We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - no stairs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pile Gate

Pile Gate
at the beginning of the Placa Thoroughfare (Stradun), Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #19 of 61 attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great - no stairs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the one we used as we went there 3 times during our stay. We had dinner just outside of the gate which was fantastic.
One of our taxi drivers to the airport told us his story of when he was 8 yrs. old when the war was going on. He said he and his family hid in a hotel for 7 days and survived on honey alone. He said the inside of the walls used to be wooden houses and that was what went up in flames during the war. Very interesting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    157
    67
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Game of Thrones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Gate of Pila is a lovely historical city gateway...once inside there is information identifying the battlescars worn by the city following the war.
The Gateway has been utilised in TV and film productions - the latest being the Game of Thrones

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

A stunning entrance to the old town which is steeped in history you can almost imagine being there centuries earlier!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not a masterpiece”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Its the main entrance to oldcity which you can not miss.But it doesnt has a huge effect on people in my opinion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Any trip to Dubrovnik has to include Pile gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not as clean as the other parts we visited as the water seemed to be a dumping ground where the Kayak school were based which was a shame. However once past the gate there are chemists, more traditional croatian bakeries etc and just further a hotel (dont recall the name)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pile Gate also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Pile Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pile Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pile Gate to your Saves list