We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - no stairs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pile Gate

Pile Gate
Ulica Vrata od Pila, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$38*
and up
Dubrovnik Sea Kayak Tour
Ranked #16 of 145 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great - no stairs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the one we used as we went there 3 times during our stay. We had dinner just outside of the gate which was fantastic.
One of our taxi drivers to the airport told us his story of when he was 8 yrs. old when the war was going on. He said he and his family hid in a hotel for 7 days and survived on honey alone. He said the inside of the walls used to be wooden houses and that was what went up in flames during the war. Very interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cinciti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Game of Thrones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Gate of Pila is a lovely historical city gateway...once inside there is information identifying the battlescars worn by the city following the war.
The Gateway has been utilised in TV and film productions - the latest being the Game of Thrones

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank S00ty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

A stunning entrance to the old town which is steeped in history you can almost imagine being there centuries earlier!

Helpful?
Thank Spicey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a masterpiece”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Its the main entrance to oldcity which you can not miss.But it doesnt has a huge effect on people in my opinion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Astinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Any trip to Dubrovnik has to include Pile gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not as clean as the other parts we visited as the water seemed to be a dumping ground where the Kayak school were based which was a shame. However once past the gate there are chemists, more traditional croatian bakeries etc and just further a hotel (dont recall the name)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pile Gate also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Pile Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing