We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Glimpse of Jewish History in Dubrovnik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Synagogue

Synagogue
Zudioska 5, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 60 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Nice Glimpse of Jewish History in Dubrovnik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

There is not a whole lot to see here, but it is definitely worth taking the few minutes to visit, along with its small accompanying museum, especially if you are Jewish or interested in Jewish history. The synagogue itself is very small but beautifully preserved and charming.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    21
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful old synagogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Revisited this beautiful old synagogue which unfortunately only holds services for Rosh Hashonah and Yom Kippur. We feel that it is very important to support this piece of Jewish life which existed in Dubrovnik before the Holocaust. If you're in the Stradun, stop off and have a look at the synagogue and museum to recognize what once was.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Small and Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a tiny synagogue on a tiny street (but aren't they all in the Old City) right off of the Stradum. The small museum is downstairs and charges a small fee (why not pay, you'll feel good for it!) and the synagogue itself is up a steep staircase. Pause in the little street in front of the building. Here It stands . . . surviving WW2 . . . now with 2000 Jews in Croatia where 50 years ago there were 24,000. Amazing. Trinkets at the Jewish gift shop next store.

In all, you'll spend about 30 minutes here. And you'll remember it once you are home.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Interesting place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Small but impressive collection of Judaica in the museum. The attendant was informative about the history of this museum and the one in Prague. The synagogue itself was interesting yet small. There was a 5EU charge to enter but I feel it was worthwhile to maintain this important piece of Dubrovnik and Jewish) history,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Synagogue in Dubrovic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the opportunity to visit on our Adriatic trip. we always try to visit the synagogues when we can. They are all very beautiful in their own ways. The was no one available during our recent to give us the history but they did allow pictures. I have attached a few for your enlightenment. Enjy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Synagogue also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Synagogue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.