We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tirena Hotel to your Saves list
Tirena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we stayed in the Tirena Hotel from the 8th -15th October we found the hotel to be spotless both the rooms and the restaurant and the reception area, the staff were extremely helpfull nothing was a problem they helped you every time, the girl in the shop who sold the bus tickets was very friendly and had good english, the food was varied and well cooked if you ate dinner there every night it could become a bit repetitive but it was perfect for breakfast.

It was great to have the use of the other sister hotels in the area, lovely beach area at the back of the President hotel, the bus is very convienient into the old town it runs very regularly and is quite cheap, Croatia overall was very expensive as a holiday destination that would be my only complaint,

The Tirena hotel is well worth a visit and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: ask for room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Tirena for your stay in Dubrovnik and for the time you took to write this review.
We are happy our friendly staff and good service made your stay in Dubrovnik enjoyable and you had a chance to experience our other hotels as well!

Mostly I am proud to hear that you would recommend hotel Tirena to other guests and I really hope you will stay with us again as well.

Best regards from the whole Tirena staff,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    154
    70
    19
    8
See reviews for
67
168
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

despite being part of a larger tourist complex, this hotel is well managed, quite seperated and welcoming. All areas are very clean and inviting, the rooms are good for tourist quality, and the choice for breakfast more than satisfactory. Being only a few hundred meters away from the coast-line is an added bonus with wonderful walks along the cliffs to the neighbouring bay and some very nice restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: rooms in the "wings" are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review!
I will take your remark about "well managed hotel" as a personal compliment and great incentive for continuing our good work.
We are most pleased you have overall enjoyed our hotel, clean rooms and good breakfast, and had a chance to explore beautiful hotel surroundings and walk along the coast line.

Thank you for staying with us and hope we will have a chance to have you again in hotel Tirena and Valamar chain!

Best regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Tirena Hotel direct through their website after looking at other hotel booking websites like expedia and hotels.com and booking through the hotel direct was by far the cheapest option. The hotel also arranged a free transfer to and from the airport which was a perfect touch and saved us around 500 Croatian Kunas {£55-60} if we had to use a taxi. Our flight to dubrovnik was delayed by 5 hrs and I was slightly worried that the hotel transfer wouldn't be there to greet us. What a joy it was to see the driver there waiting for us after a long and tiring journey. The hotel was a comfortable 20 kms from the airport and as we arrived in the early hours of the morning the transfer took us right past the Old Town. The views were stunning as the majority of the.road from the Airport is coastal and the Old Town stood out majestically. Check in was quick and easy and the breakfasts were good, with a great choice of buffet items.

As three Tirana hotel was part of a chain you could.use the facilities at her sister hotels which were all within a 1/4 mile. I would recommend using the infinity outdoor pool and heated indoor pool at the Larcoma hotel adjacent to the Tirena as the Tirena s pool was freezing.

The bus into the Old Town is located about 200 mts from the lobby - its the second stop on the journey and I would recommend catching the bus from the bus station which is easily reached from the hotel and clearly signposted from the shopping area. The number 6 is the one you want for the town and it stops directly outside the Pile Gate. But beware the bus gets extremely.busy and although the Croatian people are amazingly.friendly the concept of queuing is completely alien to them!!!! So after much pushing and standing for the first few days we decided enough was enough and got on at the bus station so we could guarantee a seat. Number 6 Buses run every ten mins until 0115 hrs and the journey to and from the Hotel to the Old Town was roughly ten mins. The cost of the buses were 15 Kuna (£1.70) Bought on the bus from the driver or 12 Kuna (£1.40) from the hotel shop. We bought a 7 day Dubrovnik Card which cost 220 Kuna each (£26) which seemed quite steep but that included 20 bus journeys and entrance to 8 historic attractions incl the wall walk. Each attraction would have cost around 70 kunas. So we saved a pretty penny. The Dubrovnik Card was sold in 1, 3 and 7 days only. They can be bought in the Tourist Info located outside the Pile Gate just as you get off the bus. All the staff there speak excellent English and are extremely helpful.

