We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for walking and people watching!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$60*
and up
Dubrovnik Super Saver: Old Town Walking Tour plus...
Ranked #2 of 61 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Neighborhoods, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great for walking and people watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved walking around and exploring the streets, checking out the restaurants and cafes. There are more people when the cruise ships are in port and it can get frightfully crowded. I recommend a walking tour, it is a good way to learn about the history,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,902
    840
    135
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“lovely old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The back lanes of the old town are fascinating as they are still very much residential. You can wander for hours. There are very good restaurants in the back lanes.
The jazz being played around the town is fantastic and you can just linger and listen for free.
Overall a lovely town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The streets look like they are marble paved. The breeze from the side alley ways keeps you cool on the hottest of days. Be sure to visit the Rector's Palace

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting but very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There is a huge amount of history within the old town and there is a story to tell at every turn. The problem is that it's just so busy. There are cruise boats arriving everyday and the population of the town swells by thousands making it very congested and noisy. If you're on a guided tour as we were, it's hard to stand still in one place for more than 2 seconds without being caught up in a wave of people pushing forward. If you're doing a walk around the town on your own, get there early as it's much less congested. The other thing that disappointed me a little is the sheer volume of parasols that line the narrow streets. All the restaurants and bars have them and it obscures the view.
With all that said, it is still a pretty place with much to admire on one hand and the sense of sorrow and loss (from the war) on the other.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Shiney, safe streets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friend and I visited the old town by day and by night ( to see what it looked like, lit-up). We were not disappointed. We opted not to take one of the guided tours and thoroughly enjoyed exploring by ourselves, delving down the tiny alleys leading off the Stradum - the main thoroughfare, a pedestrianised area of shiney silver paving, which looks wet when it isn't! Various shops, cafes and tourist info, and - most importantly - ice cream sellers. The displays are artistry in themselves and the ice creams absolutely delicious and cheap at 12 kuna for a goodly portion. The architecture is wonderful - ancient buildings, statues, fountains - museums and churches abound. We encountered various street entertainers by day and when we went back in the evening. Some good music. We always felt safe. There are numerous little places to eat round the back alleys and prices are reasonable for good-quality food. The city is easy to get to by local bus from all directions, although even nicer when approached by sea. Warning - the scrum to get on the buses out of town is a nightmare. Sharpen your elbows before you go! A beautiful place, by day and night.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.