this occassion it smelled fresh and and was to a very high standard.
The only thing i could say is that the hotel requires a out door seating area or outdoor pool as otherwise your only other option is drinks on a terrace which has high costs. I must say though igor the bar man makes the finest Cocktails i have ever had, Frozen strawberry daiquiri is fabulous !!! i would definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed here with friends for a five day break. The hotel is a short walk from the old town which was great.
We decided not to bother paying the extra for rooms with views of the sea and old town fortunately as the hotel is on a busy road and the rooms would have been noisy. We opted for rooms at the back overlooking the garden and these were very quiet.
The staff are helpful and freindly. The hotel and rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Luckily we had booked bed and breakfast as the prices in the bar and restaurant are a rip off. On the first night we met in the bar for a drink before supper and were charged £10 for a glass of wine. We then ate out every day.
They also charge you for using the business centre when all we wanted to do was check in and print a boarding pass!
There are plenty of lovely restaurants in the old town but they do vary in price and quality so do your research.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room at the back of the hote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasJersabeck, General Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on this site and to share your experience.

I was pleased to read that you were overal satisfied with your accomodation and the service provided in the Hotel.

However, I was very concerned to read your comment about our beverage prices in our Bar, especially as there are also more reasonable wines available and the one chosen by yourself was a very selective and good quality wine which we also wanted to make available by the glass. I can only apologize if this was not explained to you properly and that as a result you have decided not to eat in the Hotel, as we have a very talented kitchen team producing excellent quality of food.

I sincerely hope that this situation will not deter your from returning to our Hotel in the future when you can be assured of our best intentions at all times.

With kind regards

Andreas Jersabeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik’s historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Top floor Executive Lounge with spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.