We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mljet

Mljet
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mljet like an insider
Special Offer
$500*
and up
7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split...
Ranked #6 of 119 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island of MLJET is situated in a remote area that is far South of Croatia and west of Dubrovnik.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you enjoy swimming and snorkeling in a stunning setting, head here. It will be only you and maybe 2 private yachts with the bay all to yourself....perfect!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    98
    32
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bit of a hike but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We did a day trip from Dubrovnik and it was a long day. Over an hour in the car to get to the ferry. Then an hour on the ferry to get to the island, then another hour in the car on the island to get to the lakes on the eastern coast, which are the best spots on the island. So it made for a very long day. That said, we sam, biked, and had a great meal on the island in the big lake. Beautiful, quiet, and worth doing especially for out doors lovers. But it is definitely a long day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went to Mljet from Dubrovnik harbour which cost around £25 for a return ferry. We were lucky and the weather was kind to us the day we went to this island (it was a bit touch and go for the week we were in Dubrovnik) and wow, we were not disappointed!
It is a long journey, almost 2 hours, but it's so worth it. We were there for around 6 hours, got a little taxi boat over to an island with a derelict monastery on it, amazing! It was breath taking being on this island. You can sunbath and swim in the lake that surrounds the tiny island. The wildlife on the islands consists of a donkey and tortoises! You can walk all around the monastery, taking in the history and views. There's another lake (accessible via the taxi boat) with a small beach and canoes etc for family fun.
This was such a great day and so worth the long journey on the ferry!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Absolutely beautiful island - the national park is well worth a visit. We went on a day trip by ferry which was enough to cycle around the park (hire bikes for around £5 for the day, and though there are plenty of uphill parts, it is well worth the effort!)

The scenery is superb and it is a great escape from Dubrovnik.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning national park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Morning or evening, before or after the day trippers and cruise boat visitors, the area around the lakes is beautiful, peaceful and empty. During the days walks up to the hills, various view point, towards the coast are unbeatable, and you will hardly see a sole, except perhaps another lost and friendly walker. The park is so much more than two lakes. Enjoy

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mljet also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mljet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.