We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a gerat time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mljet

Mljet
, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$237*
and up
Private Tour: Mljet Island Day Cruise from...
Ranked #9 of 115 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island of MLJET is situated in a remote area that is far South of Croatia and west of Dubrovnik.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“I had a gerat time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was a short stay but the island is very, very nice. Well there is place for addtional services to be developed but the island is great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    133
    47
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved the feel of this island which is like no other in Croatia.
Very green and lots of hills helped us to enjoy some great hikes and walks to enjoy nature and history. We will go back again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nature at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We took a ferry to Mljet and hired bikes at the landing point. A tough ride up hill and a pleasant freewheel back down again took us in to the nature reserve. You can follow the road around the island but it doesn't make a circuit so don't try and do a lap. I recommend you get off the road and carry the bike up one of the tracks where you can find secluded places to swim. I'm really not a cyclist but thoroughly enjoyed it, hopping off into the water when I got too hot. The island is stunning

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice nature, but otherwise a bit dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Besides the salt water lakes, there's nothing much to see here. The old monastery couldn't entice us either. You pay for everything (parking, visiting, ...) and you drive a lot, give the shape of the island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a trip with an excursion company, Sta Travel, in the oldtown. It cost us £50pp, with lunch included. As we were out of tourist season, or group only consisted of four people. We got the ferry over which took about 1.5 hrs, and then we had to get a taxi to the entrance of the national park. First stop was St Mary's island which can be reached by boat. It is a tiny island, with a monastery and a couple of restaurants. The Monastery is worth a look, although rumour has it that it is to be bought to turn into a hotel? There is also a very tiny chapel next to it. We had lunch here in one of the restaurants, which was excellent as it was shaded and gave us some relief from the heat. We then went back over to the national park where we had a swim in the lake, which is surprisingly warm! You also have the option to hire a bike or a canoe, but we were happy lounging around and enjoying the paradise. The only downside was that we did not have enough time there! It really is a stunning place and if we were to come back to Croatia Mijet would definitely be my choice. I wish we had know about it before so we could have booked one of the hotels near the ferry port.

TIP- Try and go to the toilet in one of the bars near the ferry port. My partner went to the toilet in the park and it was a wooden shack with a hole in the ground. He didn't want to sit on it as there was wasps and other creepy crawlies coming out from the hole and the whole thing stunk!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mljet also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mljet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.