We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patron Saint of Throats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Saint Blaise

Church of Saint Blaise
Placa Thoroughfare (Stradun), Dubrovnik, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$53*
and up
Dubrovnik Super Saver: Old Town Walking Tour plus...
Ranked #62 of 186 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Patron Saint of Throats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

While I was always aware of St Blaise and had my throat blessed each February on his Feast Day. I never recognised that he was also the patron saint of Dubrovnik - Saint Vlahu.

This is a beautiful Church which was built at the beginning of the 18th Century to replace the Church that was destroyed by an earthquake.

I enjoyed the time I spent sitting in the Church in silent prayer. Indeed I felt very much at peace with myself during that time..
.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    41
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really nice church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a really beautiful church. There are always lots of people loitering on the steps, that's fine though; it can be a great place to sit and have a snack. It's worth checking out in Dubrovnik since it only takes a minute.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We visited it during the sunday mass and enjoyed watching the domestics and listening to the singing even though we didnt understand a word.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gold!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

An eye-filling golden organ case in the Church and a very pleasing baroque altar

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice church but not the most memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a nice place to visit and we would recommend spending some time here. However, when we compared it to other churches we have visited in Europe, it's not that memorable.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Saint Blaise also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Church of Saint Blaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Saint Blaise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.