We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolocep Island

Kolocep Island
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 60 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cuffley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was the first island we visited as part of the three island tour we booked with Dubrovnik-boat.com and I thought it would be my favourite - loved it on first sight. We didn't have long there but it was enough time to have a drink at a cafe by the water and a swim from the sandy beach. The water was warm, clear and fairly shallow - quite simply it was bliss on a very hot day. There is a hotel that some might say dominates that particular bay - but I just wished I could stay there! Undoubtedly there is more to see if you have more time...and maybe you won't like it if you like peace and quiet. But it struck a chord with me.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beach hunting in Kolocep ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Based on earlier review we walked down to Gornje Celo and were disappointed, even if the walk there was quite nice. Placet beach is not in accessible, so do not follow the signs. Gornje Celo town itself was ok to look at, but beaches in and nearby were full of plastic waste.

We liked Donje Celo, the willage offered nice pit stop with wine during rain and the beach looked attractive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great welcome and clean stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

great place to get away - no cars - no wifi - lots of great walks and excellent birds; wonderful shrikes and eared owl

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Really nothing much to see. Unless you like sitting on a bench and watching the sea, or sifting through cheap souvenirs...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Island outside Dubrovnik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Took the local boat from Gruz to Kolocep, and it took about 35 minutes to reach the island. The harbour is really beautiful and the water is clean and fresh. Not so many people when we went there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolocep Island also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Kolocep Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolocep Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.