We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lovrijenac

Fort Lovrijenac
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$65*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour...
Ranked #11 of 145 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A great fortress. The view of the fortress itself, and from the inside is amazing. Very good preserved . For the fans of the show " Game of thrones" - you should know that a lot scenes where filmed here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinelaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    184
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Like what everyone else says, the views are great. You need to bring your ticket from the city walls or they will charge you 30 kuna (~4 Euro). It's far less traveled than the old city walls so it can be a nice escape from the crowds. If you want sunset shots, get there before they close. Overall, a nice place to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great for the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Make sure too keep your City walls ticket or Dubrovnik card for this as it is free with either of those two things.

Definitely worth a visit for the views of the City Walls and the ocean, and to get a grasp on more of the history of the city itself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shooter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must see in Dubrovnik!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Listen up...you must go here. Super close to old city. No cost if you have a ticket from the city walls (which is most people). Priceless views of the old city. Not crowded at all (unlike the old city). Overall a great place to visit!

Helpful?
3 Thank Jorgorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful views over the old town. Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to visit Fort Lovrijenac after reading the other reviews on trip advisor and were not let down! There are quite a few steps to climb up before reaching the fort but plenty of spaces to stop to take extra photos of the old town and city. On reaching the fortress there is a local old gentleman who took out entrance fee of 30 Kuna each. In the fortress there are 3 different levels to climb and a central courtyard with well and beautiful stone arches. You can also sit on the old canon guns on reaching the top of the fort and have your photo taken with the old city in the background. This was our second visit to Dubrovnik and we can’t believe we missed out on this iconic Fort the 1st time we visited! The views were amazing and well worth the walk up the steps.
Like other reviewers the place was nearly empty when we visited (around 2pm on a Sunday) we only saw 5 or 6 other tourists there during our visit.
More details can be found on their website
http://essenceofdubrovnik.com/2011/03/07/fort-lovrijenac/

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fletch1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Lovrijenac also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Fort Lovrijenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing