We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach hunting in Kolocep ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kolocep Island

Kolocep Island
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 61 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beach hunting in Kolocep ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Based on earlier review we walked down to Gornje Celo and were disappointed, even if the walk there was quite nice. Placet beach is not in accessible, so do not follow the signs. Gornje Celo town itself was ok to look at, but beaches in and nearby were full of plastic waste.

We liked Donje Celo, the willage offered nice pit stop with wine during rain and the beach looked attractive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great welcome and clean stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

great place to get away - no cars - no wifi - lots of great walks and excellent birds; wonderful shrikes and eared owl

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Really nothing much to see. Unless you like sitting on a bench and watching the sea, or sifting through cheap souvenirs...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Island outside Dubrovnik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Took the local boat from Gruz to Kolocep, and it took about 35 minutes to reach the island. The harbour is really beautiful and the water is clean and fresh. Not so many people when we went there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Forever in our hearts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our first island visited and we loved it! The island is very peaceful with a small beach area in the main village although please not the main hotel has a monopoly of maybe 60 percent of the beach area. Be sure to walk to the second village I think the sea and beach area is nicer and is even more quiet as the tourist boats do not come here had a great meal in the restaurant there fish was smoked in the BBQ infront of our eyes. We even stumbled across a private and secluded cove but I don't want to disclose its location as the fun is in exploring the island and finding yourself if you find it you will not be disappointed

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolocep Island also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Kolocep Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolocep Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.