We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not work for me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Micika

Save Saved
You added Villa Micika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Micika
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Mata Vodopica, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Did not work for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I really hate to dump on a small, family run hostel, but the Villa Micika needs some overhaul. Like a lot of inns and pensions in the Balkans, the "hotel" is a group of homes really, with full-time residents, maybe some pets, and a few spare rooms for guests. I got to check out a friend's room, and it was fairly nice, clean and kept up well, and unfortunately a bit of a hike from the main building.

My room, however, was in a dense, stern gray brick building. The front door opened to a dark down-staircase and a hallway and finally another door marked DORMITORY. It had all the amenities of a college dorm room -- five bunk beds, one shower, a ratty sofa that may or may not have bedbugs (I made a point of not sitting on it and finding out), and a layer of grime covering everything that no amount of scrubbing would ever remove -- plus the lack of natural light of a nuclear bunker. Staying at the hostel was just a depressing experience because, and I cannot emphasize this enough, our home away from home was a colorless, isolated, run-down, poorly-illuminated basement bunker.

The owners seemed friendly enough, though often inaccessible -- they have a cell phone number instead of a front desk, which I found kind of odd. And a bit frustrating when we needed more soap in our sad bathroom and there's no one to ask. The hostel isn't in Old Town, which is probably where you and a zillion other tourists want to be, but it's not in the worst location either -- a block away from a busy promenade with plenty of restaurants and (presumably better) inns, and a short walk from what passes for Dubrovnik's beach and the bus to Old Town. Which was good, because we needed someplace to be that wasn't our room.

Room Tip: Avoid the dormitory!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    3
    13
    6
See reviews for
3
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Very helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and located next to the bus stop for Old Town

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked 5 rooms for 3 nights at the Villa Micika, when we arrived after looking at the rooms 2 couples wouldn't stay there & the other 3 moved hotels after 1 night. Cramped, not to clean & useless plumbing. Stay there at your peril!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights to have a couple of days by the beach and be within reach of Dubrovnik.
The people running the place were helpful and friendly enough, but the accommodation itself was poor, especially for the price being charged.
Rooms are very old, mastresses thin, dirty and uncomfortable, pillows smelled and in general the place needs a major refurb.
Wifi connection was not good and no breakfast provided.
I wouldn,t recommend staying here.
The only positive really in that it is a 5 minute walk to Lapad beach...which, is not a great beach by the way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Its located in the new city of Dubrovnik, it is short walking distance to the beach and the shops. It is located across the bus stop to the old historical city, which takes about 10 minutes, and costs no more than 1.5 euro.

The price was very affordable and the rooms were well kept. The rooms were more like a guest house with staff nearby maintaining the grounds. I would go there again, very friendly people, and although not luxurious, the rooms were clean and spacious making it a great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

I Love Dubrovnik , it is the most beautiful place on Earth. I remember my trips to Dubrovnik when I was a child and I wanted to share that with my fiancee. It was his first trip to Dubrovnik and we loved it.
The room was basic but it served the purpose. Try going later in summer end of August to beat the rush of all kinds of people and you will be able to enjoy the place.
And there is a website
[--]

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

We booked the Villa Micika, early June for a 1 night stay in Dubrovnik. I booked it based on the reviews here, the fact that it was cheap (in comparison and clean)

Unfortunately this was not the case. Note, Villa Micika is basically a Youth Hostel, well at least it was when we stayed. The welcome was pretty poor, the cleaner basically stood outside our room tapping her
foot loudly to get us out, even though we had been given permission to change having just got off a flight. The rooms were not that clean
either, there was so much dust on the floor and behind the bed !!

The night we stayed the place was full of people running around drunk, especially Australians upstairs playing cricket until 5am. After island hopping we returned to Dubrovnik and stayed in a beautiful apartment in the old town for about 15 euros more per night
- well worth it.!!

My advice - if you don't need much sleep, aren't bothered by cleanliness and your catching a ferry early it might be wiorth it, otherwise spend a bit more and enjoy somewhere nicer !!.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — pass
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Micika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Micika

Address: 10 Mata Vodopica, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Micika 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Micika is one of your best choices for a cheap and comfortable holiday in Dubrovnik. We are open throughout the year. It is situated in a quiet area of Dubrovnik, known as Lapad, surrounded by palm trees and other Mediterranean vegetation. It is only 200 m from the main beach and 10 m from the tennis courts. There are seven 3-star rooms from 12-15m2. There are 5 double and 2 triple-bed rooms, which can accommodate 16 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Micika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micika Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Micika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.