We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant apartment, home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Curic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Curic to your Saves list
Villa Curic
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mostarska 2F, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment, home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Don't believe any of the negative reviews! We have just spent a week here and we so happy with it we would definitely stay here again. Why? To start with it's immaculately clean and very well-maintained. We were travelling as a couple but booked a 2 bedroom apartment (201) with a door from the second bedroom that opens out onto a huge balcony for extra space. There were sun loungers on which to lie and a great view to look out onto whilst eating breakfast outside. The apartment has everything you need such as fridge, coffee percolator, cutlery, crockery, knives, chopping boards, sandwich toaster, clothes drying rack, clothes pegs. There is a good shower and a bidet. The windows are double-glazed with excellent shutters as well so you can vary the amount of light let in. The only downside is that the air conditioning is centrally controlled which means you cannot operate it but having said that we found it came on when needed and we had no complaints at all. There is also a snack/ drink machine in the building handy for when you need some chocolate, water or a beer!

In terms of location, we think this hotel is best if you're not old/infirmed as it's a very quick (but very steep) 1 minute walk down to the bus stop that takes you into the old town ( journey time 15 minutes)and only costs 12 kuna (around £1.20) if you buy the ticket from hotel reception. Tickets can be used as many times as you like within a 1 hour period.

We enjoy walking and found we could also walk to beaches in Babin Kuk (Copacabana) or Lapad fairly easily as long as you don't mind the uphill bits! You can also catch buses to these places if you prefer. There's a supermarket around 5-10 minutes walk away. We loved the fact that it was quieter than the old town at night which means you can get a good night's sleep. And the staff are friendly and will clean your apartment as little or as often (daily if requested)as you like and arrange airport transfers (for a fee) if needed.

All in all, a great place to stay and we highly recommend it to couples or families with kids.

Room Tip: Apartment 201 for large balcony with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We got a transfer and picked up by the friendly staff who were waiting for us.
Very very clean all the time, this hotel/apartments is like new and kept like new. Wifi router in each room which I thought was great (free access). Self catered and the facilities to cook and eat were more than adequate. The location is a little out the way, but encouraged us to do more and get out to lapad (15 minute walk to the beach), the harbour (gruze) and Dubrovnik old town (15 minute on the bus #6 stop at bottom of street every ten mins till late)

Overall a faultless stay in a beautiful area. Will definately return

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our 3rd trip to Dubrovnik , we booked last minute through an agency for 6 nights in septemebr 2011. The apartment had beautiful views & was very clean though a fair distance away from old town & beach. The owner informed us that our agency had possibly made a double booking for the last night, though full payment was made in advance. Late into the 4th night of the stay, tired & exhausted after a long day out touring, the owner told us promtly to move into the next apartment which was an attic. The beds were hard as rock in both rooms. After a protest the next day, we moved to another hotel with the owner refusing to reimburse us, of course shifting the blame. We moved to the Hotel More who were more than accommodating, taking my booking over phone without payment once our situation was explained, even upgrading us to a oceanview suite free of charge with extras included, truelly fabulous hotel & best room 102! Needless to say, our next holiday to Dubrovnik ( which is just beautiful) will not be at Villa Curic nor do we recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I have just spent 10 days staying in one of the appartments. The staff made me really feel at home and the standards of housekeeping were very high. Rooms were kept spotless and the staff were very helpful with all sorts of information about Dubrovnik and also where to buy food etc.

The situation is excellent with views of the sea and close to the beach and also woodland where you can walk amid the scent of pine trees and a gentle breeze from the sea. The appartments are minutes from the frequent, fast and cheap bus service into the town. They are also conveniently near a small supermarket although not far from the fruit and veg market and bigger supermarkets and there is a range of restaurants within easy walking distance..

Definitely somewhere to stay in Dubrovnik

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I stayed with 2 friends at Villa Curic. The apartments are in a good location, at the top of a hill. Approx 15 min walk from Lapad beach, with a good view of the port. There is a very regular bus service to Dubrovnik Old Town, just outside on the main road. Bus tickets could be purchased from reception for 8 kunas, as opposed to paying 10 kunas on the bus. There was a nearby supermarket too.

Our apartment was was on the ground floor, with a terrace at the back, which was pretty secluded. The rooms were very clean and maid service every day, which was excellent. The bathroom was very functional with an excellent shower, although the hairdryer didn't work. The beds were comfortable and good quality bed linen. We were also surprised by how well equipped the kitchen cupboards were. There was even a sandwich toaster.! The kettle and coffee maker was also put to good use.

However, we found that the main downside to the kitchen area was the cooking facilities. On the website through which we made our booking, the kitchen facilities were praised highly, giving the impression that there was a proper oven. One of the reasons we booked an apartment was so that we could cook in our room most nights, in order to save money. The only thing to cook on was an electric hob with 2 rings, which took ages to heat properly and even longer to cook anything! We found this very frustrating!

The staff at Villa Curic were very friendly and willing to help out with any queries, especially with regards to local places to visit and help with checking flight status for the return journey. The guy on the reception even loaned us an umbrella one night when we went out for a walk.

I was also very impressed that they have a toilet and shower for guests to use after the check out time of 11am. This shower area was very well stocked with shower gel, deodorants,etc for guests to take advantage of. We used the proprietors taxi service to and from the airport, which is cheaper than a regular taxi.

If you are planning to stay here I would however stress that you should try to request an apartment/room which is away from the reception area. Ours was just down the hallway from reception and we found this location to be very noisy, particularly early in the morning when new guests arrived. Their voices carried easily and we were woken several times by inconsiderate people talking loudly outside the rooms. We also found that the staff could be equally inconsiderate as their voices and their reception TV seemed to be maximum volume. The telephone could also be heard.

The only other negative point was that each mid- morning whilst we sat on the terrace we would get water dropped on us by somebody (presumably the cleaner) cleaning the balconies above.

Overall this was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed in Vill Curic from 12th-19th June and would recommend it to anybody visiting Dubrovnik the appartments are spotless the bed linen is of very high quality.We received a welcome pack of wine, fruit ,fruit juice and water.The owners of Villa Curic are so helpful the appartments are cleaned daily nothing is too much for the staff they greet you each morning and Evening.Franj will even collect and return you to Dubrovnik airport all for Kuna200.00 each way what a service! Vill Curic is situated very near to the promenade which is great for restaurants and ther are some lovely little alcoves for sunbarthing and swimming along the cliff path.We would definetley stay there if we return to Dubrovnik

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We visited villa Curic third time this june and it just gets better every time.As a small buss owner myself i learn that everybody sometimes has a bad day,but seems like that is not a case with villa Curic.We had so much fun taking advantage of great locations which is close to everything.We got to meet some locals and in talking to them we found out that this actually is most attractive part of the town.You get very quiet atmosphere but very close to beach, bars,restaurants and only 15 minutes away from old city .Apartment with nice balcony and great views is what we got every time,clean,room service breakfast,this people really know how to make you feel right at home.
The best part of this villa to me is that felling that you have ooh i am important here,and all thanks to great staff. Me and my wife recommended this place to numerous people already,had our kids go there with there families and friends and they are there as we are writing this review which i hope would be helpful....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Curic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Curic

Address: Mostarska 2F, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Curic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Curic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Curic Hotel Dubrovnik
Curic Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Curic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.