The town is amazing but does get extremely busy when the cruise liners are in, which is usually between 9am to 4pm. So if you want to experience the wall walk do it early, it opens at 8am and after the tourists have gone, closes at 6pm. It's quite tiring and steep and slippery in places so could be difficult for those with mobility issues.

BEAUTIFUL VIEWS across the bay. If you get a chance visit Cavtat it's about 16 km away from the Old Town and is stunning. It's best to reach it by boat and is 80 Kuna for a return ticket and leaves the harbour every 30 mins or so. There are tonnes or boat companies with excursions to offer and most are very approachable and don't try the hard sell. Cavtat is a lot cheaper than the Old Town and the best view of the harbour can be seen from the restaurant at the extreme right of where you disembark, I forget the name now but it begins with a P and it's right next to the celebrity hangout restaurant called Luna/Lena not that you would really tell from looking except when you look at the prices, somewhat shocking.

The Old town was amazing at night and came alive with live music being played around almost every corner. It made gor a magical and romantic experience. The small alleyways at first were confusing but helpful marron banners are hung at every junction that lists all the shops, restaurants etc town that particular lane. The ol Puca street that runs parallel to the Stradun is were the main take away food is located as is a number of small, and almost deceptive supermarkets.

The nicest restaurants we found were off the Ol Puca and were reasonably priced the Mea Casa a particular favourite of mine providing massive salads, pizzas and pasta dishes for a decent price. Do check carefully though the prices in the menus at some restaurants as some are terribly overpriced and are definite tourist traps.

The Domino restaurant was another superb find and highly recommended for meat and seafood dishes and extremely good value compared to others.

Would definitely return to Croatia and Dubrovnik an awesome place, a wonderful and extensive history, romantic and a joy to visit. xxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

we are glad we had a chance to host you in hotel Tirena.
It is nice to hear you found our web site easiest and cheapest way to book our hotel! We were sorry to hear that your trip started with such a massive delay, but are glad that your stay in Dubrovnik was enjoyable from the minute our transfer picked you up- enjoying the views, hotel and our breakfast.

It was a delight to read your review of the possibilities Dubrovnik has to offer and we really hope you will return, enjoy and explore our City again.

I sincerely hope to see you again in hotel Tirena soon, and please do not hesitate to ask for me directly to share even more helpful tips for your next stay

Kind regards,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISBURN, NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 8th to 15th October and can thoroughly recommend when visiting Dubrovnik.
A slightly older hotel but extremely clean with a variety of good food. The staff were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much bother for them.
The pool area was welcoming with plenty of space for the few sunseekers who used it.
It was easy to get into Dubrovnik using local buses.
Use the Tirena when visiting Dubrovnik - you wont regret it!

Room Tip: Avoid room 323 and 415 - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you personally for such a good recommendation about hotel Tirena!
Our staff will be proud to hear that their efforts in housekeeping, restaurant and their overall attentiveness and hospitality were noticed and commended!

If you will need any help planning your next trip to Dubrovnik please do not hesitate to contact me!

We hope to have you soon as our guest again and please take the warmest regards form our whole staff,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne east Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Some previous reviews have been critical but we were happy with our 4 night stay although the hotel has a slightly dated feel due to the furniture and rambling layout of the accomodation.

We imagine that some of the rooms would not be ideal if they are located above the bar and terrace area as live music was played on most evenings. The corridors are not carpeted so can be noisy at night.

However the general location of the hotel is good with pleasant walks along the coastal path and also the use of the other hotels nearby as they are owned by the same chain.

You can purchase a bus ticket from the hotel shop to visit Dubrovnik which is 15 minutes away. Beware -- the tickets are returns as long as you come back within 1 hour, which as holidaymakers is unlikely. Therefore a couple need to purchase 4 tickets to get back safely!!

The buffet food was very good with a wide choice and there was a chef preparing fresh food at both breakfast and in the evening.

Room Tip: Our room 113 was on the ground floor. It had a balcony but no view apart from some wooded gardens. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Valamar and hotel Tirena.

