We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tirena Hotel to your Saves list
Tirena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Staff were very helpful and friendly,

Location wasnt the best, around 20 minutes by bus to Dubrovnik.
Rooms were very dated, as was the hotel,
Bed was 2 singles pushed together to make a double, and could not get WiFi in the rooms,
The free breakfast buffet was good, lots of choices, but coffee was untouchable.
It was to cold to use the pool or beach while we were there, but the beach wasnt worth going to I thought.
Each night a band played music in the lobby untill around 10pm, and as our room was on the ground floor we were anoyed by the noice

Overall the hotel did its job, but would stay elsewhere next time

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    161
    73
    21
    8
See reviews for
69
175
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in this 3 star, (but a very good 3 star) Hotel for 10 days in July 2010. I must say we were presently surprised by this Hotel. We did B & B, and without question was the best breakfast I have had in any hotel we have done B & B in, in Europe in recent years. Good quality fresh food and plenty of it, you could eat enough to keep you going until Dinner. Plenty of healthy options and fresh fruit, great selection of everything. We ate dinner 4 out of 10 evenings we stayed and at €17 per head all you can eat buffet, its great value or money. Rooms very clean and comfortable. No tea making facilites but it did have a mini bar and we brought a travel kettle. Lovely pool area, and Copacabana Beech is short walk from hotel and is great. Staff very helpful and friendly and individual safes were free. Local bus service just outside hotel, very cheap to use if you bus multi trip ticket or a week long ticket. Aprox 6 km from the Old Town in Bakin Kuk, but very peaceful, so you had the best of both worlds. Very suitable for couples, familes, not sure if suitable for singles as a bit quiet and away from the night life. But there was plenty of young people there to. Would highly recommend this hotel. However check out a few web sites when booking this hotel was was much more expensive on their own website. We found that Travel Republic offered the cheapest rate for this hotel at the time of booking. Dubrovnik is similar in price to Dublin when eating out or using taxis, so use buses and shop around,as resturantants can set you back a pretty penny for Dinner, and they dont do any early bird. However very good lunch deals that are value for money. Dubrovnik well worth the visit and this hote made our trip much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Two couples in our mid fifties.
Service
We all found the hotel spotless. The service was excellent most of the time. Couldn't get specific liquer at the main bar, even though they had it downstairs in the pool bar. We didn't make a fuss, but we did ask them why they could not just go out and get it?? Fell down there.. they would have got all the stars with a little effort. Reception staff were polite. Dining room staff were absolutely fabulous, and they were run off their feet, but still smiled and exchanged pleasantries. Also went out to get items that were not available at the buffets.
Food
The food was as good as any I've seen in buffet style dining rooms at 4* hotels in Tenerife/Gran Canaria. The manager had a small soirree for our little group from Ireland, which was a nice touch. He thanked us for picking Croatia/Dubrovnik/his hotel, in that order. They're all very proud of their country there.
Bar
Lack lustre, brightened one night by a professional opera singer on guitar - I kid you not, and he was very good.
Pool
Good, but the poolside bar was not open, too early in the season I think. There were only a few people at the pool anyway, so no problems with sunbeds etc.
Location
10 minutes on the number 6 bus from the old city. About €1. (valid for one hour from first use). They run every 10-15 mins. The terminus bus stop is seven mins max from the hotel, or three if you walk up a very steep hill to the second stop. THis means you can get to Lapad or the old city very quickly and cheaply. There is a beach called Copacabana down the hill behind the hotel. 5 or 6 minutes going down. A few more coming back as its quite steep. The beach is small, and well used by locals at weekends. Snack bar there is reasonably priced, good service. There is a nice walk into the harbour beside the new bridge. Not much to see when you get there, but it is pleasant enough to while away a couple of hours. If I go back to Dubrovnik, I'll go to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed at his hotel for two nights in June while on a Cosmos tour. Even though the hotel is not within walking distance of the old town there is a bus a few minutes away from the hotel that takes you directly there in about 10 minutes. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was sensational with a huge variety of food to choose from! I would definitely consider this hotel as an option if you don’t want to stay in the old city of Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights, a week apart. It's outside appearance lacked character but inside it was spacious, clean and modern. Our rooms and bathrooms were fine and I slept well both nights. There is a bar area and the restaurant
has a buffet. There is plenty of food and a large choice, some is cooked while you watch. Breakfast was also good. The duty manager and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly.
There was no noise from the shopping mall behind the hotel, experienced by another reviewer, but this was in May and things might be different in the summer season.
It's quite a long walk to the old town but there is a bus service nearby.
I can't think of anything to criticise, except the volume of the lady singer in the bar on Saturday night!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed at Hotel Tirena with friends as part of Travel Dept tour from Dublin. Was apprehensive having read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor but was very pleasantly surprised. We had requested connecting rooms with balconies at time of booking and were delighted to find had both on checking in. Breakfast and dinner were buffet-style and had something to suit all tastes with breakfast available til 10am and dinner til 9.30pm. There was entertainment in the bar each evening but was typical hotel fare consisting of solo keyboard performer or duo on alternate nights. There is a small mall attached to the hotel with a couple of bars which we found a better alternative at night time. There is also a mini-mart and a couple of souvenir shops in the mall and access via several steps to a small beach. There is another beach at the nearby President hotel, only 5 minutes walk through an adjacent park. The President hotel also has a fitness and massage centre and you can book a session at any time. There is an excellent bus service to the old town every 10 minutes or so. The hotel has an outdoor pool, sun loungers and a poolside bar where you can also get hot snack food. The pool area has facilites for disabled including ramps and disabled bathroom. However, on a negative note I dont think the main hotel area caters adequately for disabled. On our last night the hotel laid on a champagne reception before dinner for our group which the Manager attended. He thanked us for choosing his city and his hotel for our holiday which was a nice touch. Well done Travel Dept for choosing this hotel for your Dubrovnik trip.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The room was nice and clean, the pool -ok, the breakfast was profuse and tasteful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirena Hotel's aromatic pine, olive and cypress tree gardens make it an ideal couple’s retreat while still close enough to the effervescent Old Town to ensure you don’t miss a beat. The stylishly decorated rooms exude a relaxed Mediterranean feel. Spend your time soaking up the sun and enjoying the sports activities on Dubrovnik’s longest beach, exploring the delights of the show cooking restaurant or simply unwind at one of the wellness facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.