I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and enjoyed the wide choice on our buffet and food freshly prepared by our chefs.
Hope you have enjoyed the evening entertainment as well, as it is our goal to offer extra value to our guests with entertainment, quality of food, service and hospitality.

We hope you will visit Dubrovnik again and choose Tirena again to be the base for further explore of our City and its beautiful surroundings.

Kind regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just spent seven days at the Tirena hotel (6-13/10/12) and would thoroughly recommend it based on our experience.

I suspect that the Tirena hotel is a little older than the neighbouring hotels that are part of the Valamar group and thus it's a little cheaper, but we felt it was a very good hotel and great value.
We were in room 420 with a balcony. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The cleaners came in each day and did a good job. The grounds of the group of hotel were pleasant and there were some bars and restaurants near by.

The food on offer at breakfast time was very good with plenty to choose from. In the evening they did a buffet, but we didn't try it because we went to the local restaurants or into the Old Town.

It has a lovely swimming pool, but the water was cold as its October, whereas the sea was still over 20 degrees. The Copacabana beach is a five minute walk or so away but it is a gavel beach rather than sand.

The Number 6 bus runs every ten minutes throughout the day till gone midnight from just outside the hotel (1 or 2 minute walk) so its never a problem getting to the Old City. If you are there for a week and are planning to do the Old City Wall (you should), I would buy a 7 day Dubrovnik Card for 220 Kn, which includes admission to the Old City Wall, some museums and 20 bus journeys. If you pay on the bus, it's more expensive and they accept only the correct change.

I would recommend doing the Old City Wall (70 Kn), the Cable Car + Museum (117 Kn for both) and the ferry to Lopud island (38 Kn return) while you are there.

Take insect repellent – they are there and they bite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your positive experience with hotel Tirena! I am positive other guest will find your experience and tips most helpful.
I am especially proud to hear that Tirena exceeded your expectations and will make sure to forward your compliment to our house keeping department and restaurant.

It is always our pleasure to hear such a positive comments and to know that are efforts are reworded by a guest satisfaction!

We hope to have you again as our dear guest and until next time in Tirena,

Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in Late August at the beginning of our Holiday and came back early September at the end of our Holiday. The rooms themselves are lovely, all the amentities you need; fridge, nice bathroom, big beds and a balcony. Only thing with the balcony wa that there was no outside light, so it was quite dark to sit out at night, small thing, but worth mentioning. The staf were courteous at check in an in the Restaurant.

The Restaurant serves a buffet style offering which is second to none! Lovely choice of salads, hot foods, fruits, breads, cheese, fish dishes, meat dishes, desserts etc. Breakfast is the same, lovely and well worth it! All hot and cold offerings you would expect from a 5 star hotel for breakfast. The staff very oblidging and friendly. Nice terrace outside as well to enjouy your meal.

Shops with all the necessaries very nearby, water, beach needs, clothes etc. The Pool is nice too, very clean and plenty of beds. theres also a bar area. The only downside is that the path way to the pool from the Hotel is very uneven with pieces of concrete from the path missing or unevenly placed, so its not the easiestor safest place to negotiate/walk!

Bus stop, just outside the Hotel to the Centre of Dubrovnik which is handy (No.6), but beware, you need to made of stern stuff to get on the bus with the crowds and get a seat!

Overall a nice hotel that would suit everyone, will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at hotel Tirena. From your review I see that you have had a wonderful time while staying with us, and we are especially happy to receive such great comments and remarks regarding our food and restaurant service quality.
We are very happy that you have had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday while staying with us.
All the best from the whole Tirena staff,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirena Hotel's aromatic pine, olive and cypress tree gardens make it an ideal couple’s retreat while still close enough to the effervescent Old Town to ensure you don’t miss a beat. The stylishly decorated rooms exude a relaxed Mediterranean feel. Spend your time soaking up the sun and enjoying the sports activities on Dubrovnik’s longest beach, exploring the delights of the show cooking restaurant or simply unwind at one of the wellness facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.